Being alone is not lonely

4 26
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

One day, I went out to eat by myself. I asked permission from my mother first. She asked who I will be eating with. I said I would not be anyone and I will be alone. She immediately became doubtful and asked me who eats alone by herself. I did not like that she thinks I need to be with someone every time. She did not believe that I will be alone because she thinks it is not normal to go out by yourself.

Many people think like that. They think being alone is lonely. They think that we always need company to enjoy our time. But it is high time we stop that kind of mentality. Times change and so we should too. There are perceptions that we derived from the norms of our society that we must change if we learn more.

Being alone is not wrong just because it is unusual. Enjoying time by ourselves does not imply loneliness on life. It is a choice because that is what we want to do. People think negatively of being alone because they were conditioned to think like that. But just because a person seating alone in a table is not the typical sight to us, it does not mean it is not normal and it is questionable. It is not a subject of criticism and suspicion. Hold your thoughts and think of a better, positive reason behind such sight.

Being by yourself is actually comfortable. With a cup of coffee and a good book, sitting alone in a coffee shop is not sad but peaceful. We all need a little time of silence. We need a moment to get away from conversations that drain our energy. We crave for a space where the only noise we hear are our random thoughts. It is comforting to be by yourself without needing other’s company. You can be free of the pressure and worry of dealing with other people. We need to give ourselves the time we give to other people too.

It is one way to care for yourself. Yes, not having anyone to care for you at the moment does not mean you’re being neglected. You have yourself to care for your own being. Sometimes, we need our own kindness too. We are always selfless and it won’t hurt to look after yourself only. Shop by yourself in malls. Look for books you wish to read alone. Watch movies in cinema without sharing your popcorn to anyone. Your time alone is a time for you to give yourself the love you always gave to others.

We can be happy alone. It is nice to have friends and family by your side. But, we should not be too dependent and reliant on other people for us to feel happy. At times when the people who are always around us is not available, we can be comfortable by our own selves. The capability of being happy alone is one of the things I am proud of. The independence I feel when I'm by myself proves how much I got better in loving myself.

So, do not pity the people you see eating out by themselves. Be amazed how much they mustered the courage to do such even when people may think bad of them. If we cannot think positively of their situation, maybe it is better not to care because we do not really know everyone's story. But, I encourage you to learn every time you see a sight of a person enjoying her food alone in a restaurant.

We must make time for ourselves too. We should learn to set aside a little time. That little time maybe the only moment for us to show that we are living our life for ourselves and not just for other people.

4
$ 2.97
$ 2.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ewyr
$ 0.07 from @Haru
+ 2
Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Masaya naman kapag may kasama. Nakakaenjoy pero iba yung enjoyment kapag solo. Nagagawa mo gusto mo. 😁❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Iba pa rin talaga pag mag-isa. Minsan malungkot pero minsan rin masaya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoy most of my time alone Nothing is bad there

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. Thanks sis 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago