The Intangible Treasure

1 42
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

The streets are silent witness to all human activity be it constructive or destructive to both living beings and nature. How a street got its name is a matter of history. Every street name, road or highway has a significant part of a certain place. You cannot find a place on the map without knowing the route and its street names. Thus we will not be lost going back to a certain location if we know the road names.

Speaking of lost, the streets are all witness to whatever being lost. Someone lost his wallet or Smartphone phone on the street.  A child or a pet was lost, even life and virginity could possibly be lost in the street.

On the contrary there are a lot of things that can be found on the street. As treasure hunters speak, if something was lost it can be found. The streets are not only like lost and found establishments. It can also educate people. Often gossip and news are common to be present on the street. Most kids who grow up and live on the street are molded with a tough and arrogant attitude. That is what they learn upon living in the busy and dangerous streets of every city.

I was about to write something that pertains to treasure. But as my fingers started to press the keys on the keyboard, it started to key in about the streets so I will just try to integrate the connection of the street to treasure.

There was a photo circulating on the internet about a flyer pasted on a street post. It’s kind of odd because you know we see common flyers pasted on street posts advertising products, services or asking to report a missing person or a pet. I can’t recall exactly the words written the in flyer but it goes something this:

unsplash.com/@camylla93

 “Whoever went to my house and robbed my things the other day, you can have the DSLR and other valuable stuff. But there is an SD card in my camera that has photos of my dog. He just died the other day and those photos are very important to me. Those are the only memories I have with my dog. Please send the SD card to the address below.”

That is not the exact words on the flyer as I can no longer find the post on the internet. I wish I could share the photo here.

But anyway, such a post was remarkable. I mean the person has been robbed of his valuable things but it doesn’t matter to him. What matters most is that the memories he has while his dog was alive is more important to him than any of his stuff. Memories are treasures and they are priceless.

Sometimes we tend to value a thing even if it is less valuable for the reason that there are memories attached to it as part of our life.

 For example the old photos we have been keeping in the shoe box when we were kids. We have a lot of memories to treasure. That is why I have been taking care of those photos for a long time. And of course the street is always there watching us. The street that kept all the mysteries, crimes and progression that is silent all the time.

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

True, there was a time when I used to collect cigarette foil to make something else like rapping or just for fun. Treasure is what we call it. hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago