War on Drugs 2018

0 19
Avatar for BDengineer
3 years ago

Way back 2018, I was sitting inside a barber shop when I hear a breaking news about somebody who was shoot-to-killed. I heard that the killers wrote a note on the victim that says, “Huwag tularan; taga-tulak ng droga” in English term: "Do not mimic; a drug pusher". In that very moment. I remembered about the fifth commandment ‘You shall not kill’ and how it is relevant to what is happening on a large scale these few months.

            I thought that was trying to remind me not to turn a blind eye to the rising numbers of death, right after President Duterte began to sit on his throne. Those persons who voted for President Rodrigo Duterte counted on him with his stand against drugs and criminality. And as just few months, majority of us, Filipinos said “Change has come, indeed.” However, is Extra-Judicial killing the right way, or it just get things worse and lessen the number of population? I have supported the President’s stand against criminals even though I am not in the right age to vote. I kept on telling my parents to vote for him because I believed that his capabilities are more to be a leader. I understand where he came from ad believed that he just assures the public to feel safe inside the country. After all, those criminals unpunished are the reasons why more and more criminals are still doing such things because they don’t fear the government anymore. Perhaps, Extra-Judicial killing is a way to make the number of population low, but is it really a way to stop drugs and criminalities?

            Well, today, some believes that killing is the best way to achieve the goal of a developing country. But since when did killings become humanitarian? There has to be a better way. If the President’s belief of shoot-to-kill is continued and even followed, it will end up to innocent people getting killed. Extra-Judicial Killing is not the way, in fact, things get even worse. For you, could Extra-Judicial Killings make things work out or will it just make everything out of hand?

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for BDengineer
3 years ago

Comments