Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago

Last night I tweeted that I was looking to start a regular column here on read.cash. I offered up .25 BCH for a logo I could use (.3 if I really liked it). A few people have already reached out, but I'm afraid my request was too vague, so I thought I'd try and clarify what I'm looking for.

First of all, logo was probably not the right word. What I'm envisioning is more like a masthead fused with a background image that is both colorful and recognizable. What comes to mind is something with the feel of the opening credits to HBO's Silicon Valley, or Japanese animation. Basically, less generic and more eye catching. I know that might be a bit ambitious for .25 BCH, so if it means offering up more, I'm willing to do that if I don't get any suitable submissions. FYI, I plan on using the date as my only title, so it would look something like what you see above except with a background image and "THE BITCOIN CASH CHRONICLES" written in whatever manner you choose across the top. I suggest layering in the words since it might have to be moved around depending on how the image shows up on read.cash.

With that out of the way, the next question is what is this column going to be about? To be honest, I don't exactly know. Bitcoin Cash, obviously, but since I don't have a technical background, that won't really be my focus. I'm thinking it'll be whatever I feel like writing about, so long as it's at least tangentially related to BCH. The goal is to get more non-technical folks like myself interested in learning more about the project.

Now some of you may be asking, who do I think I am to be writing a regular column about Bitcoin Cash? The answer is I don't think I'm anyone, I just like to write, and Bitcoin Cash is permissionless, so I can do whatever I want.

But in case anyone cares, here are some links to demonstrate my potentially unhealthy obsession with peer-to-peer electronic cash:

You can read about my Bitcoin Cash journey here if you haven't already.

I recently won first place and 1 BCH in the Mythbusting article writing contest so I do have some basic knowledge.

And just to pat myself on the back, a couple of weeks ago I also took first place in the 1 BCH guaranteed r/poker tournament sponsored by Sideshift.ai and hosted on blockchain.poker.

Let me finish by saying that in one of my earlier articles I wrote how I want to prove you can make money writing for read.cash. Last night I thought about how best to continue with this effort. I considered asking people what I should write about. They provide the demand, I'll produce the supply, a sort of freelance BCH writer for hire. But I didn't like that idea so this is what I came up with instead. Now let's see if there's a market for it. If not, I'll just try something else. That's what's beautiful about combining the internet with Bitcoin Cash. It makes it virtually frictionless to try something like this.

Thanks to everyone for reading, and please leave me a comment with your thoughts on any topics I should write about, any constructive criticism you want to share, or whatever else you feel like. If you want to submit a masthead, or have an idea but need a bigger incentive, feel free to get in touch.

Looking forward to seeing where this goes.

0
$ 0.50
$ 0.25 from @nyusternie
$ 0.10 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.10 from @unitedstatian
+ 1
Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

good luck! i enjoy reading your articles

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks! I enjoy writing them. I enjoyed reading about your journey as well.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

submission deadline??

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Basically open until I find one I like enough to use.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

ok

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Sweet! How's this?

https://imgur.com/a/80Qt97o

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Not quite what I'm looking for. As described above, I want something colorful that stands out. Think animation.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Alrighty, thank you for the feedback.

$ 0.25
4 years ago

Hello, it's a pleasure. I'm a graphic designer from Venezuela.

I love branding and I like the idea you have so I decided to create a simple but distinctive and versatile logo that will allow you to use "The Bitcoin Cash Chronicles" as a brand in the present and future as I think it's a great name for a project.

What you'll see below are the main logo and its applications on light and dark backgrounds as well as in an accent color that can be the one I used or any other color you have in mind. There is also a shortened version of the logo that can be used to list categories or sub projects. Creativity sets the limit.

You can also see samples of how the logo would look applied in different places to give you a perspective that is close to reality.

https://imgur.com/a/Gx6eyvh

If you like it, tell me and we can outline the details and changes you consider appropriate. I hope I'm not too late.

René Arturo

$ 0.00
User's avatar ra
4 years ago

It's a nice design but as I described in my article, I'm looking for something really colorful like a cartoon with background images and not just words. Hope that explains it better.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Oh, I understand. You need an illustration and not a logo in that case. Anyway,It was fun to do one choice from a branding point of view. I would love to help you but illustration is not my specialty :(

Good luck!

$ 0.00
User's avatar ra
4 years ago

Sorry for any misunderstanding. Thanks!

$ 0.00
4 years ago