Neighbors turned the other way around

34 49
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Recently, I visited the home of one of my coursemates. We sat in her elder sister's retail shop as we discussed about school and other topics. Her sister's shop was located on the ground floor of the three-story building in which they lived. It also contained three other flats that were all occupied by other families.

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

As we were talking, she pointed at a middle-aged woman that had just passed the shop. According to her, this woman hardly patronizes her their shop even though they had been neighbors for almost two years. She prefers to go buy similar stuff elsewhere across the road.

Image source

This was not the first time I had heard of a case like this and I don't know why it happens this way.

Sometimes last year, a member of my extended family who is a hair stylist complained how some guys whom he was very friendly with prefer having an haircut at some other barbershop. And these are the same guys that would always run to his salon to boost the battery of their mobile phones whenever there's a prolonged power failure.

Image source

I wondered whether these were cases of "familiarity breeding contempt" or could it be a case of jealousy. I mean if my neighbor opens a business or starts offering a service, the least I could do is to support him. In fact it would be my utmost pleasure to patronise him because I would stand to achieve an optimum customer satisfactionion by virtue of the relationship between us.

Maybe this could be one of the reasons why some successful entrepreneurs never considered the idea of setting up a business in an area where they are well known by the people around. This is because of the fear that some people wouldn't be happy seeing you grow richer than them or make steady progress and they might start plotting ways to run down the business.

I might be wrong though, it's very possible that the neighbor already have a relative, friend, or old-time customer operating the same business. An old seller that has been providing them with the best customer experience long before her sister opened her own business. And I don't see anything wrong in that since everyone has their preferences and also the right to exercise their will. No one owes anyone anything you know.

By the way, it's quite understandable if one skip his neighbors shop and go buy elsewhere. You wouldn't have the free mind to haggle the price of a product as much as you would like since the person selling it is someone you know personally. But when buying at a stranger's shop, you have the liberty to haggle and beat the price down without feeling shy. And if the seller refuse to sell at the ridiculous price you are offering, you can always walk away. But the situation might be quite awkward if the person was someone as close as a neighbor and this could affect the relationship between the both of you afterwards.

It could also be that the problem was from her sister. Probably the young lady might not be that nice. It's possible that she's not the type that smiles often, maybe the introverted type. You see, business especially small scale retailing is very competitive. It's entails more than just stocking your store with assorted goods just so you could attract buyers. Having excellent communication skills and been cordial even to much younger buyers goes a long way in determining one's success in such a business.

Image source

I remember when I was younger, mom would insist I buy the milk and bread for breakfast from a particular shop even if there were two other shops that sold the same products and were closer to our house. Apart from the fact that she had the best attitude, I later found out that items from this particular lady's shop were cheaper than the two other shops whose owners always hike the prices of their goods unnecessarily.

I wouldn't care if my neighbor ignores my shop and decides to go patronize someone else. But if when they are broke and want to buy something on credit, they shouldn't dare come to my shop.

Thank you.

15
$ 3.41
$ 2.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 13
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

There are so many reasons for this. Familiarity.

Loyalty to the other person over you. (Maybe there were times they had no money and this person gave them credit. They can't forget it in a hurry.)

Sometimes, they don't trust the person to do the job better than the person they have been used to (the case of the barbing) and they want to avoid anything that can bring about confrontation.

Some people are just terrible with supporting friends πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£...that's another reason.

The truth is, I can't understand what goes on in other people's heads because it can really be annoying when you see your friends pass you over to other places. Maybe they aren't friends afterall but I would rather patronize my friends and give an honest feed back than go to a place I've always been going because I don't want to "change".

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true sir. It could really make one feel bad, but just as you have rightly put, you might not know the reason. So rather for one to be feeling entitled, one should focus on how to attract more customers that would be remain loyal

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly... It's sometimes better not to have family or friends come around sef before they will use familiarity to ruin the business as they would expect you never to say no to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This reminds me of the encounter I had in Imo state while serving. It was my landlord oo! He owns a shop at the entrance of our street and for sure I and my guys do patronize them well. But...I don't know what happened, he skyrocketed the price of the things we used to buy, maybe he heard they were gonna increase allawee. Omo! We changed it too, we were bypassing his store to patronize another shop. It was funny though because we would use a bagco bag to go and buy bag of pure water 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehehehe. LWTMB

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In the past I also find it weird why someone won't patronize a store that's nearby but will rather go someone else to buy something but then I realise there's a reason when I started doing the same. Back in hostel in school, we have a shop where we normally buy things across the street, then suddenly another person opened a shop very close to my house but I still go to the other store to buy things and that's because I am already used to going there and I feel more comfortable with something I am familiar with. To someone else they might feel I am being petty for not patronizing the woman close to my hostel, but it's because I am already a customer to the other woman across the street. So sometimes, they might be a good reason why a person will behave that way and it's not always about any ill intent

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Didn't the new guy say to you " you saw me here, very close to your house but you took my money to another person". They are fond of saying that πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She no get mind na πŸ˜† she can only say that to people she's familiar with. Me that keep to myself and always looking like someone that have been a cultist for years, she doesn't even bother to ask

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Normally for petty goods like that i patronize people i'm familiar with but when it comes to something expensive or something that requires perfection, i prefer to patronize outsiders. I've patronized friends countless times and they end up disappointing me. Since they are friends i can't hold them accountable and when i try to they take offence.

I prefer to deal with someone i can call into account for a bad Job.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. Sometimes it's quite difficult to draw a friend's attention to a bad item which you had bought from them. It might put a little strain on he friendship afterwards

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We shouldn't really mind whether friends patronize our business or not. That's their right and freedom of course. And while reading, I was suspecting that there might be differences in prices. Or just like you have mentioned above, that perhaps the woman has already someone whom she buys from.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think people have the right to buy what they want form where they please. The least we can do is ask them why. I know I've left certain shops close to my house and bought things from a farther place because those shops have poor customer service and they are always find of saying they did not beg anybody to patronize them so I left and found a better place I'm welcomed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As you've already outlined, there could be a ton of reasons for that, but if those reasons don't apply, then the neighbour is just wicked

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And jealous. Very common among female neighbors

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I dont really give a damn about where I'm buying my things from, like I don't really care, but i do put my friends first, sometimes when i want to buy something, and my mind is lock on a place, it that place I would go to, even if the shop next to my house sells that things.. The way our mind works sometimes varies. There is a woman shop I like buying this, very close to my house, she sells expired product and most time, she doesn't have change, so when I want to buy something, when I pass in front of her shop, its mostly invisible to me, your point are right too. I have 3 barbing salon friends, but I don't like going to their shop to get a serious haircut, one once remove my beards, it was painful, I still go their to barb, but when its a serious haircut for an occasion, I would go somewhere I can throw instruction as the hair is being cut

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe hehe.. Maybe what the both of you were discussing was so sweet that the guy forgot that he wasn't supposed to cut your beards πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was a bad day for me😫😫😫

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Both reasons are valid Bilqees. Although there is no doubt about it that we must support our relatives or neighbours when they start a business. But sometimes it’s really easy to bargain with those who are strangers to you, rather than bargaining with your neighbours or relatives because you feel shy in that case

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. It's quite an awkward situation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sellers must know how to handle customers in a nice way. Because in the first place, customers are equal to money. If they keep an attitude, their shop will be bankrupt.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true jiji. Cultivation of a good customer relationship is key to a successful business

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think one of the major reasons for these is what have outlined in paragraph 8. Business doesn't give space frowning and introvert attitude. Also being nice to customers and people in one's would definitely increase the probability of they becoming your customers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true dan. Any business personn who is very comely will definitely attract more people to their shop

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are different reasons this may happen. Personally, once I am used to buying something at a place, it is difficult for me to go somewhere else unless they don't have at my usual store. Customer service and prices too can be a factor as you've said.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why don't you buy garri in one shop, sugar in another shop and groundnut in the next shop so that God will bless you πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't like polygamy🌚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok, me sef don't like it. But it sure have a lot of advantages

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Polygamy? Or it's metaphorical meaning of having many customers?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anyone is fine πŸ˜ƒ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What are the advantages of polygamy? (Marriage)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. I saw this comment on my notification and I thought it was an article from the way u askedπŸ˜†... Lemme kuku write about it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No wahala, I look forward to reading...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na was for some people oh! Someone close to you sells commodities, a neighbour for that matter, and you don't patronize him/her, but when you're scarce of funds, you will now know the road that leads to his/her shop. That's bad. Shame on who does that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That'ss people for you .

$ 0.00
1 year ago