The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Bitcoin Cash: Part 2 (the community)

1 197
Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago

In Part 1, we learned how to make a transaction using a Bitcoin Cash wallet, as well as how to back up and restore your private keys using a 12 word seed phrase. In Part 2, I want to do something a little different.

In the middle of last year, I tried to take myself outside of the BCH echo chamber and investigate what other cryptocurrency communities were like. What I found was this is not something that's easy to do. I joined a few subreddits and telegram channels, but neither really offered me what I was looking for.

This is when I realized that Twitter is the gateway drug to everything else. Tweets are easy to digest, Twitter conversations are easy to follow, and it's a great way to get your news and interact with other people.

But other than the usual BTC maximalists, or people like Vitalik Buterin or Charlie Lee, it's not easy to know who to follow in a coin's community for the best experience.

I suppose you could argue this is because none of these other coins really have a community to speak of, but I don't want to speculate as I've never been a part of any of them.

What I do know is that the Bitcoin Cash community is alive and well. It is full of all kinds of people from literally every part of the globe. Young and old, male and female, geeks and jocks. I wholeheartedly believe that this community offers something for everyone, and at the same time, it feels as if everyone in it has something to offer to the community.

In one of my past articles, I mentioned Galt's Gulch. The reason I compare the BCH community to this fictional town in Ayn Rand's "Atlas Shrugged" is due to all the parallels between them. Galt's Gulch was a town formed by industrialists who got fed up with having the efforts of their labor be wasted by the moochers of society. In the novel, Rand refers to them as the strikers, and the looters.

It's funny because the people who created Galt's Gulch are exactly like those who created Bitcoin Cash. The people behind Bitcoin Cash struck out on their own, refusing to give up on the promise of Satoshi Nakamoto's vision. And now those of us who consider ourselves a part of this community hold the same beliefs and that same vision. Mainly, we are people who realize that it's not just about sitting on your ass and repeating the same word over and over again but actually producing something.

So without further ado, here's a list of Twitter accounts that you may want to follow. These are in no particular order, and by no means is this list comprehensive, but I think it's a good place to start.

This is mostly off the top of my head so if I miss anyone, feel free to add them in the comments: @vinarmani, @deadalnix, @im_uname, @coinspice, @btcfork, @tobiasruck, @cryptopanda15, @collinenstad, @YokooAkane, @jajaaSB, @bitcoininfo, @imkeshav, @pokkst, @marklundeberg, @antonyzegers, @dobe4ever, @justin_bons, @m4ktub2, @haydenotto_, @big_blockers, @acidsploit, @Echt_Kain_niaK, @freetrade, @eatBCH_SS, @eatBCH_VE, @eatBCH, @ColinAd33006332, @zquestz, @BCHmeetups, @JihanWu

Remember, the Bitcoin Cash community is whatever you want it to be. You don't have to join Twitter, or Discord, or Telegram, or Reddit, or even Read.cash. But if you do, I believe there's a good chance you'll get something out of it.

So check out the r/btc subreddit.

Join the BCA discord: https://discord.gg/zMdfMB

And here's even a few BCH telegram channels if you're interested:

https://t.me/bchgang - (drama)

https://t.me/bchchannel - (chill)

https://t.me/BitcoinCashUpdates - (news)

That's pretty much it.

And if all you want to do is lurk in the background and use the community as your source for the most up-to-date news on BCH projects and developments, or just for crypto-related entertainment, that's fine too.

But if you're interested in development, and the more technical side of things, or in merchant adoption, or going to meet-ups and meeting people in your area, these opportunities are available as well.

Or you can just be a keyboard warrior like me.

So if you're curious about Bitcoin Cash, first do what I said in Part 1, and then check out the community that seeks to use peer to peer electronic cash to change how the world works.

Thanks for reading.

3
$ 3.01
$ 1.00 from @Read.Cash
$ 1.00 from @unitedstatian
$ 0.50 from @cryptopanda15
+ 2
Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Impressive! It is full of valuable and useful information regarding knowing BCH communities that can add value to someone's experience. Kudos to you for the job well done!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

development, and the more technical side of things, or in merchant adoption, or going to meet-ups and meeting people in your area, these opportunities are available as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago