Tough and rough

3 26
Avatar for Avalucy
1 year ago

 

I woke up early in the morning; was super excited and why? It was going to be my first day in Saint Paul's secondary school. It was one of the most prestigious secondary schools in my country. It was a mixed boarding school of boys and girls. My parents had gotten all of what was required of me;we used the prospectus as a guild. After i had been checked in by the matron, my parents gave me piece of advice to always of good behavior. I promised to make them proud. It was on Saturday afternoon, and old students would be in the hostel.

 The matron led me to my Hostel. The hostel captain led me to my corner. The floor was rough and untidy. I screamed as i saw a rat jumping down from my bunk. The hostel captain said

“Miss Mary welcome to another world of total freedom and independence"

 I smiled and began to unpack my things. A girl offered to help me arrange my things.She seemed nice, so she helped me. By the time we were done it was nightfall. I had to reward her by giving her two bars of chocolate and when she was gone I started looking for my pocket money in my wallet. She had had stolen my money. My parents had given me the money to deposit it i in the bursary. I didn't know how to trace her because I didn't know her name or class. Tears rolled down my cheek. I had to send a text message to my mum that night with a small phone she had given me without the knowledge of my dad.

Having a phone in Saint Paul high school was contraband but students smuggled contraband into the hostel. My mum replied to my text and the next, early in the morning she was already in my school. As soon as I saw her, I ran towards her and hugged her tightly, my eyes was filled with tears. She cleaned them with her handkerchief. It was Sunday morning I had to hurry up so as to join other students for Sunday Mass. Dear Read stars, did I mention to you that my school is a missionary school.

My mum gave me some pocket money and food that she had brought from home. When I was done eating, I bid her goodbye and went to prepare for 9:00am Sunday mass. The rest of the day was fun because I made new friends, Stella and Rose. They were cool headed so we were able to connect. The next day was Monday.

 Here my journey begins

unsplash image

After morning assembly Jss1 pupil marched to their classes. I was In Jss1B.Teachers and students are like Siamese twins that cannot be separated. Most times some teachers can be boring. Therefore students are happy during break periods because they get relief from boring teachings of some teachers. My school is a boarding so, we spend months in school, Often times when I go home during long vacations, I become conscious of time because in my school every minute or hour has one program or the other allotted to it, subconsciously I call my siblings names of my friends in school, I exchange greetings with everyone on the street because it’s like a habit in school. Boarding school is fun because responsibility, personal awareness and development are built.

Students spend more time in school when compared to time spent at home, yet a teacher can make or mar a child. Most times a child has to choose between peer groups, family or teacher to make a choice, he/she gets influence and shaped by either of these groups. Every day is routine; from a rising bell in the morning to lights out at night. To make it fun for myself I joined drama and dance groups .Rehearsal time was different so I was able to do both.

I had as school mother, she took care of me like I was her little sister, and my parents loved her. She helped me iron my clothes, read my books, and if was punished unjustly, she intervened on my behalf.

Robert.H.schuller said 'Tough times never last, but tough people do'.

In Jss3 I had the most unforgettable experience, my dad’s company caught fire and that was when life became difficult, to pay my school fees became a problem, my parents ran into a huge dept and we had to sell some of our properties to survive. I was only 14 years old when my dad had forced me to get married to an imbecile son of one of his wealthy friends and when I refused, my dad threaten to disown me. Mum stood up for me, she threatens to leave my dad if he force met to marry at such a young age. Mum and I had to leave because of dads constant drinking and smoking, he didn’t care about us anymore. Mum started little business; life became better   and was able to write my exams.

 In SS1, I was becoming popular in school. I went for dance and drama competitions. Press and debate clubs saw how bold I was; with my command of words they invited me to their club. I was dedicated and worked hard.

unsplash image

I remember one rainy night I had to go state library to gather more information on local news that would be read the next morning. The coordinator was impressed and made me the vice president, some of my colleagues who had been in the club since Jss2 were made at me. They said I bought my way into the seat of vice-presidency. Even in the debate club I was recognized, I didn't want to be fully part of them, but i made contribution to every topic that was brought before me. In SS I was nominated for three posts. The post of senior prefect, library prefect and social prefect. I was called for interview and it was so successful .I was told to pick out of the three the office I would like to occupy choose office of the social prefect, even though I knew people wanted me to occupy the post of senior prefect, that was not all I had a rival, and Champaign would start after two of weeks.

The incumbent social prefect who was called by his nickname “iron bender” swore to Champaign for me. I had never been in talking terms with Iron bender, so why would he want to help me. It is true that were not so good friends but he knew I was the right person to be his successor. Election of new prefects was always talk of the school, teachers and students always pointed fingers on their favorite contestant. AS soon as the contestants for the post were announced, some students started visiting me constantly promising that they would vote for me. My class was torn apart because the post of social prefect is one of the most vital posts in St Paul s high school. I had a sibling in junior class, her classmate were always flocking around my corner with lots of promises. And all I said to them was thanks. Two weeks after Champaign election would begin the next week.

On the d -day, school activities was didn’t hold, students converge at the election hall, my rival confuse and convince those that wanted to vote for me, I was all silent. When the time for the election reached .my heart was skipping. When the results were called I almost lost hope because my rivals scores were called first she had 2560 votes; it was quite high .as soon as my score was mentioned I had 3991 votes. My supporters jumped up and made a joyful noise. They came to where I sat and lifted me up high.I felt like a queen. like its said “Victory has a hundred fathers and defeat is an orphan”.

unsplash image

At night was going to be the first social night I would conduct. Iron bender promised to help me out with everything I would be needing .My dance crew was always talk of the school we were six in number four boys and two girls including me. They gave a wonderful performance .As social prefect elect I would  to perform too. We all had fun that night. I reigned as social prefect for three years till I left Saint Paul high school. The students said they didn’t find anyone worthy. I broke records compared to normal eight months in my school and during graduation I got lots of gifts from teacher’s students’ parents.

Thanks for reading, always waiting for your tips @TheRandomRewarder

@avalucy 2022 and all rights reserved.

photo credit.@unsplash image

 

 

 

 

 

 

-5
$ 0.00
Avatar for Avalucy
1 year ago

Comments

God bless your studies my friend. We are always here to support you. I remember when I was still a student, when I was still a college student.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thank you ,you are such a sweet heart

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome my friend. ❤️🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago