Flour...from acorns

11 37
Avatar for Belozoriana
2 years ago

Good day to all and good mood my dear readers read.cash.

I would like to say that I write about cooking and cuisine, as well as everything related to it.

I continue to publish recipes, menus, and other stuff, that solve one problem: "how to make sure that at home there is always a healthy, delicious homemade food, and you spend a minimum of time, effort and money.

Hi all, I hope you're all well and in a good mood. Oh, this year 2021! It's been a very eventful year, and that's in spite of the wholeepidemic. But thanks to this wonderful read.cash platform, a lot has been made possible and I've been thinking about a lot of things thanks to it and friends.

My dears! I express enormous thank you very much for your comments. You are the best! My guests and readers are the most humorous, smartest, inquisitive and soulful people (this fact!)) Thank you for your comments, for wishes, for the beautiful pictures, for the greetings in the morning and "Bye" at night. I, of course - the ignoramus I'm a total ignoramus, I rarely reply... I apologize and I can't help it, but here's honestly I always repent sincerely. Only I do not have enough time for everything. I want to have time for everything, I want to have time to live, although I know that it is not right.

Thank you for your consideration, for your wonderful gesture of generosity. With great delight and sincere gratitude I want to say that I am very pleased that you have paid attention to my articles! I want to wish you health, constant creativity and genius of every thought in writing your content. Thank again and send my warmest regards.

We are different, scattered across the globe, in space on five continents, flickering lights on the internet, holding the whole world in our arms. To my friends far away and not so far away, I can't count you all by name...I'll say today, as if by the way..."πŸ’š Thank you, thank you for being there πŸ’š

I want to thank my friend @Ling01 for such a generous sponsorship. In today's eventful world, almost everyone is busy with just themselves. That's why it's nice to know that there are others like you, always ready to come and support you, putting your business aside. Thank you!!!!!

Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Today I want to offer you a recipe that is unusual even for me. Kai always found the information on the internet and decided to experiment. It is, strictly speaking, not really with acorns, it is with acorn meal. Just before the first snow, in October-November, acorns are collected (early, green acorns are harmful and even poisonous), and then, after many days of torture, get out of them flour (it is on sale, but the finished acorn meal can cost 5-10 times more expensive than regular flour). It is better to take ripe acorns for flour, in which the cap is easily removed. "When the acorn is ripe..."

And with it you can replace half of the nut flour or cereal in baking, add it to bread, use it as a substitute for nut flour in cookies and biscuits. I made a nut cake and chocolate oatmeal cookies with it, as well as bread and shortbread for a cake - everything turns out well, the taste may not change much, but the texture is excellent, inside soft, outside crispy. Truly, I have not tried meringue with acorn flour, so I'll guard against speculating on this subject.

So, what should I do with acorns? On the Internet the same thing, most often in the same words: soak for three days, pour boiling water, bring to a boil, turn off, drain the water and you can grind. Bullshit is your copypasta. Can you dissolve the tannins that give acorns their preternaturally bitter taste in cold water? Have you ever tried making tea with cold water? And if you've had that experience - why soak something that doesn't soak? I honestly kept the acorns for three days in cold water, changing it regularly - but no, if there was less bitterness, my receptors did not catch it.

Then I poured boiling water over the acorns and began to heat them, gazing intently into them as into the abyss. The abyss of acorns stared back at me, but was in no hurry to part with its bitter taste. Anyway, I gave up and started to boil those acorns. When the water became muddy, I poured it off, poured fresh water on it, and boiled it again. And so four times, each time for about two hours. The acorns tasted bland, a little rubbery, with a nutty undertone. I let them dry out overnight on a tray, and the next morning I ground them into crumbs.

Dry in the oven until dry, dry. You can first leave this mass to dry in the air for 24 hours, but I dry immediately in the oven at about 100-120 degrees. For 1 hour. In this form it's a grits that you can to make porridge...

The result was not like almond flour. First, the color is different, second, the taste, third, the texture, in general, everything is different. I had to sift and grind the remaining pieces larger than a millimeter in diameter, one more time. Probably, if I had a coffee grinder, everything would have worked out the first time, but this way the grind stretched for two steps.

Yes, of course, it was a hassle. But! In the first place - acorn flour and even coffee (nasty) are useful. Especially for diabetes. They lower sugar. I, however, have not yet figured out how much - still shoveling cake and cookies in connection with a birthday and "finished eating," and then still want to lower the sugar, I think it's already impudent. So far the flight is normal😁

In the second place, of course, a freebie is a freebie, and an experiment is an experiment. I love both. If I can avoid spending money on a new kind of flour, why not try making it?

Ah yes, cookies. You can bake any kind of cookie with this flour. Just replace half of the flour (or if using oatmeal, oatmeal) with acorn flour. That's the whole recipe.

My personal year is coming to an end, along with the calendar sheets for all the people of the world. As our President says, "It's been wasn't easy!"( ha ha he says that every yearπŸ˜‚) When you perceive life as a miracle, it constantly delights you with miracles! Big ones and small ones. You just have to catch them!!!

My dream as a writer: to write what I want, what is born of inspiration. For silence. For no one to touch. That alandscape outside the window. Eh... But there's noise and noise everywhere and nowhere without it.

Soon the magical time, the New Year! But even more magic days are even more magical New Year's Eve I thank God for his help in writing this article, and you, dear readers, praise him if your reading has been helpful to you.

I want to know your opinion.

If you are interested in my content,then I invite you to read my other articles:

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/onion-and-garlic-jam-f71c50ef

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/forest-glade-themed-cake-b6adf80b

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/we-eat-to-live-not-live-to-eat-5fc88f83

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/choice-or-a-reaction

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/gravlax-or-they-are-not-rolls-fb460b64

14
$ 4.36
$ 4.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 8
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Belozoriana
2 years ago

Comments

Such an interesting article, keep on writing more πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How interesting, I never knew you could make flour from acorns, now I am wondering what the taste would be like!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, I didn't even know flour could be made from acorns. Thanks for giving me this knowledge!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The end result is my definition of perfection. I love it already without tasting it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Belozoriana, I didn't know how interesting it was to make flour from acorns, this was a great recipe... You write very nice, my friend, whether you write about recipes or from your heart, I like your writing very much... Good luck... πŸ‘Œβ€οΈ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome, what I shared is just small on what you deserved. Happy cooking!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow that good I will Loved to eat these cookies are always sweet 😍😍❀️ y

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cookies! Love shaped and I love those.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

nice cookies looks super tasty and it will be a good match tea or coffee :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like how the biscuits look! I think Bam will love them :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice recipe, I love biscuits so much, thanks dear for adding the ingredients

$ 0.01
2 years ago