Meet the artist behind Colorfullife

8 163
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: NFT, Artist, WAX

A small introduction from the artist

So my name is Sonny. On just about every platform I go by iHustleForIt so whatever you want to use or both. and of course Colorfullife is the project. The name colorfullife was spur of the moment too..... I couldn't think of anything cool when I wanted to show my friend how easy it was to get started, if you didn't have a game with your project. So, Colorful Life was just something that came to me at that second because I was using various colors for the skulls and that's how the entire project was going to be. The colors were originally going to be the rarities for the entire project. The skulls came first then skeletons and whatever was next would have been the same and so on.....but I decided to not do that. So now the name is kind of irrelevant to the project, other than the overall meaning of living a colorful life, which still makes the name actually still work for the project. lol

Hey Man

Hi Bro

How's things ?

Doing well man, you?

I am good . Do anything exciting today ?

Just woke up. I think that is the most exciting thing I do every single day. Its good to be alive. But other than that no. Ha

What's the plans for today ?

Well, today I plan on working on a drop for tomorrow.

Oh nice

Possibly a few at least two for sure.

Oh wow busy so .

Luckily I am a small collection so its not too bad. I don't have packs or anything yet. I just do a piece and drop it. Do you also make NFTs?

That's not a bad thing gives you room to grow and I can't draw a straight line lol.

Ha I think some artist would say the same about me when they see my stuff. But that is the great thing about art, its subjective. So, although you may not like your work someone else could. That is the beauty of NFT's. People being able to collect cool art for cheap.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder . How did you start your NFT journey ?

I first got interested in 2019 when TopShot came out. As usual I make the mistake to not buy, then I see people get rich, then of course I want in. That is typical of my investing life. But my very first NFT was a pack of MLB. They are the ones that actually brought me into WAX and owning my first NFT. As far as creating goes; I have been drawing and painting most of my life but never on a computer. What did it for me was when I saw a digital rock sell for 40k.

Ha ha ha so you decide that you wanted to make a project on wax?

That wasn't the only reason. I kept seeing projects scam people and I thought for one it would be a challenge for me to learn how to do the stuff. 2. I knew I could interact with people and make fun art and hopefully more down the road. One thing was certain though, I wouldn't screw my collectors over. That is one reason my NFTs are so cheap as well. I do not want to inflate my prices artificially. I would much rather let the people who like my stuff set the prices. 3. I also wanted to start something for people who don't have a lot of money. Rarely, if ever, will I have a drop any time soon, that will be over 10 wax.

What is the idea behind your project ?

If you have seen my project that is a tough one to answer. I guess the best way I can say it is that I didn't want to limit myself to one idea, or thought, I came up with. Just as I approach physical drawing or painting. I wanted to create a project where there could be a subject for everyone, even if it is needing a NFT to burn some backed tokens. I still have a lot of categories too create. I also debated making it a more specific project, like most, but I knew Atomic Hub would allow me to create another project if I chose. One day there may be a more focused project that is specific too one topic. Sorry these are long winded answers.

So for the time being your NFTs will be different each drop ?

I usually just think up something in my head then make a schema for it. For example one of them is "UFOs and Aliens" and another is called "Burnit". They are just one category of many. I have some avid collectors of the UFOs, however, the "burnit" schema were all free for people to use for backed tokens. So tomorrow I may want to start a schema about vintage toys, then I will just do it. There is no rhyme or reason to the categories I chose. I just pick subjects that may interest broad groups of people and that is why I said I have many categories too go. I truly want something for everyone. Everyone may not buy them or even collect pieces that have no game utility, but no matter what they may need to burn a NFT one day and I have plenty out there So, that takes care of those who don't like art, now I can focus on the ones who do.

Ah so it just depends on your mood ?

Exactly, but I also want to make things in categories people like. I also want to make them fun and different. Some take quite awhile and some not as long. I just try and have fun with it and reward my collectors so they have fun as well. And if one category sits and sits, I know not to make another NFT for that subject unless it is a hell of a lot better next time. Learn as I go.

Of course you like to change it up so how many NFTs have you brought out so far ?

Right now I have 14 schemas and maybe 2200 NFTs created in total.....but I may be wrong on that number. I do know the burn set I did had nearly 2000 free NFTs ranging in rarity. I believe all the other schemas are numbered pretty low around 5 to 10 mints and maybe one or two schemas with 25-100 mints. So I try to keep them pretty rare and being that they are cheap, a lot do get burned making them even rarer.

What was the first one you brought out ?

I forgot to mention one thing about my categories. I do them a little differently. On some of them I will do the typical legendary, rare, uncommon, common deal where I just change the details a little bit on each one. On other schemas like "Ufos" I will just do a drop of 10 mints per each piece. No rarity levels just low mints. So each category is done different. I also have some 1 of 1 pieces out there that people have that people have won or been rewarded somehow.

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/asset/1099565117656

After I made this one I also made a silver, gold, and the 1 of 1 multi color. Then I did a series 2 on Nefty Drops. This is the only one for sale. I made sure after I sold the first one, for 5 cents I think, I reached out for whitelist approval and then did all those requirements before adding anything else. I wanted to let everyone know I was legit and could be trusted.

How did the community react ?

As far as the community goes it went exactly how I expected it to go. Nowhere at first. They sat. And they should have.

And now ?

Its still a grind of course. I mean, I am a nobody in the NFT world, so to speak. I have no game. I have no staking. So people have to like it or they wont buy it. I have made some friends on discord, as we all have, so that helps. People see me on twitter and that helps a little too. I believe my art has gotten better, imo, and I also have loyal customers now that buy every single drop of certain schemas. This another collection I have dropped .

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/template/colorfullife/285880

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/template/colorfullife/285609

Reminds of an old school game . What has been your favorite to create ?

That is easy for me. The American flags I did and the 9/11 tribute. They were also done early on so they aren't the best but they mean the most. I was in the military and and after that I became a security contractor for our gov't. So the flag and what it represents is something very dear to me. I was able to express that dedication, pride, love and so much more, with that "usaflagday" schema and the 9/11 tribute as well.

What is the process behind creating your NFTs ?

I have no idea how anyone can do it on their phone. I have two rendering programs I use and I use a 3d paint program as well. I just downloaded Blender yesterday and Skillshare so I'm pretty excited about that. That isn't a plug and I don't get paid. Ha. Anyway, someone else's work inspired me to get Blender and learn new things. For some of the animation I use two apps on my phone. As I go things will be getting better because more tools are coming. I really want a digital drawing pad so I can do things I am more comfortable with but I also want to challenge myself learning new things as well. One thing is for certain, things will always get better and good things are to come. I just want to keep growing and learning whatever I can so that i can bring more value to my collectors. Honestly, if it comes up in my head and one of these programs cant do it, I wont just stop and think of something else. I will go find the program I need so I can make that idea become reality. I also do not want to feel limited to just one tool. Usually every piece takes a couple of these tools.

How long would you say each NFT takes to create ?

Even if it was a simple line it would still take me around 15 minutes I would say. lol. I know the longest one took me about 20 hours roughly. That was recreation of "Close Encounters Of The Third Kind" that I did here... https://wax.atomichub.io/market/sale/46431670

I would say if it doesn't have a lot of detail I could do a few a day, but even then we are talking a full 8 hours or more. Also, some look super easy but the hardest part, always is, coming up with an idea in your head.

Have done any collabs yet ?

I have not. Its a little tough to even reach out to someone when you are this small. It is hard to compete with larger projects and those that have some sort of utility, but I am working on that. I wanted to knock out a few more drops and prove myself and when the time is right maybe someone will ask, just as you did. I also wanted to do some drops in various styles too show what else I can do, since I am not really limited to doing them just one way. By the way I am so honored to be here. Truly. It feels really good being noticed so thank you for that. Also, thank you for giving an outlet to small collections like myself.

Is there anyone you would like to do one with ?

Honestly, I would be thrilled to do a collab with anyone. I'm down for whatever. They definitely need to know that I am not limited to just one style. When they look at my project they may think my style isn't for them but I can do other things according to what they want. Also, I probably need the exposure more than they do, in most cases.

Who is your favorite artist ?

I don't know about a favorite cause there is just so many, that are so good, but one here that I like is named Magnta. And she is just so sweet any time you talk to her so that makes you like it even more. But the way she draws her characters is phenomenal imo. Our styles are very different pertaining to NFTs because none of mine are drawn. Even if I had a drawing pad I can't draw like she does and I definitely cannot draw characters with ease, as she does. I know there is rendering and other types of imaging but I went with her drawing because I draw too. But there is a lot of other artist out there creating spectacular images that aren't drawn, like mine, so I want to give them a shout out too.

What has been the most exciting part of your project ?

I would say two different times tie for the most excited I was. One was the very first sale. I have never created anything and sold it, let alone something I knew nothing about. But when you sit down and learn how to do it and put a little effort in and someone comes along and buys it, that means a lot. The other time was when one of mine sold for $80. Yes dollars, not Wax. I originally sold it two weeks prior for 1.99 wax I think? So, for someone to appreciate my vision that much, to spend 80 bucks, is exciting to me.

Lol . What's has been the hardest part ?

Learning how to create on a computer for sure. After the process is learned its also hard to come up with an idea. After learning the programs it becomes easier each time you do it. Now the biggest challenge truly is coming up with original ideas that people will enjoy. Drawing and painting in the physical world, all by yourself, with no one ever seeing it, is easy lol.

What you like to do to unwind ?

I play a lot of daily fantasy sports here in America. I did pretty well after teaching myself during the pandemic and haven't stopped playing since my first win. I love the NBA, NFL, and MLB the most. It makes it much more fun to watch when you have some fantasy lineups and can win a ton of money. I also like to golf, fish, shoot guns and I am also a big collector in the real world. So it is nice to get out and hunting for antiques and collectibles.

Tell us something random about you ?

I am 44 years old and I am a great, great uncle as of yesterday. That's pretty random and blows my mind. I am also ranked #134 in the world in daily fantasy sports in the Bantamweight ranking. I was in the Army and also a security contractor for a govt agency. I am a huge physical collector as well. I had an antique store/vintage for awhile too. When I was in high school I had a baseball card shop. Now I collect vintage toys and early video games and systems, and a lot more but that is all I will go into. I collect autographs and vintage toys from the 80s .

What does your family think of your project ?

No one knows but my sister. I used to get her approval but she also let the bad ones through, so I stopped asking her Being that I was away most of my adult life it made in near impossible to get married let alone have kids, so she is the only one who knows. She doesn't really understand them though. Like why would I spend hours making one for 5 cents lol. Fair question lol. For me its fun, that simple. I also like making things others like. They are literally the only two reasons I do it. Maybe to have a few extra wax here and there but if you look at my prices you can see I don't do it for the money. She also doesn't understand the other end of it either. Why someone would buy them. That is about it.

Where can we keep up with your project ?

Right now only twitter. I post all my drops there. I also do all my drops on Nefty. But you can follow me on twitter

https://twitter.com/i_Hustle_For_It?s=20

Of course as I make more pieces, get bigger, and also bring more value to the project, then I will think about other things like discord and elsewhere. You can always reach on discord if you don't have twitter. iHustleForIt#9181

Where can we buy your NFTs ?

https://neftyblocks.com/c/colorfullife

https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=colorfullife&order=desc&sort=created&symbol=WAX

What is the long term plan for the project ?

In the near future we will have some blends coming up but long term it is so up in the air. I do know within a month you will be able to buy my NFTs in the really cool, IMMERSYS, game. Also, as NFTs gain traction and more utility comes about I think the possibilities are endless. There isn't a day that goes by that I am not researching what I can do to bring value long term to this project. Sure, it is just art but I want it to be more. I want people to feel like they actually have something with value behind it other than something to look at. I want it to be useful. I want it to be something like you see with gold that you can sell anywhere to anyone at anytime. The art itself may not be able to do that but if I can somehow incorporate value into it, I will. Collabs as well. As I grow I will reach out to others. Same goes for staking. I've been trying for awhile.

Would you like to do a competition or drop for the readers ?

Of course I have made this drop for the readers

https://neftyblocks.com/c/colorfullife/drops/92919?key=5KTtwVMksRffnnJfxkarpyY3CjqhMEaDDiEzSFzpXtHrnViD8ZC

So guys a big thank you to Sonny for the drop and for sharing about himself and his project and don't forget to claim your free NFT .

14
$ 13.83
$ 13.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: NFT, Artist, WAX

Comments

Cool 🤩🤩 and thanks for the cool NFT 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mate that is the absolute best Meet the Artist NFT So Far

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, thanks man. I appreciatae that very much. Im glad you enjoy it. Its like the hokey pokey. Thats what it is all about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

cheers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great interview. Thank you everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

anytime

$ 0.00
2 years ago