War of the wolves

7 38
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Thought

I hated him tall, rich and handsome. To bad for me, my mother loved him unconditionally. "Tristan," my mother cried and wrapped her arms around him. I narrowed my eyes at both of them as the kissed each other, stuffing my hands in my pockets as I refocused my gaze at the damp ground. "Cassie," Tristan smiled, opening his arms for a hug. I kept my expression blank and stayed where I was, my mother's smiled instantly disappearing. "I'll get my bags," I grumbled and walked around to the trunk, ignoring my mother's silent plea.

No one could replace my father, not for me anyway. But for my mother, some one could, and that was Tristan Blake. He was rich, confident, said and did all the right things, but he would never be family, never. It was quick marriage, only took two months to plan, say their vows, and off they were on their honeymoon. I slung the strap of my suitcase over my shoulder and trudged into the house where my mother marveled at everything. She was finally genuine happy. That's all I ever wanted. For both of us to be happy. But this... made me want to throw up. "Where's my room," I asked sharper than intended. My mother shot me a glare. "Pick one," Tristan smiled, making me want to punch him even more. I turned on my heel and stormed upstairs, leaving both of them standing at the bottom of the stares surprised.

"What did I do?" Tristan asked startled. My mother sighed.

"Nothing," she replied and then turned all giddy again. "Show me our room!" I sighed and began searching the twisting halls. Every room was the same, huge. I thought about giving up and sleeping in the car, until ai spotted a door at the end Of the hall that I hadn't seen before.

There were two big differences that separated this room from the others. For starters, it didn't look like Tristan's wallet had thrown up on it. Second, it was simple. The curtains were purple, the bed spread was purple, the walls were white and the floor was an old wood that suddenly to meclassified it as vintage. I liked it... until I pulled back the curtains.

I never really knew what love felt like, but after seeing the stellar view from my new bedroom window, I knew I was in deep. I was looking down on a valley, lit by the setting sun that painted everything orange and gold. Streams snaked their way across the landscape, sparkling against the dark hills, while the thick forests climbed their way up the sides of the basin and blanketed the lawn.

"PrideValley" some one informed behind me.

I spun around to find Tristan standing there, dark shadows sewn across his face. He stepped up next to me, not taking his eyes of the window. "They say that long ago werewolves used to roam free down there," he muttered, his voice matter of fact. "There's this old legend that gave it it's name. I was told it over a hundred times by the relater when I was interested in buying." He paused, and for a moment I saw something flash across his face. It was familiar expression that my mother would always get when she was remembering a happy memory.

"The locals said I was crazy to buy this place," he continued, a small grin tugging at him mouth. "Some times I think I was." I frowned at him, finding him more mysterious and insane. "Why did they say you were crazy," I asked curiously. "It's a nice place." He grinned down at his property, a devilish fire sparking in his eyes. "Because some say the werewolves never left." The valley suddenly looked different. It looked cold.

To take my mind off things, I began unpacking. To utter annoyance, all my things fit into my huge dresser. It only reminded me of how much I lost in that fire, everything that was important to me. I sat on my new bed, the different comforter feeling odd to me. The rain started splattering against my window, smearing the different colors together as I watch the sky darken into grey. "Cassie?" My mother asked through the door. "Dinner." I didn't move to open it; I wanted to be alone. "I'm not hungry," I replied.

"Cassie, please"

"No"

"Kate made this amazing-."

"I SAID NO."

She left after that, not bothering to ask what was wrong, nor say anything to make me feel better. I rolled on my side and stared at the blank wall, listening to the soft tremors of the thundering clouds in the distance. A different landscape soon replaced the plainness of my new room and for a moment, distracted me from my confused thoughts.

The wolf stood at the edge of the clearing, barely visible in the dark shadows that enveloped it. It watched me with it's ocean blue eyes. Studying me. Waiting for me to scream. Waiting for an excuse to kill me. I backed up a step, only to have the animal take a step towards me. My gaze went from its bared teeth to its eyes. I knew those eyes. The deep blue color of them were unforgettable. I saw them everyday when I looked in the mirror... they were mine.

Lead Image

A shrill scream pierced the quiet room, and it took me a while to realize I had made that dying animal sound Beads of sweat matted my hair to my head. No a nightmare. I pushed off the covers and grabbed my phone on the nightstand. 3:52. The rain has decreased a bit, and only a soft drizzle was left.

Outside, the nearby forest seemed brighter than it had before. The earlier clouds had disappeared, leaving the stars and full moon perfectly visible and bright. It seemed peaceful and tempting, so tempting that I climbed out of bed and slipped on a sweatshirt and a pair of shoes.

The after effect of the rain left a heavy mist that lingered in the air and clung to everything. Leaves glistened with water, twinkling against the thick blackness in front of and behind me. Everywhere, insects chirped and hummed with excitement, their buzzing interrupting the calm silence.

I walked slowly along the path, taking my time as I strolled deeper and deeper into the darkness. The leaves above me were so tightly laced together that the light that I relied on to see before was gone, and I was trapped in an endless sea of tree trunks and bushes. I looked back down the twisting path, panicked to find that it had split in two without me realizing it. They looked the same, and both, lead into nothingness.

A soft howl suddenly echoed through the woods to my left. Without thinking, I began sprinting down one of the two trails in a rushed panic. Soon, a chorus of howls rang on top of each other building until the noise was deafening.

The ground suddenly disappeared beneath me as my foot met a solid object. I failed uselessly, only having seconds to panic before I hit the ground, hard. I bit back a scream as a sharp pain shot up my leg, confirming a sprained ankle. Fighting the urge to cry, I slowly stood up and wobbled before balancing on my right leg.

"You know, most girls, or actually, humans, would take a flashlight when they decide to take a midnight stroll in the woods." A silky and attractive voice scoffed behind me. I pivoted around and met some ones gaze. He was around any age, maybe a year or two older, with hair the color of midnight that curled slightly around his ears and brushed in his eyes. His plain white T-shirt showed off his muscular build, and the dark jeans he wore couldn't have been worn any better.

To sum things up he was h-o-t hot. The epitome of perfection. Just by looking at him I wanted to break the law just because he looked like the bad boy type. His flawless face was pulled into a vey curious expression, a hint of humor mixed in.

An amused grin was tugging at his mouth as he leaned against a tree. I let my heart rate slow before I answered. "And most boys, or actually, humans, don't scare the living shit out of people why they take a barefooted midnight walk in the woods," I fired back. He held up his hands in surrender. "Sorry wonderful," he snickered, crossing his arms over his chest. "No need to get defensive." I gritted my teeth together, swallowing my not so friendly words.

"What are doing out here anyways?" He asked, cocking his head to the right? Studying me for a second. I narrowed my eyes a bit. "I was about to ask you the same question," I muttered bitterly. He straightened up. "Is that so?" He asked teasingly. "It's really not your concern." I let my expression become cold. "Ditto," I replied.

He stood for a second, saying nothing. "You hurt your ankle," he guessed, watching as I tried to put pressure on it. "No, I'm jumping around on one foot because it makes me feel like a ballerina," I snapped, shooting him a dark look. This seemed to amused him even more, and I was torn between wanting to punch his face or make out with it. "You're not from around here are you?" He said, far from a question. I shook my head. "No, chicago," I admitted anyways. "Nice place once you get past the blood on the sidewalk and the police sirens at night, shit!" I flopped to the ground as my ankle gave way. Before I could resist, the boy crossed over to me and scooped me up in his arms.

"Wha-, what do you think you're doing?" I demanded, my eyes widening. He laughed and glanced down at me, the tiny flecks of gold in his irises flashing in the moonlight. "I highly doubt you're going to make it all the way back with a damaged ankle," he reminded, and I was suddenly very aware of how close he was when his intoxicating scent filled my senses. "Bu-," I started to protest before he cut me off.

"Just relax," he demanded smoothly. "You'll be fine." I was about plead for him to but me down, when sleep suddenly caught up with me, and my eyes lids drooped. I fought to keep them open, but it was an uphill battle. "Go to sleep wonderful," the boy mused, the soft laughter never leaving his voice. I gave in and succumbed to the darkness before I could reply.

As soon as I opened my eyes. I screamed. Again, my mother thundered up the stairs and threw opened the doorb so fast it slammed against the wall. "Wha-what is it?! It sounded like some one was trying to kill you!" She cried, her eyes wild with concern.

"Um, sorry, bad dream?" I laughed nervously as Tristan ambled up behind her, his hair messed from sleep. She closed her eyes and pinched the bridge of her nose in relief. Tristan on the other hand, stared intensely at me. "Sorry to wake you," I apologized blinking at the harsh light that intruded in thoug my curtains.

"Actually, I was going to be late if you hadn't." Tristan informed. "Can't keep my student's waiting." My eyes narrowed at him curiously. "It's the beginning of summer," I pointed out, "school ended two weeks ago," Tristan taught at the private high school on the outskirts of town, it was no secret he was smart.

"Yes, I realize that, but I teach the ugh, gifted students," he explained. I snorted at his attempt to defend them. "You mean the nerds?" I snickered. My mom's expression became cold. "No, the-," he tried again.

"Try hards," I announced seriously. My mother smacked her forehead with her hand. "NO! Gifted Students," Tristan cried, throwing up his hands in frustration. "By the way, I have classes here sometimes, so please don't interrupt." I smiled sweetly. "Little ole me?" I laughed, flicking my wrist at him. "NEVER!" My mother muttered something illegible and led Tristan back downstairs.

I swung my legs over the side of bed and jumped to the floor. The sudden feeling of needles stabbing me in the foot made me whimper in pain. I lifted up my pants leg to find my ankle a gross black and blue color, my heart pounded all over again. It wasn't a dream, it was real. He was real. I don't remember how long I stared at my own foot, trying to remember why I went out there in the first place before one of the maids suddenly barged into my room. "Oh sorry miss," she sputtered surprised and left. I grimaced at the now closed door and went to find some ibrofen, which pretty much killed the pain.

I found Tristan pouring some milk in his cereal in the kitchen, and hesitantly walked in. "Where's my mom," I asked slowly Tristan slowly put down the milk on the counter, suddenly, becoming nervous. "She went on a business trip didn't she?" I demanded angrily. "Twenty bucks it was out of the country." Tristan sighed. "I guess I owe you twenty," he muttered softly.

I let out. Frustated yell, hating the thought of being stuck in this house with just Tristan for a whole three weeks. "She's was going to tell you. But she didn't want to upset you,"he explained kindly. I look at him. "Look how well that work out," I snickered. Tristan swirled his cereal around with his spoon, sending some milk over board.

"Touché," he smiled. I sighed and headed towards the front door. "I'm going to head to town," I announce before slamming the door shut behind me. I swore things couldn't have gotten any worse...to bad things actually did.

Author's Note :

They fuel nightmares and haunt peoples dreams, they've kept people wanting more in books and movies for generations. And even if the world is obsessed with these demons, they were never suppose to be real. By the way, have a Good Day! How was your day? ❤ I hope you are okay. ✨

My Previous Article :

6
$ 4.66
$ 4.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 5
Sponsors of Caroline17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Thought

Comments

pag ikaw yung gumagawa nang ganitong stories yung suspense and thrill talaga ang naiisip ko eh..bet mo kasi to na genre

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mga ganito lang po kasi ang pumapasok sa isip ko mare haha buti nga kahit papano nagugustuhan niyo stories ko :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maganda naman talaga xia kaso nga lang sa part ko hindi kasi ako mahilig sa horro a natatanggal puso ko sa katawan ko eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Qualified ka sa wattpad sis, parang more than wattpad pa nga level mo :) I love vampires and werewolves and all that jazz stories :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha hindi Sis pang mga batikan na sa larangan ng pasusulat ang mga nasa wattpad ako ay isang hamak na nagsusulat lang ng aking makakaya hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siis, you are so good in making stories talaga. Your choice of words is lit. Nag try ka ba mag write sa wattpad?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pang mga Expert na mga wattpad Sis haha hindi ako qualified. Dito pa nga lang sa readcash dudugo na utak ko :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago