Possibilitea

Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

The door was heavier than I anticipated.

A rush of warm air greeted me as I entered, along with the smell of cinnamon, baked goods and coffee.

Cafe flora was known for its drinks and delicious scones, but my eyes adjusted to the dim light and noted a new name on the menu.

Lead Image

POSSIBILITEA

I snorted at the horrifying pun, unbuttoning my heavy coat while scanning the menu.

Something brought me here.

Someone?

The text I received was a simple gif showing a cup of tea with floral branch covered in fuchsia blooms, a bird perched on top.

I read the message one more time: "show this image and we will show you the love of your life."

My heart was healing after another breakup from another person who made promises he refused to keep. This time was worse, but I tried to shove those memories aside while waiting in line. Voices murmured and the dim lights made it difficult to clearly see any faces, but the crowd cleared and a young teen was smiling at me behind the counter, wearing a fuchsia apron that matched the gif on my phone screen.

"Did you get a message?"

Her eyes were wide and expectant, while I could only nod and swipe on my phone to present the message as instructed. My heart started to flutter when someone approached, clearing. Their throat, but they he only grabbed a napkin before returning to their companion.

"Please, have a seat at empty table. A drink crafted just for you is on the way." The barista's voice was excited, clearly anticipating something would happen before her eyes.

It must be fun to work here.

I shrugged, giving her a cautious grin, "thank you, I guess."

I promise, you're in the best hands," she leaned in and whispered.

No number was given to indicate my table and she didn't ask for my name, but since they clearly had my information and knew who I was this was not a concern.

Another force was driving this interaction so I gave myself up to fate.

The entire cafe was spread out so it felt empty though there were at least two dozen people spread throughout. After sliding off my coat and hanging it on a nearby hook I took a seat, fidgeting while. I waited.

I slid my phone open and looked at the message again, the gif playing as I stared at the bird appearing to chirp while a cup of tea sat invitingly for its recipient.

"We will show you the love of your life," I whispered, the words playing over in my head as I thought about what that could mean.

Relationships can lead to love, but so far in my life each one made me feel like a revolving door. High school and college were fun but since then it was a constant stream of empty promises followed by gaslighting. If I was lucky they didn't meet my family.

Was I not worthy of any respect? Did my thoughts and feelings not matter to anyone?

My heart ached as I considered my own thoughts, realizing it was my own fault as well.

I was complicit in my trauma.

They caused harm but I didn't walk away fast enough.

Maybe my voice should have said no louder.

Maybe my hands should have fought back harder.

The rattle of a tray settled on my table and I looked up, fuchsia flowers in a mason jar on the table moving just like the gif in front of my eyes.

"One special for our special guest," an older woman said sweetly, presenting a prepared. Tea press along with a teacup painted to match the one from my message.

I smiled, moving my phone and making room for the cup so she could properly serve me. The scent was citrus and clean, so I asked, "Jasmine?"

She nodded, "that's right dear! Jasmine tea is the base but we added a few things just for you. Trust me. This is what you need to find your true love." After a long look and another warm smile she took the tray and left, tea press in hand.

I stared at the tea cup as stream rose, perfuming the air.

"Well, here goes nothing," I whispered, lifting the cup to my lips and sipping slowly. The flavor made me smile, bringing memories of childhood summers with no stress or worries.

A man bumped into my table, nearly causing me to spill my drink. "I'm so sorry!" He exclaimed, eyes wide.

I grinned, blushing and looking away, "that's no problem!"

When I looked back he was already gone.

Frustration settled in and the bitter taste of lemongrass and disappointment lingered on my Palette. I finished my tea quickly and decided to make my way home before another embarrassing accident.

I genuinely expected to find someone or learn something in the time I sat sipping my disgusting beverage. Of course it was an opportunity I would never regret, but loss of potential is still disappointing.

The waitress waved, "enjoy your day!" And I turned, waving back while struggling to get into my coat.

I hurried toward the door but froze when I saw a mirror by the entryway.

Something was different.

My skin looked fresh and like I had just woken from a restful nap. I moved closer and saw something unexpected in my gaze.

It was full of hope.

Even after all the heartache and struggles,

after being shattered again and again.... there was still a burning fire of determination.

The elderly woman who served me approached, surveying my expression. Her lips curved into a bright smile, joy bursting at my expression.

"Oh, this is always my favorite."

I cocked my head toward her, "what do you mean?"

"When they fall in love with themselves."

Her words hung in the air as I looked back to my reflection, realizing she was right.

Everything I needed was inside all along.

Author's Note :

A change of Venue. One drink, poured carefully and sipped slowly. Is that truly all it takes to see the potential for your future?

My Previous Article :

5
$ 4.19
$ 4.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 1
Sponsors of Caroline17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

we keep on forgetting that the best love we can give ourselves is self-love and we keep on looking at it from the people around us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, that's why the others are neglecting themselves. so the mind should be the most important Let's love ourselves because we only live once in the world .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We just had a milktea last week naalala ko tuloy dahil sa title ng article mo..Self love is sometimes what we need and sadly akala ng maraming tao makikita nila sa partner nila yun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama ka dyan Sis :) maraming ganyan na tao

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Namiss ko na naman tuloy mag-tea sis. Hihi.. Hindi pa ako nakabili ulit..

Naol may pa-tea at flowers.. Ayieehh.. Nice work up there sis.. <3 :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha tagal na yan Sis 😊 sana nga maranasan ko ulit yung ganyan .. Makakabili ka din ulit yakang yaka mo hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag-iiponan na muna sis.. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all nakakarecievedng gift na tea with flowers hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sana nga maulit para naman talaga mas damang dama haha. Sana sa pasko :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago