21 Controversial Lessons I’ve Learned in 21 Years

12 43
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Learnings

A few more days to go and I will be 1 year older. I will turn 21 years old.

As I grew up, I realized that I shouldn't just let time pass by like that. I shouldn't let myself just be older. Because along with being older, I believe that we should also be wiser, and better in all aspects.

I guess this thing wherein I will list the lessons I've learned in my years of existence will be my traditional yearly thing since I want to remind myself that I do really have life learnings. And to also make sure to apply it to myself, not just keep on listing.

In my previous birth month, here's what I listed: 20 Things I Learned Before I Turned 20

Now, here's an addition... more organized this time as I categorized them.

Some of them, I think are controversial so if you're not open-minded enough or not ready for it, it's okay if you won't continue reading this.

Photo from Pinterest

21 Lessons I’ve Learned in 21 Years

Health

Photo from Pinterest

1. Sleep is so important

It has so many benefits for our bodies. Although I don't have a consistent sleeping schedule, as much as possible, I make sure to make bawi.

2. Sunscreen daily is important

I have been using sunscreen daily even when I'm just at home since I was in senior high school. Based on studies, it prevents skin cancer, premature aging, and so on.

3. Do not wear earphones all the time

As far as I know, using earphones all the time, especially with high volume, can lead to damaging our ears and can also later on develop into loss of hearing. I'm glad that I'm really not into wearing earphones or headphones. I prefer the built-in speaker of my phone and laptop most of the time.

4. Use anti-radiation eyeglasses when using gadgets

5. Uninstalling social media apps is the best decision that I have made for my mental health.

6. Promoting proper sex education should be normalized/mandatory

This can definitely help in preventing teenage pregnancy, unwanted pregnancy, and unsafe abortion. This can also help in having safe sex, being informed about a healthy reproductive system, and so on.

7. “If you don’t have time for your health, you will make time for your illness.”

Finance

Photo from Pinterest

8. Pay in full cash as much as possible, not installments

Learned this when I bought my laptop which I already mentioned a couple of times. Related articles:

9. Prioritize building emergency fund

The COVID-19 pandemic made me realize that emergency fund is important.

10. Have different money jars/funds

11. "You reap what you sow"

My mother is whom I know in person who is really fond of investments. I guess I get that trait of her because I am so interested in investments as well. The investments that she's started years ago, she, my father, us, her family, are reaping it. She's still continuing up until now. She always thinks of the future that's why she invests.

Life (in general)

Photo from Bored Panda

12. Quality over quantity

This applies to everything. For examples... You have many articles published, but are those quality contents? You have many friends, but are those trustworthy? You have many skincare products, but do those help your skin to become better? The list goes on. In short, invest in good quality pieces, in good quality people, etc.

13. Having a vision board helps us to get closer to our dreams

It seems to be effective for most people and I find this effective for myself too.

14. Working hard doesn't equate to being successful or to being rich

If that's the case, then farmers and laborers must be the wealthiest right now. Sadly, that's not how our system works.

15. Choose your hard because life will never be easy

Making wealth is hard, being broke is hard. Marriage is hard, divorce is hard. Obesity is hard, staying fit is hard. The list goes on.

16. We all have different timelines

17. Be your own standard first

Some people often have a list of qualities that they want for their partners or future partners. They want them to be faithful, honest, understanding, and so on. If you have that list of qualities, try to reflect on yourself as well. That standard that you set for your partner or your future one, be like that first. Because sometimes, we just keep on looking at other people that we forgot ourselves.

18. We'll keep on making the same mistakes if we don't learn from our history

This applies to everything. For instance, in our course, we have subjects about history. The good things we learned there, we can adapt or improve. Meanwhile, mistakes must be avoided. That's the importance of history. Another example, in a country, people elect corrupt politicians all over and over again. Expect that they will get richer. Meanwhile, the poor will get poorer. That's the consequence of not looking back and learning from their history.

19. Sometimes, heartbreak is not because of a person

I had my first heartbreak recently and it's not because of a person. I've heard from others that their heartbreaks were not caused by a person as well so I think it's normal. Sometimes, it can be a pet, a thing, a situation, etc.

20. Always choose dignity over money

It's sad to hear that some people can exchange their dignity to do dirty work in exchange for money. The best example of this is the trolls or troll farms that are getting paid to spread misinformation, and throw hate and negativity on social media. I have read a confession of a troll on reddit and heard a confession of another troll through a radio. They admitted that they felt guilty but too late because they have already spread misinformation to millions of people. Another example is vote-buying. Unfortunately, others still consider money as a basis on whom they will vote. Nag-bigay kasi si ano, malaki ang bigay ni ano, kaya sila ang iboboto ko. Sad.

21. Why choose between being well-mannered and educated? When you can choose both?

I've been seeing people arguing about this on social media. "It's better to be well-mannered than to be educated" vs "it's better to be educated than well-mannered". For me, being educated and being well-mannered should go hand-in-hand. Well-mannered nga, madali namang mauto sa fake news kasi hindi marunong tumingin ng kung ano ang facts. Educated nga pero ang bastos naman ng ugali. Ang pangit pakinggan ng pareho, diba?

So why should we just choose one when we should just choose both? Embody both of them. Be well-mannered and educated at the same time. That's just my perspective.

Closing Thought

We all have different perspectives and experiences in life. So expect that we all have different learnings as well. I understand if we don't agree on some things. But I already gave a heads-up in the beginning wherein I stated... "Some of them, I think are controversial so if you're not open-minded enough or not ready for it, it's okay if you won't continue reading this."

Those are my 21 learnings in my almost 21 years of existence. I will forever have an open mind to keep on learning stuff. I will never allow myself to be limited because I know that when I stop learning, that's when I also stop growing.

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


Previous Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: May 13, 2022

8
$ 3.46
$ 3.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Topics: Personal, Learnings

Comments

Oh my, you have tons of realization and lessons in life which is good. I just hope that you enjoy your life without regrets at the end. I always teach myself to enjoy every moments whether good or bad because I will only experience that particular time once.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I enjoy my life and have no regrets that much. Agree!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing I realized is that I discover upon graduation is that no one really has life figured out, people are just doing the best they can but still harbor doubt, even when they're doing well. After the glow of graduation, adulthood will be a rough transition, harder than you imagine it will be. It will take years and years and years to accomplish your dream, and be where you want to be in your career. You will wonder if it is worth it, you will wonder if you will ever get there, and just know everyone feels this way, especially in their 20s.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Agree. That's also one of my learnings. We will never figure things out because everything is a process. Very uncertain din ang life along the way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But life's not a race kaya laban lang hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with the selection of quality in priority over quantity because I can see with many of my friends but only certain friends who have a sincere attitude.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad that we're on the same page.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For 22 years of living sis, ang dami ko ding mga realization

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can try to write an article about it din sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like your number 20 and 21, it was so great lessons. Talagang napapanahon. I hope lahat nang mga kabataan same din Kung ano yung mindset mo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Salamat po! I can see many fellow kabataan naman na may same perspective as me po and I'm happy with that. Sana lang ang mas marami pa yung maging ganoon din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago