A Martyr, A Hero, And A Counselor

2 18
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

In my previous article, Happy Mother's Day, Dear Madam CEO!, I wrote about how we celebrated mother's day with our Madam CEO. For now, in this article, I will write about my biological mother. It's a little late now but it is still the thought that counts, right?

Here we go...

Sometimes, I'm thinking about my mother's life. Why is life unfair for her? Is she born with a bad star or something? She hasn't finished college because of our family's financial issues. She worked instead for years but had to resign because her mother suddenly falls sick and she was called to go home. My Uncle, her only brother, had already got married and my grandfather is working. She had no other choice but to take care of her mother alone for 8 years.

Later on, after her mother died, she rushed into marriage because she is already 32 years old, and due to the pressure that the neighborhood gave her, humiliating her for being a middle-aged unmarried woman. Some people also told her that if she can't get married now, sooner or later as she aged, her pregnancy would be difficult. Unfortunately, the man that she married, my father, is a drunken master. Given that being married late, she still managed to give birth to 5 children and I'm in the middle, by the way.

As she gave birth to our eldest, that's where my father's true colors slowly showing. Life has become more difficult for her as if she is tortured every day. For all the hardships she endured for us and for all the things that she had sacrificed for our sake, I gave her these 3 definitions.

A Martyr

For some people, when being called a martyr is an insult but for my Mom, even though she is branded as a Martyr, I'm still proud to say that she is my Mother. Being married to an irresponsible man, she had suffered more and more every day. My father just loved alcohol ever since we were kids, he would even buy alcohol first instead of rice. He didn't give any household budget to my mom but still, dare to be high and mighty at home and boost that his family had everything needed anytime he left to drink. I don't want to curse but I think you all know what he is called.

Photo source: https://www.todaysparent.com/family/parenting/why-you-should-quit-being-a-mommy-martyr/amp/

He didn't even pay for our school fees and school supplies, so my Mother had to sell vegetables 3 times a week at the town just to keep us going to school. When we harvest our crop, he would immediately take a portion of the earnings and buy his alcohol. They would argue all day, sometimes it is extended until the next day or last for a week until they call off. The house is very chaotic every time he comes home drunk. There's a time that I can't take it anymore. Since my two elder brothers don't care and my two younger siblings are scared, I stepped in, shoved my Mom away, and argue with my stupid father in her place. She is so shocked about what happened that she can hardly breathe, that's just when I stopped arguing with him and attended to my Mother. Since that incident, I was branded as a disrespectful child and the black sheep of the family.

I even advised my Mom that she should kick him out of the house since she has all the rights because the land and the house are all her properties. She just shooked her head saying, she is enduring everything because she doesn't want us to grow up without a father and a broken family. She was also still hoping that my father would have repentance and someday change for the better.

My Mom is such a soft and kind-hearted woman. She is just unfortunate to be married to a stupid man. To protect our Mom, me and my brothers are always on the lookout every time they fight, because if ever he would lay a hand on our Mother, may God forgive us for what we can do to him.

A Hero

As we grew up in a chaotic and messy family, each one of us had also been stuck in the darkness. The only one who pulled us back to the brighter side is our Mother. A pitiful, skinny old woman, and a martyr wife but nobody knows, she is also our Hero.

Photo source: https://momshierarchyofneeds.com/2019/05/12/can-i-please-get-more-capacity-for-mothers-day/amp/

By the time that I was in my darkest time, that one incident that almost cut off all of my dreams, I hide it from my family. I have no face to show them. The brave and rebel child is now a complete embarrassment. I am ready to face it on my own so I didn't inform any member of the family of my current address.

By the time that I don't have any idea left of what to do in my life, in the most unexpected moment, my Mom suddenly showed up in front of me. I thought she would vent out her anger at me, confront me of what happened, or rather give me a strong slap to knock some sense left in my head. I trembled and cried in front of her without saying anything. Out of my awareness, she just hugged me tightly and says, "Let's go home."

As I arrived home, in just one glare of my Mom at them, no one ever mentioned or confront me about what happened. They even stand up for me to those neighbors who tried to humiliate me, even my father, who is my biggest enemy, stand up for me in front of his friends. That's when I acknowledged my Mother's supremacy.

A Counselor

In my journey to recovery, my mother is the only one who guided and had been always there through my ups and downs.

Photo source: https://www.angara.com/blog/mom-the-best-counselor-ever/

I can't still forget all the things that she has advised me.

"The world doesn't end without a man, stand up, move on, and fix your life. There's still more to see and more to experience. You have to be strong no matter what."

These three sentences are the ones that strengthen the foundation of my motivation to keep going and make a better version of me from the one that is trampled and bullied.

____________________________

From then on, I promised myself that I'll find work and save money. Once I save enough, I'll finish my schooling. That is my goal now, I want to reach the dreams that my mother has dreamed for me from the very beginning.

A/N: "Just hang on, Mom. Please give me a little more time. I will definitely be going to return the favor to you."

____________________________

Thanks for reading until the end of my article. Stay safe and God bless!

Lead image source:

https://www.almanac.com/content/when-is-mothers-day?amp

3
$ 2.33
$ 2.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

Your mom is indeed a martyr. But I hope she will really consider breaking away from the prison of your father. I think, you and your siblings are now okay withput having one (sorry if this sounded offensive, just my opinion) because what's the use of having a father when he isn't even acting as one, right? Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, you're right but my mom won't give up. He does have a slight improvement since lockdown, though. He rarely fights my mother now and they say he is somehow helping at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago