So What If I'm Weird, Alone, and Depressed?

4 26
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: True Story

As for being an introvert, most of them distance themselves from me. They say because I'm weird. They say that I'm hard to understand. They say that I'm difficult to deal with. Other say, I'm like an alien trying to be human.

At first, they would pretend that they're a friend when no one would stay with them. Then, when they have found someone better than you, that they can get along very well, you'll be like thin air. They act as if they don't see you around.

It's hard to cope up with such an environment full of socialites. Every day, they would plan to hang out and if you decline, you'll be treated as an outcast by the group. It is as if you have to be like them in every way.

Seriously, can't I have my own choices of how I want to be? I like being unique, so what? 😤

Well, at first, I tried to be like them. I forced myself to mingle with them. I tried to get interested in their discussions. I tried to hang out with them to those places that I can't understand why they like to stay there. I tried to fit in within their circles. I did all of it because, at that time, it seems like being called a "loner" is an insult and it hurts to be "out of place" from everyone else. Despite all of my efforts, I still feel like there's a gap or a wall that distances me from them. In the end, I'm fed up. I got tired of pretending that I like socializing.

I feel like I don't belong to the group so I got back to the way I was. I turned back to my song preferences. I stop forcing myself to make friends. I stop getting along with those toxic people. I also stop tagging along wherever they go. I don't join in their discussions if it doesn't suit my interests.

Though along the way, it's quite depressing. Somehow, I felt envious of them. How I wish that I have a friend who can understand me too. Well, not for long, I have found a few good friends that truly understand me. Even though I'm quite different from them, they try to respect me and encourage me to stay who I am.

But, those encouragements aren't enough to hold still when we're apart for long. As I am a music lover, I discovered some songs that inspire me to keep going.

Here they are, I hope you all can like it, too.

1. This Is Me by Keala Seatle

Favorite lines:

"I am brave

I am bruised

I am who I meant to be

This is me!"

This song is from a musical movie, "The Greatest Showman", wherein they present people with great differences or odd people as the movie says, to represent as one, to show the audience that even though they're different from them, they are also humans who felt hurt, who longed to be loved and to be cared for. It's just that they are uniquely brimming with beauty and talent but normal people can hardly appreciate it.

2. Rock n Roll by Avril Lavigne

Favorite lines:

"I don't care if I'm a misfit
I like it better than the hipster bullshit"

"Don't care about a reputation
Must be living in the wrong generation"

These lines were the most outstanding lines that hit me so hard 'cause I'm also a misfit in real life. Then, when she says the line," Don't care about a reputation, Must be living in the wrong generation", I felt someone for the first time got fully understand what I've been through. From then on, whenever I'm down or upset about the world, I would listen to this on repeat until I feel better.

3. So Am I by Ava Max

I like this song very much though it's not the typical genre that I like. I just like the message of the song. The way Ava Max delivers the song makes me have the vibe as if telling me that I'm not the only one like this in the world. She is like a friend telling me that even though people will misjudge me for being different, I don't have to worry because she is also like me. We are in the same boat and it's okay to be different.

Final Thoughts

One of my biggest life lessons is to learn how to be independent. Since there's no one I can rely on, I learned to love being alone. As time goes by, all of those humiliations that I received from those toxic people that I am weird, alone, and depressed is just like the buzzing sounds of bees to my ears.

____________________________

Thanks for reading. Stay safe and God bless us all!

3
$ 2.13
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @sh33la
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: True Story

Comments

I am glad you have found some friends who accept you for you are I am also an introvert, and I have friends I can count on one hand... They accept me for who I am too ... well most of the time :D But you know what's funny about my friends, they are all extroverts and it makes it easy to be in places with a crowd and hide behind them and let them do all the talking hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also like that to my friends and they have to hold me just to make sure I won't escape when we are in public. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, I feel for you girl. Is it really common that people like us are the always the second choice? Or the least favorites?

Anyway, it's still better for me to have just one friend than many that are fake.

Love your new closing picture. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, even if it's only one, at least it's real. It's just annoying how people obviously show hypocrisy in front of you sometimes.

Anyway, I'm glad you liked my closing picture. It's just a free template at Canva, though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago