What many BCH supporters don't understand

18 488
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Friday, October 2nd, 2020

I‘m afraid too many in the Bitcoin Cash community believe in something that is simply not true. I don't blame them, because I used to believe this as well, this notion that BCH is already positioned to become world money and replace state backed fiat when needed.

If someone as knowledgeable about this space as @ColinTalksCrypto thinks the above, then it's likely that many others feel the same way. Well, let me tell you right now that it's just not the reality of the situation.

If you don't use BCH as often as I do, I can see how you might think it works great already, and that we can wait on further technical developments. You might think all we need now is more adoption and network effects to take over the world, and that Amaury and ABC are just a bunch of whiners who only want more money to line their own pockets. (The fact that they just used some money to hire away one of Roger's best developers speaks otherwise.)

Like many of you, I used to believe all we needed was more users. As a user myself, I thought BCH was fantastic. As a regular player on blockchain.poker, I am always amazed by the speed of my deposits and withdrawals and the amount of control I have versus using a credit or debit card. As a result, what I felt was most important was to get others to experience it and see what I saw. But now I realize I only felt this way because I wasn't looking at the full picture.

The above chart represents what's known as the Dunning-Kruger effect. Simply put, it shows how people overestimate their knowledge in a specific area because of a lack of self-awareness.

Unfortunately, BCH seems to be full of people who all think they know best. Whether it's the color of the logo, or the length of the block times or upgrade cycles, or the proper way to fund infrastructure. But in reality, BCH only has a handful of real experts, and if we're going to achieve our mission to make BCH into world money, we must rely on and support our best people to help get us there.

Don't get me wrong, by no means am I saying I'm one of those experts. But as someone who has used BCH extensively for the past three years, I'm confident that I have a much better understanding of its current limitations than most.

For example, I've now run into the 50 chained transaction limit many times. As a result I've been unable to use my BCH on several occasions until the next block confirmation because I was sent a transaction that had too many parent transactions.

I've also had my wallet reject transactions saying they're too large and the only way I got around it was by using my desktop wallet to select specific UTXOs to send until I got the transaction size small enough. I've also had issues where my 12 word seed phrase didn't pull up your addresses because the wallet was using the wrong derivation path! If you don't believe me, try taking your read.cash seed and importing it with the bitcoin.com wallet and see what happens.

Imagine standing in line at a coffee shop and trying to pay and getting a message that says you have to wait for a confirmation due to the chained transaction limit. Or losing your wallet one day and pulling out your 12 word seed phrase and having it not work because of an error you weren't even aware of? People will have heart attacks thinking their life savings vanished into thin air.

These kinds of issues can all lead to bad user experiences that turn new users away in the same manner that new BTC users could be turned off when faced with high fees and slow confirmations.

BCH supporters need to wake up and realize that as great as BCH might seem today, it's far from being ready to act as a credible alternative to state backed fiat money.

We don't want Bitcoin Cash to be a technology that's merely adequate. If we want people to make the switch from state backed fiat to Bitcoin Cash, we need to impress them with something that's far superior to what they use now.

This is why it's so important we fund infrastructure today to get these things sorted out in time for the coming economic collapse. A year ago I wasn't as concerned about how much time we had left, but seeing the astronomical amounts of money that have been printed by governments around the world in 2020, who knows how much time we have before we're forced to seek out a better money solution.

This is also why it's important we spread adoption as quickly as possible. We need to seed local economies with BCH merchants who can become future experts that can teach newcomers and answer their questions. I would have been at a loss if not for the help of such an expert that walked me through how to select specific UTXOs and how to force set the derivation path on my electron cash desktop wallet.

Infrastructure isn't sexy. It's not the stuff that makes headlines and rewards the person doing the work with status in the community, but it's absolutely vital. Without the proper infrastructure, the killer app of BCH as money is dead on arrival. Smart-contracts and tokens are interesting, but they must take a back seat to the primary objective to make BCH useful as cash.

This is why we need to have a united front and support the team with the most expertise. While BCHN and crew want to slow down the 6-month upgrade cycle, ABC is looking to speed up development. While the anti-ABC people are busy debating what should be worked on next, ABC is focused on completing their roadmap to fulfill the BCH mission of becoming peer to peer electronic cash.

23
$ 8.44
$ 2.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @DavidRAllen
$ 1.00 from @PiRK
+ 7
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

passionate in life speculating in bitcoin cash investment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

passionate in life speculating in bitcoin cash investment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with many points you made. I also still encounter issues with BCH services and really hope user experience will improve asap.

I did not think many people think BCH doesn't need much work, even the people who does not support IFP, though. I certainly do not think more adoption and network effects are the only things needed for mass adoption, but I do think we should work on these things together and we can contribute in whatever we are each good at.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I’m curious why your are against the IFP?(assuming that is your position)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hi its joey crack.

well nice article not read all but the point about seed phrase is interesting, recently the bitcoin.com desktop wallet was not working and after contacting support on bitcoin.com they claim it is no longer supported. now this may sound tinfoil hat but imagine on the 15th november, the bitcoin.com wallet no longer supports BCH an results in the funds being lost to the user but held on a private server powered and held by bitcoin.com.

my thoughts should worry anyone using the bitcoin.com wallet, my advice would be to download the latest ABC software and it and store funds on this platform as you control the funds.

The bitcoin.com team are perhaps nice but this is all a show to suppress bch from being better than btc, as the snake roger is working with a government 3letter agency. And his back against the wall will promote useless idiots to do as he says.

No surprise the software developer left his organization. Ver also stated in recent interview with crypt0 this week that asked Amaury for a price to leave the project the answer being $200million. So this simple action of even asking "What Price" shows he is trying to throw money at the problem an buy others out. I am very proud of Amaury and company as they stand there ground and will be in till the end.

So you are in good hands with the ABC team .

Please remove the bitcoin.com wallet and trust the abc node software wallet as ver will play every trick in the book come november.

100% TOTAL WIPE OUT for any opposition that stands in the way of ABC.

The miners are all affiliates and no chance the American Roger Ver getting in the way. He is disloyal and not to be trusted. This has been seen countless times in recent months these actions should not go away.

End goal $2million per BCH in coming years.

$ 0.25
3 years ago

You sound like a troll trying to make ABC supporters look bad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you have your seed from the bitcoin.com wallet, you are always on the safe side. Even if the wallet doesn't work, you can still import your seed in election cash. You only have to adjust your derivation path.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

WOW, great post!

Even if the fiat economy does not fail soon, I think we may have a limited window of opportunity to make the dream of Bitcoin into reality. Also, without the ability to provide massive worldwide scaling we should not even try to have that happen. We need to develop scaling and the things you mention ASAP.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My thoughts exactly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

AVAX fixed all of these problems brother. Bitcoin Cash is just old tech. Come to Avalanche.

(Dont tip me i dont want any)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Avalanche sounds like interesting tech, but I still think a proof of work component is necessary to keep the system in check. It's why I'm looking forward to seeing avalanche on BCH.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A lot of people do. But in terms of utility and peer to peer cash, AVAX takes the cake. Nothing is faster, more robust, more feature rich, or more scalable.

Say, why not just tokenize Bitcoin Cash on Avalanche noncustodially? Youd get all the benefits of Avalanche, but your coins are still distributed via POW.

Avalanche is ready for you guys ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The ABC team has damaged the BCH project far more than the stated problems. The 8% forced cut breaks the economic properties of bitcoin, the futures market is signaling that the users prefer a coin without ABC.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Markets can be wrong for a long time. I will write another article about why I think the 8% IFP rule is a good thing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not funding abc through ifp doesn't mean there won't be infrastructure development

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope the voluntary approach that has been failing works better for BCHN.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

got no bch handy to tip right now, but feel tipped!

$ 1.00
3 years ago

try taking your read.cash seed and importing it with the bitcoin.com wallet and see what happens

Here you can see what happens

https://read.cash/@Telesfor/how-to-integrate-readcash-wallet-into-bitcoincom-wallet-80747c24

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is that still what happens? Try generating a new seed on read.cash and importing. I get an error.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have just tried it and do not get an error message. I am using Android Bitcoin.com version 6.8.5

Maybe you do not have a current version?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow interesting article . This article is very informative article . Thank you so much for sharing this

$ 0.00
3 years ago