Why is Big Bubbler like a Lone Canary Crying Wolf?

I feel like I am nearly alone and crying wolf about this community division attack currently demonizing Amaury and our primary developer team (ABC). I am sad to get little support, but I understand it is hard to stand up to the massive wave of posts attacking our team. It kinda reminds me of the time when it was dangerous for a business to support BCH as they would be attacked by the anti-BCH army.

I am not a big fan of ABC's actions lately, but, I do value the work I believe they are doing. I have been calling for the anti-ABC team to provide a plan for what they would replace ABC with. Who will agree to do the work and make the decisions on what goes into updates? I just get crickets and claims that ABC does little or nothing.

Some like to claim I am the troll and it is me that is attacking BCH. I certainly do not want to harm BCH, so I have put a lot of thought into the possibility it is me that has been fooled for months about what side I am on. Then I realized if I was working for the dishonest anti-BCH team (knowingly or not) I would have many random new to r/BTC accounts backing me up and pretending they were the BCH community by my side. They would be pushing to save ABC from the mob. Doesn't it seem odd most of the trolls seemed to have disappeared or changed sides?

Wake up people we are still under attack! Wolf, Wolf, Wolf!

2
$ 0.21
User's avatar
@Big-Bubbler posted 3 years ago

Comments

Sending hug.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Thanks! I hear the 11 min block plan is set in stone according to Zak (IMO a professional troll, who claims to know the latest info). We do need to fix the oscillations. I prefer 10 min blocks for user-friendliness, but, since we need to make them 0-conf most of the time anyway, I am not sure how important 10 vs 11 is. I am just not aware of a really good reason for 11 min blocks. ***Bottom line: I would like the miners to get paid more often (every 10 mins) and donate to developers (maybe a better IFP someday when we will also prefer 10 min payments) rather than be pissed off at developers for 11 min blocks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm befuddled by the situation so much I can't comment.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

I'm of the opinion if we have a Git based system with a lead maintainer, then a human is making the decision and someone will eventually have to make popular/unpopular decisions.

Either we do it that way or somehow have a formal vote based system. But solely having an informal "community based" measuring system doesn't really work. At end of the day, someone will have to weigh all the opinions and make a decision.

If we have a system like that, we'll need an Amaury, a Satoshi, a Gavin, a Greg to make the final decision.

Perhaps it isn't a working governance system in which case something else would need to be explored. But for now it seems to be the thing we have.

I remember when CTOR was the devil as well. I mean 11 min blocks to get us on a predictable distribution path seems would only make BCH more valuable since less is being produced each year. Plus if we can get some more instant confirmation method like Avalanche or Storm, then that would be even better yet.

Then again what do I know. I'm just an "average BCH user" so I don't have enough technical knowledge to say if changing to 11 min blocks would be the death of BCH smart contracts. Then again I can't really understand how a smart contract could function right now as the blocks oscillate in timing so much with the current difficulty algorithm.

$ 0.50
3 years ago

Ya, governance is tough to figure out as most voting systems can be bought by the deep pockets of the anti-BCH (Bitcoin) forces. Maybe a committee of elders? I think Core has that and it can be captured as well, but maybe we could be more careful about who we select. I agree we have an imperfect situation that is not as decentralized as I would like. I call on those who would tear it down to propose a better solution before they do so.

We do need to fix the oscillations. I prefer 10 min blocks for user-friendliness, but, since we need to make them 0-conf most of the time anyway, I am not sure how important 10 vs 11 is. I am just not aware of a really good reason for 11 min blocks. Hey @georgedonnelly, I would like the miners to get paid more often (every 10 mins) and donate to developers (maybe a better IFP someday when we will also prefer 10 min payments) rather than be pissed off at developers for 11 min blocks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago