People Leave

0 4
Avatar for Clintbling
3 years ago

People leave

And I warned you I would leave you first

before you leave me

so I will be able to handle it

so I won't get caught off guard and drown in the loneliness sea.

I said I would rather break your heart than my own

I was completely sure you were going to shatter mine you see,

people leave

and you did leave me, eventually.

And I kept my second promise to you.

That if you ever leave me first, I won't try and stop you.

Free road, free will

not showing you the scars you imprinted when you left,

scars you could only heal.

I just smiled ruefully when you left me

and told you I was going to be fine

I warned you I was going to break your heart

but you ended up breaking mine.

And I cursed you for it continuously.

Damn you for walking away.

Damn you for leaving me.

And that's what I thought of our situation, up until recently.

But nowadays I wonder if I got it all wrong

I wonder if I have ever been right

if fear and insecurity interfered

if pride made me lose sight.

While I was talking about leaving,

did I put these ideas on your mind?

Were you just wondering like I was

and wanted to see what I would decide?

Because people leave.

But not everyone leaves for the sake of leaving. There are some,

who leave with the intent to see

if somebody stops them.

So while I was venting about leaving,

praying not to lose you

did you wish when you walked away,

for me to hold on to you too?

✒ Clint Bling, The Mighty Pen

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for Clintbling
3 years ago

Comments