Adoption Under the Radar

4 524
Avatar for CapitalFlight
4 years ago

There are probably tons of restaurants near you that accept bitcoin cash and you just don't know it.

I saw this post on Member and wondered how Austin had so many btc/bch accepting merchants. I noticed a bunch of them use a service called Menufy which allows the merchant the option to accept btc/bch payments via Bitpay. Then I realized that there are actually a ton of bch accepting merchants near me too! I would assume it's only for online orders, but still pretty cool.

I'd recommend going to the menufy site with the 2 letter abbreviation of your state (example: menufy.com/CA for California) and checking out what restaurants near you accept it. Just choose a restaurant near you and click the vertical ellipsis to reveal whether they have the bitcoin icon like this:

I had always assumed there were no bitcoin accepting merchants near me since https://map.bitcoin.com never shows anything, but it looks like that page could potentially be updated to include hundreds of new merchants across the country!

1/4/2020 Update:

Thanks to @FreeTrade you can now find these 6000+ restaurants on the Member map here

4
$ 2.41
$ 1.00 from @Read.Cash
$ 1.00 from @BitcoinOutLoud
$ 0.10 from @majamalu
+ 5
Avatar for CapitalFlight
4 years ago

Comments

Use the Where2cash app. It lists the places that use Menufy.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

That does look a lot better, but it's definitely still missing a bunch. It still shows no restaurants in my area for example.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

wow

$ 0.00
4 years ago