20 Things I Learned Before I Turned 20

30 76
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago
Topics: Learnings, Journey

I celebrated my 20 years of being alive on this beautiful planet Earth last month of May.

I am a person who likes to list things down and so before I turned 20, I decided to do some listings. I already published an article about my list on 20 Things I'm Grateful for in My 20 Years on Earth.

This time, here's the list that I wrote in my journal… the 20 things I learned before I turned 20.

#1 The person I will be with forever is myself. I am my own best friend, but I could also be my worst enemy.

I learned this from Angely Dub, one of my favorite girl bosses, in one of her podcast episodes called ‘Life in Progress’. The moment I heard of this, it was immediately engraved in my mind because it is indeed true. I, myself, am the only person that will always be there for myself. Not my parents, bestfriends, partner, or anything. They may be there for me, but not actually all the time. Because in the end, they also have their own lives, each of us has their own lives. That's why I learned that as much as we can, we should be independent and not rely on others for most of the time.

The person I will be with forever is myself. And I chose to be my own best friend by loving myself the way I love the important people around me.

#2 Adults are not always right. Being older doesn't equate to being more knowledgeable.

As I grew up, this is what I realized. When I was a kid, I often heard the typical judgements of older people like gays are plague to society, a girl will get raped if she wears revealing clothes, and so on. Well, maybe it's not their fault because most of the people in their generation were close-minded because of some norms.

#3 Don't over plan everything. Do the action instead.

Analysis paralysis is something that I sometimes struggle with. I love to plan things out on a detailed aspect and sometimes it is not okay anymore. Plan will be just a plan unless you take action.

#4 Don't keep on blaming others. Take accountability.

Sometimes when a problem arises, we get caught up to pointing fingers on others. But let’s not make it a cycle or a habit. If a problem arises, try to pause for a moment and reflect. Maybe you have your own fault also that you just can’t admit because of your ego or pride.

#5 It's better to be silent than to talk bullshit.

I have always or most of the time keep silent when there's a fight, when I am angry, or depending on the situation. It is not good to stay silent at all times, but if I know that I will just blurt out nonsense stuff, I would rather be silent. And that's better. Words are powerful, so let’s be careful or mindful on what we say.

#6 Nothing is wrong being single as a teen.

I made an article about this here: I Never Had a Boyfriend.

#7 Financial literacy is important.

Money is a taboo topic in most situations. Money is not everything. Money is only a tool. It is not evil nor good. It depends on the person who has it, whether to use the money in good deeds or an evil thing. I believe that being financially literate has so many advantages in bettering the future of oneself or the world maybe.

#8 Be with like-minded people

I have shared this favorite quote of mine several times already in my articles… “You become like the 5 people you spend the most time with. Choose carefully.” 😉

#9 I don't have to tell people everything about myself, my family, my goals, etc.

I am no celebrity. What people don't know, people can't ruin. Stay lowkey. Prioritize privacy.

#10 Work smart, not hard.

In this modern times, there are many alternatives already on how we can work more efficiently and not beat up ourselves on pulling all nighters. But I am aware that "work smart, not hard" may not be applicable to some situations. However, as much as possible and if we have the resources to this, why not, right?

#11 Consume social media responsibly.

Unfollow those that don't add value to myself. I am very picky when it comes to following accounts, especially on Instagram. I don't follow models or celebrities that much. Most of the people I follow are those that inspires me such as entrepreneurs/girl bosses, artists, architects or my fellow architecture students, traders, investors, and the likes.

#12 Never stop learning.

This information age, I can learn anything within just my fingertips through the internet. No excuses. Learn a new language, a new recipe, how to sew, how to drill, and other stuff. I will never stop learning until I get old. 👵

#13 Don't keep up with the trend. It will make you poor.

Well, if you are a multi-millionaire or someone who’s indeed very rich, go ahead. In my opinion, keeping up with the trend is very unnecessary and basically seems like just pleasing the society. It dries your pocket and is also very unsustainable for the environment.  

#14 Go on adventures if there's a chance to.

If a family or friends or an event at school is going to have an outing, camp, road trips, etc. Say yes if you are comfortable with the people you will be with. Take advantage of the time that you are going to spend in making new memories and gaining new experiences. Later on, you will look back and thank yourself that you said yes to adventures with awesome people. #NoRegrets

#15 Our body always changes.

We need to accept it and be adaptable.

#16 It is in giving that we receive.

#17 People change.

#18 Nothing is impossible.

No matter how big my goals are, they can be reached by doing an action. As I do little actions to make progress in achieving my goals, and once I track them and see that I reached them or I am near to reaching them, I can't really help but be proud and amazed with myself. I say to myself, "wow! kaya ko pala 'to" (wow! I did it), "grabe akala ko imposible pero nagawa ko" (I thought it's imposible but I made it).

#19 Not everyone will understand you and that's okay.

#20 Growth means being uncomfortable.

I learned this one from Alivia D'Andrea on YouTube.

Staying inside our own bubble aka our comfort zone will not allow us to grow, stepping outside of it does.

Imagine if a person just Netflix and chill for many hours everyday for a month. After 30 days, he's just the same person as he was a month ago, or he can also be less than that. There's nothing wrong with watching Netflix or staying in your bubble, but if you happen to make it repetitive, you are not allowing yourself to grow. You are not allowing yourself to take on challenges that will help you upgrade your life.

Those are the 20 things I learned before I turned 20!

How about you, what is something that you learned before the age of 20? Let me know through the comment section.

Thanks for riding along with my list! 🥰

Special thanks to @FarmGirl and @JonicaBradley for renewing their sponsorships to me. I appreciate it a lot!


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Ad: Join noise.cash community, a social platform like Twitter that allows you to earn bitcoin cash. Sign up here.

Date Published: August 31, 2021


18
$ 0.64
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago
Topics: Learnings, Journey

Comments

Learning things in our journey is a continous process which benefits us a lot.. I learned a lot from this also..and I thank you for those lessons you shared.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to hear that you learned something from this. My pleasure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This list are accurate : )

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never stop learning talaga. Kaya ako madame naden ako natututunan puro matatanda kase nakakasalamuha ko. Hehe. Pero napakaganda naman ang epekto sakin. 😊😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Ako maraming natutunan sa mas matanda pero dito sa internet haha. Kesa sa chismis diba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sissy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this so much! And i am glad that you learned them early on. There’s still a lot more to come but you can face them confidently for sure. It will not always be easy but you will manage

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Life is a progress so I will definitely learn more along the way. Thanks for the advice!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You learned amazing things which really values us after the teenage. This is what we call maturity ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Knowing all those things at your 20's means you are slowly maturing, that's good keep it up, when I was at your age I don't think like that well maybe our 90's kids are late bloomers than 20's kids, but not all as well it depends on how we are raised or in our environment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks ate. Maybe because we have internet nowadays and we can learn some wisdom already from other people on the internet. But yeah, it also depends in the environment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tama lang ung ienjoy mo muna life mo, mahirap rin archi, jusko

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True, enjoy muna and true din na mahirap arki. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They say maturity isn't based on your age, you are one mature young person. I am glad that you are aware of those things na. Good job :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree. It is not really based on age. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are only young but already learned many things. Those are signs that you are growing up as a person. When I was a teen, I wanted to preserve mt NBSB title. But hell yeah.. I lost it when my heart started to pace faster.. Lol..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I lost it when my heart started to pace faster.. Lol..

Sana all. When kaya sakin? Charot. I'm not in a hurry naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saving this as a reminder to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great! Thank you. Hope this helps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko iyong #12 Never stop learning. Ngayon medyo malapit na akong lumampas sa kalendaryo marami-rami na rin akong natutunan sa buhay. At hindi pa rin po ako titigil na matuto pa. :-)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Malapit ka po sa 30s ba? That's okay. Never stop learning talaga until we age gracefully :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po 29 yrs.old

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like this one - "It's better to be silent than to talk bullshit.". Unfortunately we have seen a lot of people talk rubbish and get to the top and even run countries! So everyone thinks that to shoot our mouth off is the best option! How untrue is that. Silence can be better than words in so many situations and actions speak louder than words too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yup. Some people are just too careless especially when they are being too emotional.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang agree ako dun sa number one. At the end of the day, we only have ourselves with. Kaya love yourself and always choose you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama. If we don't choose ourselves, who else will?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Impressive that someone as young as you are already has these realizations. There will be more, and what is most important is you learn from every experience, encounter, and engagement every day of your life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

what is most important is you learn from every experience, encounter, and engagement every day of your life

Super agree!

$ 0.00
2 years ago