If it is pride, then so be it.

15 47
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story, Advise

Hello lovely readers and friends, how are you all this beautiful morning.

Thank you all for the comment, love and uplifting words shown toward me in my last post. It was a sad day but your presence in my life made the hurtful heart a lot bearing.

Today's article is written based on a story I read on @Read.Cash by my lovely friend and family @gertu13 on judging others and being judged ourselves. It is a lovely and educative article that might interest you.

I'm sorry ma'am for calling you out like this but I can't just help it because I dearly appreciate your presence in my life and I see you more than just a reader.

Now on today's article on pride, I want to bring a bit of myself in😜. I'm both introverted and extroverted. I can work both ways. But most people have always known me to be introverted because of my attitude outside except my friends and families who knows I am plainly not much of it.

The Gist.

There's was a long time ago in my parent's house. I had lived there then, there was this particular day I went out and on my way back I saw a close friend who I chatted freely with, have always been said to be funny (dunno how true this is). Yeah! My friend was laughing out uncontrollably at whatever have said. Then..... suddenly came in a guy who was passing by, he walked toward us and faced me directly, I could see smiles on his face(probably he heard the discussion with my friend). He said and I quote " So you can talk like this, ehn.. the others will never believe if I told them I heard you speak . We believed you were an introvert or mostly that you have a lot of pride in you. With the way you walk and keep a straight face(have been told that I walk as if I'm modelling)". And in my mind I was like πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ (Me, model? Issokay!).

I was amazed by what the man had said and I asked why they had judge me so freely without knowing a thing about me and also concluded I had pride because of how I walked or the fact that I just face where I was going. He replied, saying he was told I had pride when he questioned the people around him. Before I could talk, my friend beat me to it. Whoever think she has pride for minding her business and going her way needs to rethink because Balikis (me😁) is the most caring, loving, funny, incredible and supportive person I have ever seen, and if she's being termed as one with pride, then so be it!. I felt a butterfly in my heart at my friend's outburst and I hugged her for having my back.

The guy swallowed hard and said he was sorry, I smiled at him and told him he had nothing to be sorry for. He left us and went his way, I spoke a bit longer with my friend and waved her off.

Hmmm...

On my way out one afternoon, I branch a shop to get things to give to someone. I greeted those I met there and was awaiting my turn when I felt a tap on my shoulder, I turned and smiled at the person thinking he wanted to pass but I was met with a smile too, I greeted him and then I remembered he was the guy who saw me with my friend some months back after he reintroduce himself. I smiled and pleaded with him for not remembering him and he just waved it off saying, it was okay. We spoke for awhile and he pointed where he sells to me, and he showed me the people he asked me from.

I laughed hard when I saw them, this are people I greet if I meet them on the way or when I get things from them. The guy whose name happened to be Tony, asked me why I had laughed so hard and I told him never to mind my outburst. I got what I wanted from the shop and bade him goodbye.

In life, people will always judge you no matter what, the reason for my outburst was that I notice whenever I went to get something from them, before knowing Tony , I always heard their discussions but I don't budge into it. I believe I wasn't spoken to and I don't like putting my mouth in discussions I wasn't called in. Maybe that's why I was being termed as a prideful person or it is the way I walked.

Whichever the reason it was, I never asked, and didn't stop buying goods from them and minding my business. .

We can't be good in everyone's diary, where others may have praised us, loved us, adored us, others could dislike us, paint us bad as much as they could and act like they are the victims.

As long as you feel peace in your heart and didn't hurt anyone in order to achieve what you want, you are good to go. I know God almighty knows my heart and how mind works because even when they had painted me bad, I still introduce people to buy from them.

To my lovely readers and friends.

We are all villians in somebody's novel, so don't feel sad whenever you hear someone's opinion about you, you don't have to do them bad or know them before they can decide how to paint you. Just be yourself and pray God will deliver you from the hands of those who are working against you and also won't let your helpers associate with them.

After all the lion as always been known to be full of pride , but that doesn't hurt him because that how it is and it lives freely in it jungle with or without anyone's permission.

Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash

Writer: Balikis

Date: 5 February 2022.

6
$ 7.11
$ 7.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.02 from @Kristofferquincy
+ 2
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story, Advise

Comments

Other people really see us different and as for me, I don't care how I am viewed as long as I am not hurting anyone then I don't have to worry about what I am going to hear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes they do.. and that's the spirit @Sydney, not caring, whichever way they paint us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I have happened to spent sometimes with you in person and I'm surprise someone term you to be prideful, it funny, I understand why you had the outburst of laughter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dear, alas!! Someone understands.. well I am said to be prideful and I agree with no doubtπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Small pride in that comment balikissss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚... I see the pride is making it way to my heart then😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very good what you have said and I am proud of you. Without knowing you personally I am getting to know you through your stories. Let's be happy even if the world tries to avoid it. Be you. A big hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dear, I do appreciate your love, thanks for your word of advice and a big hearty hug to you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter what dear @Balikis just be you . mediocres criticize changes,once you're exceptional , they start having issue with you . Just do the right thing not minding what anyone says. Afterall 🀷we were not created to satisfy any man on earth .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very right my dear, we can't be good in everyone's journal... and welcome to the platform dear. It good to have you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for appreciating me ma'am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It'll be nice to read other articles of yours, I'll be awaiting them.. good luck to you so far dear..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for showing me love dear .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter what we do, people will always find a fault. Mind your business and you'd be considered proud, be overly nice and friendly and they'd say you're talkative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.. confused beings.. now what'd you think they want? Or do they want absolute normalcy? If it that then I'll count myself out. Thanks for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago