Pinned up

8 32
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

I have always had a love for books. One of those kids who could read a book in a single sitting. But as I got older, other things became more important and should destroyed my love for reading. Forcing me to read specific books for class was not exactly encouraging me to pick up another book at home. But now I'm in college, things are changing and I am learning to rediscover myself. I am starting with trying to revive my love for books. In order to do that you've got to have a new book right? I heard that a new book store opened about 20 miles away and I have a free saturday so I am now sitting in the parking lot of the bookstore ready to rediscover my love for books. So I ate a good breakfast this morning and I am ready to lose myself for hours in this store. I walk into the store and I am amazed at the sight of all the books. I almost forgot what so many books looked like. I'm so excited that I can't decide which genre I want to start with. I've recently been loving true crime so I decided to start with the mystery books. I picked up the the Stand by Stephen King as I have been wanting to read one of his books when someone else comes to stop at the other end of the aisle. I am an extremely nosy person so of course, I turn to look at them for a brief second. But when I do so I nearly drop the book flat on the floor. I know that guy. Well not really because I have never actually held a conversation with him. But I've seen him before. Every summer camp counselor. He is so good with those kids and I can't help that he caught my eye. Well, this is just great. Now I've been staring at the bookshelf for 3 minutes like a creep and he's surely noticed me looking like a weirdo. You know what? I can't do this, I have already made a fool of myself in my own head. I'll just leave and rediscover my love for books another day.

Lead Image

But I can't do that. Because he is standing at the edge of the aisle and I would have to walk past him to leave. But If I stay any longer I will most definitely do something weird and want to disintegrate into the floor. I can't handle this. He's the hottest guy I've ever seen in person and he's got a great personality. I've had a crush on him for 3 years and he doesn't even know I exist. Ok I can do this. Just walk past him. It's not a big deal. You don't even have to actually interact with him. He moves to put a book back on the shelf in front of him. This is my chance. I duck my head and speed walk past him and out the door to my car and drive away. Except that's not what happens. I don't think I've ever been this embarrassed in my entire life. Because as I am walking right behind him, he steps back from the shelf with another book in hand. But it doesn't stop there because he steps back so far that he accidentally pins me to the bookshelf behind me. I think I will drop dead right now. I pray to whatever God is listening that they just smite me where I stand. Right now. so I don't have to interact with this beautiful man.

He jumps forward once he feels me behind him. Oh my gosh, I could feel his back muscles flexing when he did that. No, no swooning. Just breathe, smile, and walk away.

"Oh my gosh. I am so sorry. Are you alright?" He runs his fingers through his perfect hair as he turns to face me with a look of worry on his face.

"OH yeah I'm totally fine, it's really no big deal." I just look at him with a tight-lipped smile. "Ok bye." I turn to leave silently hoping he doesn't say anything else.

"Wait!"of course. "You look really familiar. Do you work at Cedar Woods summer camp?"

"Yeah, I do. I think I recognize you too." I've got my hands clasped behind my back and I'm bouncing back and forth on my toes just wanting to run out of the store. How did I let this happen? Why am I so awkward.

"I am really sorry for running into you. You didn't hit your head, did you?"

"No, I don't think so."

"Let me buy you coffee to apologize"

"Oh I wish I could but I actually have to meet someone so I've got to go."

"Didn't you just get here like 5 minutes ago."

"How do you know when I got here?" I cross my arms over my chest and his eyes go wide at my question.

"Well, it's kind of hard not to notice a beautiful girl walking in here." He reaches up to scratch the back of his head and stops making eye contact with me. My mouth kind of drops open and I don't know what to say to that.

"I can't believe I just said that out loud," I think he said that more to himself than to me. He clears his throat, "anyway coffee?"

"Sure. I'd love some." I can't believe I just agreed to this. "But I need to know a guy's name before I let him buy me a coffee." Yes, girl! Master that smooth-talking.

"Right, I'm Blake." He extends his hand out to me.

"Shelby." I shake his hand. Wow, his hands are soft. Now let go you've probably been holding his hand for too long.

"Nice to meet you, Shelby." He smiles a gorgeous smile.

"It's nice to meet you too, Blake."

Author's Note:

Why do I always end up putting myself in the most awkward situations? All I wanted to do was leave the bookstore and go home. Why was that so hard for me to do?

5
$ 4.44
$ 4.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 2
Sponsors of Caroline17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

Comments

awwww I miss library and coffee... and where can I buy some luck like Shelby has...by her definitions Blake is so freakin hot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He seems like a nice guy. I was just like you, used to finish a book in one sitting. Now life became so complicated and I got occupied by so many things. Anyway, it was a good read. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ow Nice good we have something like that .It's really nice to read books but now I'm so busy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Was it an awkward situation you faced? I don't think so. You just want to read a book but you read a mind. Haha. You can fall into this situation again. Be careful. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yah.! I will always be careful haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be better as next time you could discover him in another place. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why do you love putting yourself in an awkward situation nga ba? Anyways, I like it. Nakakakilig :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha ganon talaga ako Sis ei. Ayiee sana all kinilig salamat sa pagbabasa

$ 0.00
2 years ago