MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.1 "Shoe-Gaze Sapphires"

0 62
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

What the fluff are midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

Midnight Gems will be a series that will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed, or might have been forgotten.

Uncovering those hidden gems discovered during those magical midnight's when you drop into an endless Youtube tunnel. Or clean out your closet and remove years of dust from those discs you totally forgot about.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having a uncompleted study of radio journalism I have been wanting to do this for years....Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

So let´s start with this hidden pearl and see where it takes us.

1. Münchhausen - Fragile Heart

This song fell into my lap when I stumbled on this darkish piano version of Joy Divisions biggest hit and wanted to know more about this channel.

2. Hänsel - Love Will Tear Us Apart(Piano Cover)

Why nobody has picked up this little pearl from Münchhausen I can´t explain? It has this beautiful dark vibe, a semi retro sound and the gorgeous video. It made me think of the cure, the editors and Deine Lakeien.

3. Deine Lakeien - The Game

Deinen Lakeien with The Game is another underrated beauty. It has this Nick Cave feeling and both Cave and Lakaien have a song called Into my Arms. But that is not Caves hidden gem, at least not for me....because that honor would go to....

4. Nick Cave - Brompton Oratory

A title that I never understood till today (The Brompton Oratory is a large neo-classical Roman Catholic church in the Knightsbridge area of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, London.)

But it was never about the title....it has always been about the simplicity that caries this song through my veins and that one sentence.....The smell of you still on my hand as I bring the cup up to my lips.

Isn´t that the cleanest referral to having had sex or am I reading too much into it?
And even though I stopped smoking years ago Nicks voice and that referral can only lead to....

5. Cigarettes After Sex - Affection

Which I was introduced to thanks to my British Ex-Girlfriend who I wanted to impress by exploring her musical niche. At that time it opened up a whole new scene, including this typical midnight gems song as it´s haunting and mesmerizing.

6. Daughter - Candles

And in this female-voiced Ethereal Indie niche, I can´t leave out

7. London Grammar - Nightcall

As you will find out going forward I have a cover Fetish. This is one of those covers that is equal to or surpasses the original, coming from the Drive Soundtrack.

8. Kavinsky - Nightcall

(My Ex at first thought that that Kavinsky covered London Grammar😎)

And on that note let me end like the movie does.

9. Electric Youth & College - A Real Hero

Youtube full playlist:

Now you can find the playlists I create also created on youtube

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLXQdG71WNB5WnS43yy3rn2e2fo-rPx3Vi

What the fluff are midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years....Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this slightly confronting wave of amazing music and you still feel like joining me on the next special edition trip as vol.2 of Midnight Gems is coming soon.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments