Reminiscing on a polygamous family

28 39
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Hello everyone.. Hope you all are still basking in the new year euphoria. Well, The public holiday in my country came to an end yesterday ( Monday), so right now, its about time we all get to work. You are I can't keep remaining at home and relaxing you know. The holidays are over now and normal life ha e returned. Time to go out to there and make some quick bucks as usual!

Meet my amazing and magnanimous sponsors.

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

Earlier in the morning, I was going through my Instagram when I saw some beautiful pictures of a famous artist in my country. He obviously was celebrating the new year with his family in another country. This engage had three children with three different women and have never been married. From the pics,it was quite evident that they were all happy and having a good time.

Well, I have seen alot of polygamous family around through out my life. Afterall, polygamy is quite a prominent part of the African culture. "men are polygamous in nature", some people would say.

Above all, I have noticed one thing, polygamy looks quite beautiful when the family is still young. But over the years, when the youngsters become adults and start to have divergent thinking and opinions about their step mothers, father, step siblings and the world in general, things might become quite ugly. A mother might whip up sentiments in the heart of her son or daughter by telling them stuffs that she think they should know about their father or the other woman and their step siblings. Needless to say, the realities about the other parties might be distorted or in worse cases, a mother might absolutely brainwash the child which will ultimately make him to see the others in bad light. In the long run, cold war and animosity would sometimes develop between step siblings.

I had an uncle who married three women and they gave him more than a dozen children . when I was much more younger, I always loved to spend my holidays at their place since most of the children were in thesame age bracket as me. The bond between my cousins from different mothers was so admirable. They would all play together, eat together from same plate, laugh together.

They helped each other in their school assignments and whenever any of the children was sick, the others would act as clowns just to make their step brother or sister happy. There was always division of labor and nobody ever complained of maltreatment or opression. Every child respected his step mother as if she was his own mother. No doubt , My uncle was very proud of his large family. During the yuletide season, his Household could be likened to fantasyland beaming with the happy faces of women and children. There's alot of music, food and drinks for everyone and every visitor.

I was so impressed by this display of love strength. As a matter of fact I considered myself lucky to have such amazing cousins, uncle and aunties. Whenever school finally resumes and it was time to go back to my father's house, I always feel reluctant and I would plead with mum to enroll me in the school that my cousins attend just so that I could be with them always. But that wouldn't be possible because their school was very far away from my father's house. I would always cry when it was time for me to go back home as I knew I would miss them so much. I might even become gloomy for days.

All these are the good side of a polygamous family, but are they really permanent?

Seven years ago, my uncle died from a protracted illness and his once holy, happy big family crumbled into awful fragments. In fact , when he was still on his sick bed, his wives had already started fighting, accusing one another of trying to kill their husband through diabolical means. They told each other awful things in the presence of their children. It was as if they had been bottling these emotions all this while and the opportunity of spilling them out had just presented itself.

A month after the funeral of the deceased, the fights and slandering became nastier as their children who were now fully fledged were recruited by their mothers into the war. Things deteriorated more after the father's will was read and the properties shared among the women and their children. Jealousy and hatred conquered a once ideal and beautiful family.

DISCLAIMER

I am in no way advocating against polygamy. I'm only talking from what I have seen in a polygamous family. I have also seen some polygamy where the children from various mothers remain good friends and peaceful long after their father's death. Once or twice , i have asked some of these children of "peaceful" polygamous family weather they would also love the idea of venturing into polygamy just like dad, but strangely enough, the answer is always a "NO"

*****************************

A very big thanks to my sponsors, upvoters, readers and commenters. I will always appreciate you all

Yours lovely,

Bilqees.

12
$ 3.30
$ 2.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 15
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

I respect people's belief, but in my case I don't want to enter about polygamy I can't handle it for sure, and it's against my will.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

sure dear.. I don't think I would be able to tolerate it too ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're not advocating against it, me I am advocating against it o ๐Ÿ˜‚ polygamy only favors the man and after he dies, the entire family crumbles because they will end up fighting for his property, that's what happens most of the time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't mind polygamy if I will be the first wife, so that when the man dies, me and my children go sit down on top every thing. Hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚ you don't know what is going on, you think the other wives and their children will allow it? I know of a family that the man died and the children have been in court for over 12 years fighting over his properties

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will definitely know what to do and how to handle every body. Trust me ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't think I have seen a happy polygamous family, and I will preach against it. It is because our patriarchal society has given men liberty to be polygamous but not women, that is why people tend to say "men are polygamous by nature".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One man and one wife is more ideal and balanced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would still prefer having a large family with different parent than being in a polygamous family except if it takes Godยดs intervention to put love in their hearts. Polygamous family is always a chaotic one oo ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If at all i wnd up in a polygamy,I d prefer to be the first wife o๐Ÿ˜ƒ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe! I want to be the first, second and last wife of my husband ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, there are not very much high success rate of polygamy. Jealousy is always its bane

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only 1 out of 1000 polygamous families is filled with peace, joy, love and Harmony or understanding

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea. Jealousy is always the root cause

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Polygamous is one type of family I never pray to have

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everything had two sides dear. Good face and bad face. You witnessed both.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea.. But I think it's disdvantage outweighs the good part

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You explained it well. 98% of the ones I've seen went through these stages you mentioned. Lovely at the tender age but 10years after, a hot beef steps in and everywhere becomes tough.

Just like my large extended family currently, when I got home I noticed too many seniority issues(dragging respect up and down) has stepped in. And I no get that strength ๐Ÿคฆ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Its always better to let sleeping dogs lie fa. By the way, you no have time for bad energy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really depends on the person on how they view polygamous family. For me there is nothing wrong with it as long as the children are provided with their needs. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. But to be on a safer side, I think one man, one wife is ideal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in our country its not allowed but as I read your article its somewhat good and happy to have a polygamous family but after death I dont like anymore

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sadly that's mostly how it ends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well what you wrote there is no sentiment in there, I have seen several house with such occurrence. Although, I'm from a polygamous family and house is peaceful as ever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's very beautiful sir, believe I am really happy to hear this. โ˜บ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I pray it remain like that forever. Glad you are happy . Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of a book I read that says monogamy is fraud. And with the look of things, I think the book was right. Men are not just satisfied with one woman and this has always been. Maybe few are though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Generally speaking... Humans are insatiable, there would always be something we think is more prettier, more desirable or better than what we already have..

$ 0.00
2 years ago