Algebra Catastrophes

Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago

I'm a sophomore in high school and homeschooled, but this story takes place in freshman year and in a public school I went to. Let's get this clear, I hate, math. Like a huge passion of hate for math. And I remember clear as day.

It was about a week after the semester finals and we had gotten our individual tests that was used as a bench mark for it. As well as our semester report card. Our teacher, who we will call Mrs. Smith- had given us an exercise for the class.

Now do keep in mind, no one in this class like me, absolutely no one. Even people who I considered my "friends" didn't help stand up against some bullies... However, this day was quite an interesting one.

The teacher assigned us partners to work with. No one of course, wanted to be teamed up with me. However, in an ironically movie like way, I was teamed up with one of the rather... more well known students, for his athletic quarter back charms and smarts. When of course our name was called to teamed up to each other everyone was completely silent and I felt all the eyes on me. I had my head down and tensely clenched my hands.

To my shock, he was rather kind to me. Now this boy, I'll call him Mark for this I've known of him since elementary. Ya know, you got the people you know, you've talked to, and those you've seen around. He had walked up to my desk and greeted me with a smile. It seemed probably harmless to others, but to me, I was terrified. Only mockers and rude people flashed me such kind smiles.

The first thing he asked, was what I had gotten for my final exam. Shyly I showed I had gotten an 86. He looked at me with surprise and almost a supportive smile. He admitted to getting a 72. I also apparently, gotten one of the highest scores in the class. That however, didn't matter.

Everyone around us were muttering, saying how he was going to fail because of me, which made me extremely nervous. However, we had finished all of the questions first. And of course followed by snickers and comments on how he either did all the work, or how we got all the ones I did wrong. He did defend me when he heard the mutters, which gave me a but of calmness.

Since we had A and B days, we went to algebra every other day, so once the second day time of a day came. The teacher had awoken one of my greatest school fears.

We had to go up to the class, and solve a question from the quiz. Now, I had gotten all the questions down and knew how to solve all, except one that was quite difficult. At first we were able to pick the questions we could Work on, but then the teacher changed her mind and assigned them to us. And of course, this story wouldn't be important without the irony to her decision! So we had, the most difficult question.

Image Source: https://pin.it/10bf2db

Since Mark was a pretty nice guy, he said he'd say what to write and I would just write. It made me a lot less nervous. But going up there, the mocking and snickers only revived those nerves. I even remember how the marker shook in my hand. He had told me what to write, my nerves soon took over and I had gotten so petrified in Anxiety. I had forgotten how to write a formula. I lost focus, and everyone was laughing. The only ones supporting me was Mark and Mrs. Smith who nodded and reassured me the best they could.

At the end of it, I was able to complete it of course with streaming tears that were invisible from the projector's light. I wiped them away before anyone could notice as I sat down.

Those kids, of course taunted me everyday until the last day of school. Which wasn't long after since I had gotten in trouble the last month of school.

As I said, I am a sophomore now, and was actually recently homeschooled, public school was never my style. But, I have gotten more confident since I stay home now. I sadly never got to thank Mark and Mrs. Smith for being kind to me.

But I will say this proudly, during the time I was in school during this year, I had some classes with my bullies. They would sit silently stunned as I showed that I wasn't a complete idiot.

We had World History and Geometry together, which both teachers took a liking in me,complementing me and recommending me to debate team and Advanced classes.

Moral of the story, it is true what they say, one day you'll prove those people who hurt you wrong.

Stay strong my introverted butter flies, for you are almost there.!!

Lead Image Source: https://pin.it/73kQhQy

Author's Note: Kudos to those person who liked and enjoyed my articles 😊❀ thank you so much 😍❀ love you all guys. More power to us! Happy bermonths. 😘

14
$ 7.39
$ 6.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of Caroline17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Caroline17
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

For me, algebra has been the hardest discipline since high school. I always need help with understanding, but when it comes to homework, the situation is even worse. Usually, I manage to do everything with the help of my groupmates, but sometimes, I also use https://edubirdie.com/algebra-help because tasks can be too hard. I have it only once a week, but I still can't ignore the course and get low marks. So it's good that I can get such help because I don't think that I'll be good soon, but I'll try.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

For me math has always been the hardest discipline

$ 0.00
1 month ago

I love Mathematics too, and yung magcompute ka with eyes on you plus the whispers you can here, sobrang nakakapressure yun. I also tried answering and solving problems in front of a lot of people during a provincial contest, grabe yung kaba ko nun at anxiety na I'll put shame on my name hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not also good in Math but I am trying my best to pass those subjects esp. in college.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can do it. ❀ fighting!!πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto ang final boss talaga na kalaban ang Math whahaha madali pa to dati nung numbers pa lang kaso nagka variables na pati utak ko nag eerror whahahaa anyways ansaya talaga pag may tao na magchecheer at push sayo forward para magawaa mo ang isang bagay pero hate ko pa din math kahit sino pang santo mag push sakin wala Hahahahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kahit yung love ones mo?. β€πŸ˜… or si God? Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheheheh uu wala eh mahina talaga, kahit idaan sa dasal wala wahahhaa charrr syempree nagsisikap namn kahit papano para maipasa langπŸ™ŒπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just do what you do best notwithstanding any smirks or taunting from other people and soon they will be regretting doing such nuisance :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes indeed. ❀😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe major ko to mars.☺️ Math is fun but there are some talaga na sobrang hirap, no. 1 calculus.. I like algebra mars..☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di ko alam kung ako lang ba pero nadadalian ako calculus. Sa algebra yoko na. Hirap ako haha Share ko lang. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit anong branch payan ng math, jusko ayaw ko ng math 😭😭. Ayaw din namna ng math sakin eh. Kaya it is a tie.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wag naman mars. Hehe mag sulat nalang ba? 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why am I reading this as if it's a love story HAHAHA

We all have that one special person na palaging nandiyan sa atin, sila yung nag pupush satin na we can do things that other people think we couldn't

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tapos na fall. 😁 hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It depends sa teacher :) nung elem-highschool ako I was scared of Math. bagsak ako sa algebra 1st sem ng 1st year college ako but nung lumipat ako ng school and handled by a great teacher, I got 1.00 sa final grade ko. But hanggang sa school lang yung math expertise na yun hehe not using it in my everyday life lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Dipende talaga sa guro. Hahha. Ngayong college lang den ako may natutunan sa math eh. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ba maaappreciate mo bakit ganun sya pero minsan masyado syang complicated ahehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate math since when I was elementary. But I am more active in english HAHA 🀣 ewan ko ba pag sinabi nilang magaling ka sa math mahina ka sa english pero pag magaling ka sa english mahina ka sa math ganon.. pero meron naman mga tao na they can do both 🀧 at sana all dyaan. HAHAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahah. Ayoko den kaya ng math. Hahah nagrurumble utak ko. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate math hindi ko maintindinan formula kahit anong turo haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same sis. Hahah. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love maths since my childhood days... And I ended up being a Maths Teacher 😎

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow. Congrats teacher. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey I like algebra subject in college.. 😁 i was enjoying answering complicated equations 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. Sana all nag eenjoy po.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago