A November to Remember

0 27
Avatar for Captainrex5
2 years ago
Topics: Story

It's been almost a year since I posted an article here on read.cash, but in that time, I've not stopped writing. Today, I decided to tell you a little story of my life.

We all have that memorable day in our lives that we can't forget, right? Yes! Mine was a day I achieved something huge in my life. Read on to find out what it was.

It was a beautiful Saturday morning, I still remember this day like it was yesterday. It was the 9th day of November, 2019, I was 17 years old then. I woke up around 6:00am to the morning's light with mixed feelings of anxiety and nervousness. I was worried and nervous because I was going to co-host a very large event which attracts over 2,000 people comprising of: students, teachers, government officials from all across Lagos State. On the bright side, I was happy because I was going to attend one of the largest Teenage Fair in Lagos, Nigeria (Teenage Festival of Life.)

A night before the event, I was thinking hard about the day, about how it was going to be. I had so many doubts on my capability to give my all. Even though I had undergone rigorous 3-week training on how to pilot the event, I still had alot of "what if's" hovering in my head: What if I mixed up my line and say something hiddeous and then the audience starts to laugh at me, what if I'm not good enough for this, what if I fall on stage? These are some of the questions that were bothering me that I couldn't even sleep well that night.

Back to where I was, in the morning of the D-Day, I had my bathe, brushed my teeth, had my breakfast and dressed-up in my customised outfit specially made for the Co-host of the event. I started my journey with my siblings to the University of Lagos' Main Auditorium, Akoka, Lagos at about 7:30am. Though the venue of the event was not very far from our home, we took a commercial vehicle to the University's front gate anyway and completed our journey to the Auditorium on foot. It took almost quarter of an hour to get to the main venue from our house.

When I arrived backstage, I became unsettled when my senior at work said that my shirt was too small, I even became even more unsettled when I discovered that most of my practised scripts have been altered slightly at die minutes, then my heart began to race, I could almost hear it loud in my ears, I wondered if others too could hear it.

Ok, let me skip to the main part... I stepped up stage and I could hear the cheerful noise of the Audience waiting for me to give them a heartwarming opening speech. I couldn't see their faces because everywhere was dark, the only place that was lit, was the stage and I was the centre of the light which blinded my eyes. 'At least I wasn't going to be talking to a large crowd... Just me' I thought. So I started: "A wonderful morning to you, Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls and distinguished guests, it's a great privilege to welcome you to the 26th edition of Annual Teenage Festival of Life. Let me hear you make some noise!" I was satisfied with the responses I got from the audience.

After the introduction, I introduced each act to come present the act they've been training to showcase for the 3 weeks of grooming. It got to the time where I was to introduce the mastermind behind the awesome acts that day, E choke! I lost my gait and minced up my words, when I realised this, my heart skipped a beat. The Host had to cover up my mess in the unawares of the audience. Going backstage, I didn't allow that to stop me from completing my mission of accomplishing something big. I went backstage and came out waxed stronger. That day was a day of humiliation for me and also a day when I achieved one of the greatest things in my life_ to speak to a large crowd and honestly, I enjoyed each and every performance presented that day. I even got to see famous personality in the Music Industry live {Sound Sultan.}

The event came to an end at around 4:00pm and I went home feeling relieved and happy with a new experience. This is a day that remains evergreen in my memory and I shall cherish as long as I live.

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Captainrex5
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Captainrex5
2 years ago
Topics: Story

Comments