Online API documentation for Bitcoin Cash Node

0 14

Good news for Bitcoin Cash developers! Two sets of Bitcoin Cash Node API documentation are now published on the project website:

I wrote code to automatically generate these webpages from CLI/RPC help text embedded in the application. I also integrated this code into the release process of the software, so that the webpages will automatically stay up-to-date as new versions are released. The source for the webpages is also available as Markdown files in the Bitcoin Cash Node git repository - Dagur and merc1er set up the system that converts the Markdown files into a website.

The contents of the pages should be familiar, but now you can easily access them without diving into the command line, and enjoy nicer formatting. However, I also made a series of improvements to the contents. The most notable changes are:

  • I wrote a help text for the command-line options that were previously undocumented.

  • I made hidden aliases of command-line options visible in the help text.

  • I improved and extended the help text for various command-line options.

  • I changed the categories of various command-line options for consistency.

  • I made the reorg protection RPC commands visible in the RPC commands list.

  • I removed SegWit references from RPC help text.

No project funds have been used for this effort, but I hope (and am confident) you will enjoy the improved and online API documentation like myself. If you do, tips are appreciated (BigBlockIfTrue#54916; ☯). Happy developing and also enjoy the pending release of Bitcoin Cash Node v0.21.2!

2
$ 0.00

Comments

Very interesting post ! Hope to see something new soon from you ! See ya :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This kind of UX improvement for devs is great. Your initiative is awesome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for this information. It is detailed, technically arranged and educative. I look forward to reading more of it from you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can agree with you ! So when you decide to enter the crypto market just make sure you know exactly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wooow ! What a beautiful picture of colorful skies. Waiting for more articules from you !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope that there will be more such posts, nice to read and it seems to be honest what you write, best regards and wish you health

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Went through the sites and yes it's quite good and will be helpful to I think only developers or programmers, you guys are great, nice work, keep it up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago