Life Changing Goal – Family Journey

4 28
Blog #8
March 22, 2019 (Tuesday)

Wow, we are very busy preparing for the limited face-to-face classes.

Power draining both physical and mental aspects.

How are you today read.cash family?

Hope all is well.

For today’s blog, I will be continuing our family’s journey for our son’s life-changing goal.

PREPARATION

We were admitted on January 22, 2019, at around 5 p.m. I was there together with my older sister who is the one looking after my children since birth. I was then still uneasy and problematic because the Philhealth was not cleared yet. I am also worried about the insertion of the needle for the IV fluid. It took around three attempts by the nurse but still unsuccessful insertion of the needle. It really breaks my heart to hear my son crying. It was then they try to insert it on the feet and thank Lord it went through.

January 23, 2019. Lip surgery scheduled date. At 2 a.m., we were advised that our babies are no longer allowed to eat or drink anything in preparation for the surgery. Around 5 a.m., the nurse and anesthesiologist have called up for a briefing on how the process would be. All four parents were present, and my son is third in the lineup for the surgery.

I have mixed emotions at that point, I am happy because we are already in the first step for transformation and a better life for my son. I am worried because my son is still 4months old and I do not know if how painful it can be after.

SURGERY

The first patient went inside the operating room around 8 am and have started the operation around 8:30 a.m. I am eagerly waiting for our chance to be operated on since all the babies were uneasy because they have not eaten anything.

At last, we were called up to the operating room around 11:30 a.m. Only one person can accompany but the nurses would assist. I had to take off my clothes and put on the lab gown, shoes, and hair cap. I am nervous yet happy while going inside the operating room. So, I laid my son down on the operating table, they placed it like oxygen but somehow it would make him sleep while the operation is going on. I went outside and waited in the recovery area. I cannot explain how I felt at that time. The operation starts around 12 noon. After one hour, my son came out of the operating room with blood on the mouth. He was still half asleep and cannot manage to fully move his body. After some time, we went back to our ward. He still slept though without food. He can barely move his mouth because he was afraid. Upon clearance from the doctor, they were able to drink cold milk in a syringe or dropper. On our part, we used the pigeon bottle for the cleft.

AFTER OPERATION

January 24, 2019. Around 8 am, we were oriented on how to care for the wound, the dos and don’ts, and the follow-up check-up. This time luckily, my Philhealth confirmation went through, and have been discharged without paying anything.

  • The photo was taken at the morning last January 24, 2019. (Photo is mine.)

We are very thankful to Noordhoff Craniofacial Foundation Philippines, Inc. for the opportunity of availing of their free services.

Thank you for reading this article. I will try my best to come up with articles you love. See you next article as our journey continues!

Do not forget to hit the like, leave your comments and upvotes.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Donnabel8.-

Comments

Ayden is adorable and strong baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes maam. We want him to be strong and confident when he grow up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was a long journey for you and your family. This article highlighted the love of a mother to her son and you nailed it Mam Ayen. Mothers are one of the strengths of the children to surpass what they had been through.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you're right. It would test the love for our children. We can do things that we thought we cannot. These has changed my outlook in life as well. Thanks for the motivation maam Don.

$ 0.00
2 years ago