How do I find common ground with my mom and dad?

11 35

Many adults are in constant conflict with their aging parents. Or resentfully cut off communication. This is because we are not used to seeing our parents as independent individuals and expect clear-cut behavior from them (respect, recognition, praise). And they, in turn, do not want to accept the fact that we have grown up and are able to build their own lives. There is a vicious circle. Hence the many mutual complaints.

Where is the solution? And is there one in general? Parents at their age can not change. So what's left? Something to tweak in your head.

Someone's Facebook post:

I have a kid in second grade myself, and my mom tells me off like a schoolgirl 17 times a day. Yesterday she watched another parenting show and started lecturing me in front of my daughter. I do not bring up, I do not require and, in general, what do I know about life. How do I keep it together? How not to send her away for a long time?

A young, well-established woman, who has long since overcome her teenage "battles" with her parents, reacts to her mother's outbursts as if she were still 15 years old. Mom, in turn, complains to her neighbor: "Can you imagine, I do not sleep at night because of her, and she, ungrateful, can not talk to me on the phone!

Why is this so? Why do relationships with parents in adult children are the same? Let's find out.

Mom and dad for 30-40 years used to that you are in their lives. And in general - they gave birth to you, raised you, and finally "molded" out of you something good :). Do you notice? Parents treat an adult child as an object.

That is why the fact that you have a different opinion or decided to dispose of his life in a different way, causes rejection and resistance. It's like a houseplant suddenly saying, "I don't like the view out the window here, I'm going to the other window sill next door.

And vice versa - you, too, find it difficult to perceive your parents as separate entities. They've been around since birth. They fed you, clothed you, groomed you, wiped your nose, put up with teenage tantrums, etc.

After such an intense life together, the child (even if he is 34) perceives his mother as an object, that is, as an entourage to his own life. And he behaves in the same way. He tries to incorporate his parents into his understanding of the world and make them comfortable.

By the way, this is the sign of an infantile person who psychologically has hardly overcome the level of a teenager. It is inherent in his attitude toward the world, his attitude toward the people around him as objects of manipulation: "I'm going to press you now (with pity, hysteria, claims), somehow manipulate you, tell you something like this - and you will do as I want." Try to look at your parents as... communal flatmates :).

Neighbors don't have to be the way you want them to be, they have a right to have their own views on life. They are adults with the right to privacy and personal (different from you) opinions!

Do you want your parents to see you as an independent adult and not pry into your life with advice? Become an adult and start treating them as equals, and most importantly, get the phrase "Parents should" out of your vocabulary.

They have already given you the opportunity to become the person you are today. Don't demand anything more.

And you'll get the right to be you in return. Not to conform to their expectations, not to follow their advice and live the life YOU think is right.

Of course, this change in your mindset is not easy, and nothing will change in one day. But in six weeks, it will. Do you think it doesn't happen?

Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Image sources: diets.ru

I thank God for his help in writing this article, and you, dear readers, praise him if your reading has been helpful to you.

I want to know your opinion.

If you are interested in my content,then I invite you to read my other articles:

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/onion-and-garlic-jam-f71c50ef

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/forest-glade-themed-cake-b6adf80b

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/we-eat-to-live-not-live-to-eat-5fc88f83

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/choice-or-a-reaction

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/gravlax-or-they-are-not-rolls-fb460b64

14
$ 2.82
$ 2.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Yana8414
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 8
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

A parent shouting at a married daughter shouldn't be. Even if the daughter has done wrong, she needs to be corrected in love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said, my friend. But here in the Philippines, parents still want to control their kids even if they are big or married just like what sis Theblackdoll says. Just like what happened to me today, the mom-inlaw said, "What's that food? That doesn't have any nutrients at all!" while I was feeding my baby. I calmly answered, "I already fed her some broccoli". They always think I am not using my common sense. I hate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Common ground does not work in India at all... most of the parents take control of their kid's life even if their kid starts working or get married or even have kids.. they hate losing that control over their lives.. it sucks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a parents were there to support our childrens their ambitions in life but they need also to work hard to achieved their goals ni life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that in some cases we don't behave like mature adults and that's why they as parents continue to guide their children's lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, if you keep expecting parents to do something for you, they'll always see you as a child

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom gave me full independence. But I never misused it. Still I'm loyal and that's why she trusts me a lot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dear Belozoriana, I totally agree with you, if we prove to our parents that we grew up, if we lower our expectations of them, whatever happens, instead of supporting us, we will try to support them, all these views will disappear. And parents will realize that we are grown up, and we can even support them...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I quite agree with you on the subject matter. Most parents never stop seeing their kids, young or grown up as children. At a certain point in the adult child's life and that of the aging parent the child returns this favour, while all the while, the parent still see only a child trying to decide for him or her that's where the lack of common ground arises

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My grandmother in my part used to shout me, and i think i understand it, and it's because of myself gain in the future, so i am enough notified that when she's angry, she loves me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, my mom shouts at me many times but she never shouts at right thing they just want me to be a perfect girl, and to be honest, I Love my Parents anger

$ 0.00
2 years ago