Meet the artist behind Halfmoon Craft

2 123

I meet this artist artist at the last MORBS event when she was talking to lembas in auction room she is a blogger for NFTinsider but also an NFT artist and her work is really cool it so I had to get the down low on her project and her latest stuff coming out is quite exicting but Il let the lady tell you herself

Hey

Hey! Looks like we're finally both free at the same time XD

Well I am technically in work lol . Well welcome and how you today?

I'm doing well! Scrambling a little bit to get everything ready for my first 1-of-1 drops, but there's a ton of excitement in amongst the scrambling at least!

Oh wow so you changing the direction of your project?

So in the real world I'm actually a jeweller and the project was always intended to be a redeemable jewellery collection. These 1-of-1s will be the beginning of that, in celebration of getting whitelisted on AtomicHub! I'm so, so excited to start bringing these two worlds together - the first 1-of-1 auction winner will also win a gift card to my online shop, and anyone who collects three 1-of-1s will win a sterling silver halfmoon pendant. It's what I always wanted my NFTs to lead to.

Oh nice so what brought you into the crypto world?

I've had friends in crypto since around 2011, and always brushed it off as too techie for me. I didn't really get it, and even when I did get more curious it just seemed way too intimidating. It wasn't until 2020, when some hippie friends invested that realized maybe it was more accessible than I thought. From there I convinced my partner to invest a little with me, and eventually that led us both to NFTs.

Ah so your partner is involved to . What gave you the courage to create your own project ?

He's not involved in the Halfmoon Craft project but he is the one that convinced me to start making NFTs. And mostly it was his support and encouragement that got me into the space, as well as the amazing community I found once I started exploring NFTs myself.

Why did you choose Wax for your project?

To be honest I kind of stumbled upon it accidentally - AtomicHub was the first marketplace I looked at. But the more I learn about crypto, the more I recognise how lucky I am to have ended up here. All my jewellery is made from recycled sterling silver, so the environmental impact of my work is a really important aspect for me. Knowing that WAX offsets their carbon emissions, as well as the low energy usage of its DPoS protocol is the only thing that makes it possible for me to make NFTs with a clear conscience. On top of that, the WAX community has been so amazing and, from what I've heard, it's an especially welcoming and supportive space within the NFT and crypto worlds.

Will the project be based around jewellery you have created?

Yes! That's the direction it's taking. All my jewellery is inspired by paganism, magic, and nature, and you can see the same themes reflected in my NFTs. Each redeemable jewellery piece will be represented somehow in the artworks themselves. The character I've created for my NFTs - Jinx the witch - is acting as my 'model', showing off the jewellery pieces. So for this first series of 1-of-1s, the redeemable piece is a half-moon pendant, and the first NFT in the series revolves around the cycles of the moon, with Jinx wearing the same kind of pendant.

So if people buy 3 of your NFTs the can redeem for a IRL piece?

Exactly! If they win three of the 1-of-1 auctions, they'll get an IRL silver pendant. I'll be releasing five 1-of-1s between May 18th and May 27th, but this is just the first series. There'll be more to come, so also plenty more opportunities to collect three.

What will be the starting prices of the auctions?

The first piece - the one that includes the 30€ gift card to my online store - will start at $35. The other 1-of-1s will start at $20.

How many 1 of 1s will be made?

The first series will be 5 pieces, centred around occult symbols, and the next one I have planned will be 12, featuring the signs of the zodiac. The project is very much evolving as I go and I'm really excited to see what else will come as I keep learning and exploring the possibilities of this space. There'll eventually be different redeemable pendants as well.

Will you be going back to muilt drops to?

Yes, I really love doing stickers and special edition NFTs so I'll definitely keep doing lower-priced higher-supply drops in between!

When did you launch your first NFT?

The very first NFT I ever made was a free sticker for the first 50 members of my Discord server. That was back in early March. Honestly, I can't believe that was only two months ago! So much has happened since then!

How did community react?

To be honest, it took a little while to give them all away at first. I think I only had a handful of people in my server when I started handing them out - mostly just to friends I'd made in the space. Then one day a random flipper must have alerted the horde to free NFTs and my server was completely flooded with people begging for the giveaway, which was totally overwhelming! After that, though, people I knew started buying them on secondary which completely blew my mind. It was an intense introduction to the space, but it also showed me the two different types of collectors - those who are just here to make a quick buck, and those who actually want to invest in and support the projects and the people they like.

How many NFTs have you created since?

Since then I released the Introducing Jinx sticker, the Grimoire sticker, and a special edition Blessed Beltane Sticker in celebration of the pagan festival. I'm also planning something special for holders of the Grimoire stickers, but that's still brewing.

What's the process behind creating your NFTs?

I'm really exploring paganism in my personal journey, so a lot of my inspiration comes as part of that learning process. Because symbolism plays a huge role in magic, there's plenty of visual inspiration for me to draw from, and the same process carries over to my jewellery. What I really want is for my pieces, whether they be virtual or tangible, to bring people to a deeper understanding of themselves and the universe they inhabit (and that inhabits them). So taking all of that into consideration, I craft my NFTs based on the feeling that a particular symbol or concept gives me, and then allow my character, Jinx, to embody that.

What programs you use for creating?

At the moment I'm using Krita which is pretty much just the first result that came up when I googled 'free digital art software' So far it does the job, but soon I'd like to try to switch over to Photoshop.

How long does each NFT take to create?

I'm pretty new to digital art - until now I've been a pen and paper (and metal and solder) kinda girl - so I'm still really slow. I'm getting faster all the time though, and I'd say the last 1-of-1 I made probably took about 10 hours, since I was working with an existing template.

Has there been any collabs?

Not yet, but I'm currently scheming with Floyd Jenkins' Deck of Mythical Varmints to make something special. Nothing's set in stone yet, but the idea will be a redeemable jewellery NFT that also has in-game utility in his DnD-inspired game. There are a bunch of other artists I'd love to collaborate with too when the timing is right!

Oh nice Floyd is a gent . Is there a dream collab out there?

The very first NFT I ever bought was a Waxy , which I gushed about pretty heavily in my first article for NFT Insider. So I'd absolutely love to collab with MikeeMyk one day! That would really bring my NFT journey full circle.

Oh nice MikeeMyk . What's the long term idea for the project?

To be honest, all I want to do with my time is create things - that's when I'm happiest. I love making jewellery and I love making art, and I love connecting with the community through my creations. My hope is for Halfmoon Craft to become known as an established jewellery brand spanning the gap between the real and virtual worlds, also including metaverse-wearable jewellery at some point. There's room for us to expand our concept of what NFTs can be. As far as I know, my project is the first jewellery brand on WAX, and I'm really excited to see how other artists and makers can move into this space too. There's so much potential for redeemable NFTs that I think we're only just starting to tap into.

What's been the hardest part of your project?

Keeping authenticity in my work. The NFT space moves so fast, and there's so much hype, it's easy to get caught up in it all and lose sight of myself and my purpose here. That's part of why I'm so excited to integrate my jewellery into the project - keeping a bridge to the 'real world' is really important to me, and it allows me to feel like my NFT work extends further than just my computer screen. When I know that someone is wearing a piece of jewellery that I made, I feel connected to that person, and in a community as kind and supportive as the WAX space, I'm really excited to have the opportunity to connect with collectors in a more tangible and meaningful way. It really feels like I can put my heart into my work.

What's been the best part of your project?

It still blows my mind every time someone buys one of my NFTs, so it's hard to pin down just one thing! So much of the time it just comes down to the amazing community. In some strange way one of my favourite moments was when I did my first drop. I was so excited for it and there were a bunch of people hyped for it in my Discord server, and when the time came it turned out I'd done it completely wrong and none of the NFTs were available for anyone to buy. I was so scared I was gonna get ripped to shreds, but everyone was actually so lovely, and patient, and encouraging. They waited the 2 hours it took me to sort it out and still bought the NFTs.

What you like to do to unwind?

I've always been a big reader, so curling up with a good book is one of my favourite ways to relax.

Tell us something random about you?

I once climbed the tallest structure in the southern hemisphere - an old navigational antenna comprised of 43 levels, each one accessible only by an uncaged ladder. It took four hours and was one of the best things I've ever done.

Oh wow any pics of you at the top?

Not any good ones unfortunately! But this was from halfway up.

Photo by Adrian Spoljarevic

Class . Where the best place to keep with the project?

You can come hang out on my Discord server! https://discord.gg/vyyAQkFBXy I'm also on Twitter https://twitter.com/HalfmoonCraft and for the jewellery I'm on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/halfmooncraft/ Here's my website as well, just for good measure: https://halfmooncraft.com/

Have you introduced to anyway wax?

I've told plenty of people, but so far no one has joined the crew I do have one friend who's currently collecting on OpenSea though, and I'm slowly reeling them in...

Where can we buy your NFTs?

Everything's on AtomicHub: https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/collection/halfmooncrft

When is the next drop?

Well the first 1-of-1 went up for auction yesterday at 17:00 UTC and ends on May 19th at 17:00 UTC! But the next piece goes up Friday 20 May at 17:00 UTC

Any sneak peaks?

Sure! Here she is!

Oh love the moon calendar back ground. Any chance of a competition for the readers?

For sure! I've got a bunch of Introducing Jinx stickers to give away for whoever shares this interview on Twitter and tags me.

Brilliant so before we finish is there anything you would like to say or add?

Just that I'm so grateful to everyone who's supported me on this journey, including you Crackers! I couldn't do any of this without the people who have helped me (and continue to help me) along the way. Let's keep building a community in which we lift each other up.

It has been pleasure.

Likewise, thanks so much!

Anytime.

So guys get reposting and tagging Jazz on Twitter and earn yourself a free NFT .

16
$ 13.66
$ 13.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

I am making $92 an hour working from home. i was greatly surprised at the same time as my neighbour advised me she changed into averaging $ninety five however I see the way it works now. I experience mass freedom now that I'm my non-public boss.

That is what I do..... https://www.workbz.com

$ 0.00
1 year ago