Trying Out Other Versions Until I Get Disappointed

12 26
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

When I started taking a break, I feel like not going back anymore and just indulge myself more on things that I got hooked with. Yesterday, I wasn't able to write because I tried finished watching the whole season of a Japanese romantic drama. It has only 10 episodes with 57 minutes each. The plot was so good that it awakened the drama addict inside of me again. I finished watching it at 1 am already and I only got eyebags.

I also look horrible this morning from having puffy eyes. I just cried over a drama series in 3 episodes consecutively. If you're curious about this drama, or maybe you're interested. The drama title is "From 5 to 9". It's a bit comedy at first but it gets emotional at the middle until the end. Even so, it's still good and worthwhile to watch.

Image source: Wikipedia

So, they stated at the introduction that it was inspired from a manga which also have the same title. Since I liked manga, I looked for it, expecting for some details that maybe the series have skipped or omitted. That wasn't the case, though. I was surprised when I read it. They changed most of the plot of the original story, which is in manga, when they make a drama series adaptation.

I was a bit disappointed at first because they omitted some characters in the manga and they change their role at the drama series. Like the male protagonist supposed to have a mother whic is alive in the manga but in the drama series, she died with her husband when the male protagonist was a kid. She liked her male best friend at the manga but in the drama series, it was her manager that she liked at first. Just imagine the change. It's too far, right?

Image source: MyAnimeList

Reading farther in the manga until the end, I have finally understood why they have to do a lot of changes in the story. It's because the story in the manga is so messed up and the female protagonist is so pathetic. I hate her there, actually. Then in the drama series they revised her character to be a good one and lovable. By means of lovable, she is lovable indeed, because 4 men have been in loved with her but in the end she fell for the monk, a handsome monk.

There are also other drama series that have a manga which I have been also disappointed. Though compared to From 5 to 9, they have a good story in the manga and the female protagonist isn't irritating. They also changed a lot in the plot. I don't know if they don't just have enough budget to do the scenes or they just doesn't have enough resources, not sure really.

Just like these Chinese dramas. The first one is Once We Get Married. The original title in the comics is The Boss' Shotgun Wedding, just from the title it already have a change. Here, they changed the female protagonist's occupation. In the comics, she is just an ordinary office lady but in the drama series, she is a designer. They also changed a lot in the plot but the name of the characters remain the same.

Another one is, Unforgettable Love drama series, and also Chinese. The original title in the comics is CEO'S SUDDEN PROPOSAL. The name of the characters remain the same as well as their roles. It's just the female protagonist's occupation again which is the one that is changed. She is a surgeon in the comics but in the drama, she is a child psychologist. See the difference, it's too far. A lot of scenes has also changed and omitted, especially some good scenes in the comics.

Overall, it's still a good watch. And additionally, the male protagonists are all handsome. Kyaaa! Haha! They surely are, but it's not just the reason that it is worthwhile to watch, though. Even if a lot of scenes had changed, it still good and it didn't ruin the concept of the story.


I'm disappointed but I want more!

After a few months of dropping this kind of habit, I came back with this again just after I took a day off from writing. It's indeed addicting though it hurts to watch when the protagonists are emotional. But, it's just the point of being a drama genre, to stir our emotions and lead us to a roller coaster experience of emptions while watching the whole season. However, if you're a manga fan and your favorite manga has a live adaptation but some scenes are changed and some scenes are added, it's surely disappointing.


Thanks for reading!

10
$ 6.94
$ 6.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

expected naman na kapag galing sa manga marami talagang mawawala at mababago na scenes tas hanep mostly yung mga fave scene pa hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga nakakainis eh kasi yung magagandang scenes yung ni-drop. πŸ˜„Parang lumayo sa kwento, di kaya parang walang chemistry na yung sa drama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kawawa naman u g apat, walang napili sa kanila kasi Monk ang nagustuhan haha. Aguyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang pogi kasi nung Monk. Ay pati ako nagka crush. πŸ₯°πŸ€€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All these Korean dramas, music, series must be good. A lot of people write about them here on read.cash. I only know Korean food which I like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, they are really good but it still disappointing when they change the original plot from the manga when they make a live adaptation.

Well, thanks for dropping by, and good morning 🌻.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, but that's why i don't give in to drama viewing, not that i didn't like movie but i used to control myself in movies addiction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, good for you, then. It's really hard to get out when get hooked up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's why I don't always watch dramas adapted from mangas. Kasi they change a lot of things. buti sa case ng napanood mo, for the better naman. Mostly kasi, yung changes nakakapangit eh. Nadidisappoint yung manga fans. Parang yung True beauty na Kdrama. Ganon. Di ko pinanood pero alam ko maraming nagreklamo sa adptation non.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halos lahat ng napanuod ko na galing sa manga, maraming iniba. Yung inexpect mong scene wala dun. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am more on horror movies in Netflix, but when read cash came, I managed to control my movies addiction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I just got back from being like this cause I got bored. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago