My parent's career and not mine!!!

5 14

My name is Kingsley,am in my late twenties,I love music alot, since my primary school days I love singing,as time goes on I wanted it as my career,I wanted to sing not just in my bedroom but outside to world but I have one obstacle and that is my parent,they are both medical doctors and they also want me to be the same.

Image source: unsplash.com

I hate to be a medical doctor,I want to be a musician,my dad would say the only future he sees is been a doctor, as a child I don't have much say because my dad is strict,he doesn't listen,all he wants is for me to be like him. When I finished my primary school,he told me to choose science and not art,I had no other option but to choose science, everything was going on well in my junior class,I got high grade in most of my subjects until I got to the senior class,when I got to senior class I started having issues in my course subjects,i hated physics and chemistry with passion,I had no interest in them,it was too hard.

One day when I got home I told my dad I wasn't interested in been a doctor.

"Dad I really don't think I can cope,I hate those subjects! I really can't cope,I am going to fail them!" I said almost crying.

But my dad will not oblige,instead he told one I have never heard from him before in my life.

"I already told you that I want you to become a medical doctor and that is final but if you refuse to listen to my bidding,I will have no other option than to disown you,you really want to bring shame to this family right!!? You must love those subjects and learn it very well,if not you will see what I will do!!" He yelled and walk away.

I was so scared,I tried everything I could not to fail so that my father won't disown me,my mom too was in support that I should be a medical doctor but she wouldn't support my dad disowning me.

With that I graduated from secondary School,I didn't fail but I didn't get high score,he started preparing me for medicine and surgery as I read day and night, after about two attempts I gained admission into medical school,my father was so happy,he bought everything I needed for medicine, unknown to him that i already had what I want to do in my mind.

I started both medicine and music,I struggled hard with medicine just because of my father,I also continued singing and learning more about it outside on my own without my father knowledge,I was working hard to just gain the certificate as medical doctor but I had no interest in it,when I got to my fourth year in school it was difficult moving to the next level,but because I went to a private university I was able to move forward,I finished my university and I was given my certificate,It was my dad's career not mine,when I got I home I dropped the certificate in his room and I left home.

Image source: unsplash.com

This is the sixth year I left home,I am now a known musician,I love what I do,I went to study medicine just for my parent, music is my passion,my life,if I had chosen medicine probably I won't be doing well like I am doing now,I might have made a lot of mistakes with surgeries,my mom kept calling and I told her I was fine,my father thought I would come back and pick up the certificate but to his greatest surprise I never did,my father wants me back,he said he already realized his mistakes,he shouldn't have told me to become what he became.

I am now a successful person in my career, this same thing alot of parents have altered their children's life thinking they are doing the right thing or helping their children,it is wrong for a parent to choose a career path for their children,let them make that choice themselves, don't interfere,don't interrupt,just support them,that career you think doesn't make sense might be the best for you child,you might think it's useless and child might do it and make a difference. Respect your children's decisions.

Copyright © 2022,all right reserved.
This is for educational purpose.
Sponsors of Ayomike
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.50
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare

Comments

In this part of the world, parents don't respect our decisions. They don't even listen, let alone hear us out. They want to control every aspect while overlooking our strengths.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, our parents should listen to us, sometimes they end up destroying their children's career all in the name of I know what's best for you, at the end too they don't know they are also hurting their own future.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. Directly or indirectly...they are setting themselves up for hurt too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes

$ 0.00
1 year ago