Dealing with noise while writing

Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

I have read a lot of articles about writer's block and how to overcome writer's block, I have experienced it myself most of the time while trying to write an article about a particular thing/place. From the title, you will surely know that I'm not going to write about writer's block, cause I'm sure there's a lot of articles about writer's block here and I don't want it to be too obvious.

I will be talking about noisy environments

Have you ever written an article in a noisy environment? If yes, how did you cope with the noise while writing, As for me, I like to write my articles according to my moods, if I want to write about loneliness or depression, I normally seat alone in my room and turn off the lights so I can be in the mood of writing if I want to write about happy moments or love story, I sometimes play love songs in my airpod or be around my family and friends for inspiration, Days back I was writing an article titled None Smiling Couple you can read it here https://read.cash/@Cogamedia/none-smiling-couple-4cf40bcd

Sponsors Block (?)

But the noise in my environment that day was too loud and I couldn't concentrate on writing the article, I had to draft the article till midnight when everywhere was a bit calm. Today I decided to write on it let's address the issue of a noisy environment.

What is noise?

Noise is a sound that is unpleasant to hear, be it loud or low, most times when people are talking about things that we don't like, in my country we usually tell the person, you too dey make noise (what you are saying it's nonsense) because what he/she was saying is unpleasant to us.

Noise can be seen in a photo or video that doesn't have a good quality lens. You can also see noise on TV due to bad/low network connection problem, most pictures were taken in the night usually has noise due to lack of direct sunlight.

In the United States and other people countries, you can call the police on your neighbor for making noise with his/her music or etcetera, but in my country, it's otherwise, lol. I'm from a country called Nigeria (for those who don't know) and we are used to hearing unpleasant sounds (noise) anywhere at any time, the government hasn't addressed these issues, cause they know that they are the cause of it in the first place. My country celebrated 61years of Independence on Oct 1st and we don't have a steady power supply. We normally use generators here for power supply, most states or city rather has not seen light in decades, they rely on generators and I know sure the governments are gaining huge amount from if that's why they haven't addressed the power supply issue.

There's this generator called "I better pass my neighbor"

No brand attached

This particular generator can disturb an entire community, lol. These kinds of a generator are old modem though, the generator companies also have new generators better than this, your pocket normally speaks for you when you want to buy a generator. We use generator sounds in my country to the extent that the sound becomes pleasant to us, lol. But what is bad is bad, we might not know this now, but the noise that comes out from the generator can affect our eardrums negatively and it will become a problem in our old age. Generators often produce smokes that pollute the air when they are getting old, though the generator is not the only noise in my country, I believe that any leader that can address the issue and made it possible for us to have a steady power supply without a generator, the leader has solved 60% out of 100% problem in my country.

The noise in my country it's enough reason for one to give up on reading/writing, the pain only makes us stronger, I didn't even mention the shoemakers (people that repairs shoes), the iron pickers (people that buy/picks condemn mental), street hustlers ( new companies that are creating awareness for their products in the streets and they often play loud music that becomes unpleasant to you). The amount of noise in my country is extremely high that sometimes I wish I was in another country like the United States so I could call the police whenever my neighbor starts playing what's unpleasant to my ear, lol.

You can't even think straight without disturbance from a noisy neighbor, that's why most times I usually write my articles at night around 2 pm cause they would off the generator at that time, cause of the smokes produces.

Generators are not safe to use while you are asleep, because the smoke that comes out from a generator is called carbon monoxide and is unhealthy to the human system, The company always advises buyers to turn off the generator when they want to sleep or living the house to avoid hazards.

Closing thoughts

The government and citizens should join hand to hand on this to reduce noise in the country, most of our leaders here travels to UK and US to get some peaceful time without noise, I believe that is only the poor masses that are suffering from noises in the country. One day we are going to have a stable power supply and the noise will reduce.

I will like to know how you are coping with noise in your environments too if you don't mind, write it under the comment section let's discuss. 

Don't forget to hit the subscribe button and also hit the link button

Lead image source.

<a href='https://www.freepik.com/photos/hand'>Hand photo created by karlyukav - www.freepik.com</a>

5
$ 2.22
$ 2.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 1
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Thank God I don't get distracted by noise most of the time, what I actually find disturbing are when people around me are talking about something I'm interested in while I'm trying to focus on something. I will feel like joining their conversation 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, that's one of the worst distraction ever

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really can't concentrate when there's a lot of sound and noises around me. That's why I just stay on my room. But sometimes, even if there's noises but I. Too focus on what I'm writing I can work fine with it hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's also a matter of mood. When you are in the right energy to write, not even generator can distract you. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I found this very helpful and informative! My tactic is to wake up early (4 am) and write while everyone is sleeping. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to do things while other are asleep, because you will get more inspiration and mostly importantly no disturbance at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coping with noise differs in individuals, there are some that can't just cope with wave of noise while others enjoy it. I used to have a roommate that gets irritated with noise whenever he's with his book, even if the sound is from a murmured tone. He used to vex eh. Me, I can do anything in a noisy environment once I'm determined .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are used to the economy, lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago