Writing Prompt: Lies

95 171
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

How are you awesome people of Read.cash? I hope you have or had a wonderful weekend.

First, let me clarify, I haven't been confused when putting the title of the article. @JonicaBradley is unwilling to write the prompt's article for this week. Unfortunately, she has kidney stones, so we wish her a speedy recovery. And meanwhile, I'll do my best to summon you to write about this week's topic, Lies.

It doesn't matter how honest you consider yourself. Everybody tells lies. Honesty's one of my main character strengths. And if you ask me if I'm a liar, I'll say no. But if you ask me if I tell lies, I'll say yes.

I don't think anyone should dare to say that they never tell lies. If there is a truth, it's that everyone tells lies.

Since we are children, in one way or another, we learn to lie. Children learn by imitating adults who, willingly or unwillingly, constantly tell them lies. Many of you are familiar with the story of Pinocchio. And probably at least once, when you were little, you were told, "Don't tell lies or your nose will grow like Pinocchio's. Who lies to whom?

Of course, some lies are serious, and some aren't. There are the white lies. Those that we usually tell so as not to hurt other people's feelings. The society we live in is full of white lies. I love how you look when I think the person is ready to go to a carnival parade. Or how beautiful your daughter is, when the truth is that she isn't, she seems nice but not so pretty.

Sometimes we tell white lies so as not to worry the other person. I do it with my mother quite often.

And then we have the serious lies, those that when we tell them can harm other people, or sometimes even ourselves. Also, those that sometimes spread false rumors and can have consequences.

The mythomaniac or compulsive liar

Some people are compulsive liars, they just can't stop telling lies. These people are called mythomaniacs. The reasons that lead to this situation are often the escape of reality, low self-esteem, and the search for acceptance by other people. Mythomania is considered a behavior disorder. And it has always seemed to me these people end up being the only ones who believe their lies.

Detecting the lies

It seems that humans are very good at lying, but it isn't always easy for us to detect lies. According to experts, it's easier to detect a lie if we listen carefully than if we pay attention to the person's gestures while telling the lie. Good liars know how to control these reactions.

And in that case, I think my husband isn't a very good liar, because whenever he tells a lie just by looking at him, and a tic that makes his nose and he cannot control, I discover that he is lying. Maybe he does have some Pinocchio.

A quick test

And reading here and there to illuminate my ideas with this article. I found a wee test. I don't know the true scientific value it has, but I found it curious and funny at the same time. Psychology professor Richard Wiseman has a test that can tell you in 5 seconds if you are a good liar. All you have to do is draw a Q on your forehead with your predominant hand. And I invite you to do so now before moving on in the reading.

If you drew the Q stick over your left eye, you are a person who cares more about how others see you. Therefore you are more prone to telling lies. While if you drew the stick of the Q on your right eye, you are more introverted. And care more about the vision you have of yourself.

Do you consider yourself a liar? Have you ever met a mythomaniac person? What is the biggest lie you remember telling? What is the biggest lie you have been told?

Write whatever you want about lying.

To participate, rules are simple:

  1. Write anything about Lies

  2. Write 100% original content and at least 600 words

  3. Tag me @CoquiCoin

  4. Have fun

To you, my dear readers, thank you so much!

Thank you to my wonderful sponsors! You rock!

All images and writings are my own unless anything different is stated.

© CoquiCoin  

#ClubBrokeBCH

Let's go for a #BetterSeptember

Until next time! ;)

September 19, 2021

39
$ 11.66
$ 10.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 21
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Haha, I'm a bad liar and the little test you included at the end only confirmed it 😅😅😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm a bad liar too, we are alike on that ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like many other things :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, my dear 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also living a whole life lie. I don't know if it's a white lie. Lol, living with a life not knowing your real biological pop. Sad to know it..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There are truths that we'll never know no matter how hard we try. I'm so sorry you feel that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's ok.. I just move forward and live for today..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to hear you move forward

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I have to move forward for my two sons. I don't want to be imprisoned from the past. Anyways I heard 3 years ago that he already died.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is the best thing you can do. Especially, when you cannot change the past. It is better to live in the present and look to the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@Kike9781 brought me here and I must say... This is a cool place to read! About lies, yep, everybody lies at any moment. I don´t say we can be all day long lying, but we sometimes do it to avoid awkward situations. It´s a part of our own nature.

There is someone closer who is a big compulsive liar and it´s not cool, but I must admit he´s a great actor, they think so fast and lie without problems, so natural, and when they know you already catch them, they get angry! It´s fascinating and perturbing at the same time. A big hug from the distance my friend!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked the reading. and I hope to read your approach on the topic if you want to join the prompt. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The biggest lie told to me? I guess it is when they told me they love me and I know it's not true, they only give me value now because they can benefit from me. Sad. ☹

$ 0.01
2 years ago

:( I wish someday you'll find the right one, dear B Champ.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well we all lie, just some more than others, thank you for this as I never knew a compulsive liar had a term though!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome, Ed! I wonder if you did the quick test and on which side your Q stick was? ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe I did and I was not a liar!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I knew it. Otherwise, Dafty wouldn't talk to you.😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha oh how very true 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg! I am the first one on the test. 🤦🤭😬 Lol! But yes, if there is a word truth, that means there is a word lie.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, well that doesn't mean you are a liar, but that you give more importance as to how others see you. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe because before I used to always wanted myself to fit in to everything. But as of now I am trying to embrace who I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that's the way to go! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Coquicoin. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quién dice que no miente, ya está mintiendo. Mentir es parte de nuestra naturaleza, a veces nos toca mentir porque la verdad no es necesaria en ese momento, como cuando debes guardar un secreto y te pregunta la persona que no debe saberlo, y tienes que decir que no sabes nada porque no te corresponde a ti decirlo. ¡Buen artículo amiga!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gracias Sara! Es que lo cierto es que hay verdades que a veces es mejor no decirlas. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a saying: "always tell the truth and stick to the consequences". We definitely lie all the time, even if we don't like it, I always try not to lie, but it's not possible. Mythomaniacs we call them fresh lies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The truth is that no matter how hard we try not to tell lies. We are surrounded by lies. And many times, we say them to avoid uncomfortable situations with others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm the second one hehehe, it was a fun exercise :D

"If there is a truth, it's that everyone tells lies." This was brilliant :)!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! :) I'm glad you enjoyed the quick test. It's funny XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Q stick over right eye. "Everybody lies" hehehe as Doctor House would always say.

Most of the time we lie to ourselves though. Hoping that "denying" the truth we found in ourselves will make it a lie. what now?

we sometimes give out an abridged version/s of ourselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In my case, I also believe that the greatest number of lies I say, I tell myself. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I am a good liar D: but sometimes I must say some "white lie" not to hurt anyone

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Unconsciously and consciously, we all tell white lies. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I lie too. I lied to everyone when I say I am okay when I am not. Though, this is just white lie, it's still lie. That mythomaniac person should be avoided. I can't stand someone who constantly lies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When we say we are ok and we are not. Sometimes we also try to lie to ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, we fool ourselves and that's not good but we think that's the best thing we do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can truly relateta Jerome's comment. I lied I was okay when I was not. Depression is real.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, it's real, sis. I hope you're really okay now. xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes everyone had lied ... i learned a new word today.thanks

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome :) and thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried writing the Q on my forehead, I am an introvert and a bad liar.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never participated in prompts but will try on this one coz have a lot of things to share. Wish speedy recovery for jhonica

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll look forward to reading your article about this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have encountered mythomaniac person, and I can tell that they are the worse. They keep telling lies over and over

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's terrible to deal with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg I drew Q in the middle of my forehead, not right or left 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 what about me now? hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😂😂 Maybe you are a good liar that is not so good at saying lies. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't tell my mom that I broke her necklace, as I can't say it's been a month since that happened and I'm ready to face my punishment.😂 I feel so bad

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes when we know that we have not told the truth or we have hidden something, guilt doesn't let us feel good. I think sooner or later, you will have to face the truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true the it so hard to detect lie especially a pretender one but when we listen carefully surely we will catch them. Like what happen to a friend of mine, I can sense that she is telling lies si I did is listening to her and ask question and then boom I caught her without her notice. hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Surely you caught her off guard, and that's why you discovered her, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Q stick to the right. Should I celebrate? lol! I've been told lies by politicians a lot lol! Now that the election time here is nearing, more and more lies are being told again by these politicians campaigning here and there. Lots of lies by the pharmaceutical companies and many more :D

I admit. I tell lies. I tell lies when playing pranks or jokes. Everybody lies indeed :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, everyone lies. But I'm not surprised that your Q stick is on the right side. If I had to guess your result. I would have said that, Kuboy;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree that we all lie and most of it are white lies especially when we have something to protect and not because we're fond of lying. To answer your question, the biggest lie I told just happened recently when I am about to move to an apartment and start being independent. I told my dad that my friend will stay with me just to stop him from worrying coz he doesn't want me to be alone. I am so determined to hit this goal that I even told my friend about pur script if ever dad asks her. But at least I tried to look for other options and found a better location so I don't have to drag my friend into that lie anymore and dad is at peace now even if I'm alone here in apartment.

The biggest lie (actually the biggest BS) I was told is about our salary. I used to be employed before and the company exploited me and my colleagues. They did not indicate the salary in the new contract when I got promoted after the probationary period. They used the 2009 recession as an excuse for that. They told us they will indicate our salary and update the contract when the recession is over. I figured that such practice is against the labor law and it's just a way to exploit innocent fresh graduates. That's all. This article is a good read.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked the article. It's too bad some companies lie to their employees with their salaries. But it's the sad reality in many places. Here in my country, also many companies use tactics to evade labor laws.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's one of the reasons why I'm so happy with my decision to leave employment for good at a young age and find opportunities where I have the freedom to earn how much I want while I enjoy time freedom. It also gave me more time to build multiple income streams. No more exploitation, more freedom while earning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good decision. I also made that decision, but I wasn't as young as you when I did. And I am happy with my decision.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So many lies I have told but I am not a good liar though. My mum especially teaches me how to lie😅😅😅, all those lie that she will tell me to tell my dad that I need money for textbooks whereas she has given me but she wants her money back. That's always one of the reasons she will tell me to lie😅😅😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A good financial strategy that of for your mom, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅😅😅 the lie is always working and sometimes I just question her and say mummy, must you do this and she will be like you cannot understand 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, she will have her reasons ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, she really does but she hasn't been able to do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am actually experiencing disappointment from a friend who always tell me lies just for him to look good, to look awesome and that many are abusing his kindness. A lot of make believe stories and posts at social media that made me people say wow but I know him better to know that what he posted is a fraud. There are already a lot of clues of him being a liar but i shrug it off and choose to accept him still as a friend believing whatever it is that he is doing, he will not do it to me. I was wrong, i learned recently about the lies he tells about me as well. He’s a perfect example of a mythomaniac

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, I'm sorry for the disappointment with your friend. Although, I don't know if, at this point, you can call him a friend. The problem with compulsive liars is that they don't stop at their lies. They don't even know how to do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Using a lie to tell kids not to lie; "Don't tell lies or your nose will grow like Pinocchio's". I believe lies is part of human nature, I mean who teaches kids how to lie?

That psychology test is impressive! I actually drew the Q over my right eye, and yes the deduction is correct; I'm an introvert and I don't care what people think of me. I can be pretty blunt most of the time and my friends have told me that I'm "savage".

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, I prefer to call you sincere. And the test seemed to me curious and great too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The biggest lie I told so far was before when I had a depression. I told them that I'm ok and strong but deep inside of me I was mentally murdered and full of mixed emotions..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

same, jerome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry to hear that. And maybe you were lying not only to other people but to yourself too. I hope you are better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The test though, its fascinating of that findings I will give it a try...and I have been at a point in my life when I had to lie just because of fear of punishment but did I manage to escape from it?. I will watch the video soon and this is a good prompt.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can remember far back when I told a lie cuz I destroyed an expensive piece...well I got a way with it but I was exposed later that same day my mum just has a way of finding out the truth. This topic is interesting I will write on it soon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Moms sometimes have a sixth sense to discover the lies of their children. I look forward to reading your article on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not a good liar haha the test said so :D I don't like lies nor liars, but, we all lie at some point, to protect others or to protect ourselves, to buy time to solve some issue, or simply just to hide the truth for people you don't want to know certain things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm not a good liar either. But we say white lies all the time. And most of the time, we aren't even aware that we are telling lies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope Jonica has a speedy recovery as well. This kidney stone thing does not sound like a fun thing to deal with at all.

As for lies, well yes. You are absolutely correct. We all are prone to telling them. But like you, I make a strong distinction between simple white lies and all out total fibbery.

As I often say, there ARE actually times when the truth is better left unsaid.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Completely agree. In many cases, it's better not to tell the truth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are not lying there for sure, my friend. And I would be lying if I say I don't want to participate in this prompt :D

And oh, I did the Q test without watching the video first and my finger just drew it toward my right eye. After watching the video, I discover I am not very good at lying :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And I'd be lying if I said I don't want to read your article on lies. LOL You have to ask the Farm Boy to do the test when he returns to your kingdom, hehe. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha :D Oh yes I will. I hope I don't forget :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha Omg I am a good liar! Hahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, looking forward to read from you on this ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I drew the Q over my left eye and yes, I'm really prone to telling lies especially when my mother asks me details about my boyfriend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So you are a good liar, hehe. You better don't tell your mom anything about the test.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we really are liars. Even if we dislike lying. Already at the moment of telling white lies we are being liars.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, even if we don't like to lie, our life is full of lies, at least white ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was confused as well when I saw the title haha.. So this is it..a new prompt..you give an idea of what to write this week.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's it. And yes, I thought that at first glance, the title would be confusing. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all, I'm thankful you shared it with us. Good and bad times are part of human life and we should give thanks to God Almighty in all circumstances. The second thing is to pray for the good of everyone.Always remember us in your prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you are a live lie detector. I think maximum wives of this world are live lie detector and that's the best thing for the families. Well, a little bit sad about Jonica. Hope she will be all ok.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm far from being a live lie detector, LOL. Only that after many years I know him well, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago