My new neighbors

13 55
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago

Sunday, October 24

I live in Anzoátegui, Venezuela. Every year I move to a new home.

My new neighbors are quite peculiar, very different from all the neighbors I have had.

I watched as my neighbors built their home. My neighbors are a newly married couple, they support each other but they also have differences. They argue when someone comes to bother them.

They built their home regardless of the problems they had. There were heavy rains, very cold, lightning, sometimes it was very hot. A lot of negative things happened when my neighbors were making their home, I am amazed at how much they endured.

When it rained, my neighbors hugged each other so they wouldn't get cold. When the man would go out to get food, the lady would stay and take care of the house.

 

They finished building their house at the end of June. My neighbors now had more free time, so they enjoyed their time at home.

 

One day I noticed that my neighbor was getting chubbier and it was difficult for her to walk. My neighbor no longer went out for walks, she stayed at home resting.

 

My neighbor was pregnant! I couldn't believe it, time went by fast. I have been more aware of her. My neighbors watch me in anguish, maybe they are afraid of me. I wouldn't hurt them.

I was watching them for a long time, but I didn't know anything about my neighbors. I didn't know how many eggs she would have.

 

One day I saw a small beak under my neighbor's body and a piece of eggshell nearby, I knew they had hatched, I couldn't tell how many there were, but I was happy.

Their chicks seemed curious to me, they were yellow, they cried a lot, they didn't look ugly to me and they were always hungry.

I researched my neighbors to learn about them and gave them names.

The female pigeon was called "Palomina", the male "Palomino". Their offspring didn't have names, I didn't know if they were male or female. I named the big one "Pepe" and the little one "Dormilona". 

With a lot of cold the pigeon could have many complications when laying the eggs.

There are many obstacles in the incubation of a pigeon's eggs:

  • The pigeon can easily become fatigued.

  • The egg is too large and the pigeon cannot expel it.

  • The female is too young to have young.

  • The female is poorly fed

Calcium and sunlight is very important for the life of pigeons. I am very happy because her hatching was excellent.

"Pepe" and "Dormilona" got bigger, the color of their feathers changed. Their plumage became dark.

Her parents no longer gave her food in her beak, now the food was far from the nest. Other pigeons began to arrive to take the food from "Pepe" and "Dormilona" but they fought back.

Palomino and Palomina did not go to the nest much anymore, they were always in the street. The change of plumage of the chicks made me change their name. "Pepe" is now called "Petunia" (it was female not male) and "Dormilona" is called "Paco" (it was male not female). They became the siblings "Paco and Petunia".

I had to travel and was away from home for a long time. I knew that "Petunia" and "Paco" would soon learn to fly, I didn't want to miss it.

They already had almost all the feathers of their new color, they were missing the head and neck feathers. They were flapping their wings very hard, they wanted to fly.

Luckily my couple was telling me about their changes.  

I recently returned from the trip, "Petunia" and "Paco" were still there near their nest, with their beautiful new plumage. I haven't seen them fly yet, but I hope not to miss their flight.

 

Information about the pigeons:

http://www.pigeonrescue.sirtobyservices.com/commonailments-2/eggrelatedproblems/

https://animals.mom.com/signs-eggbound-pigeons-7639.html

http://www.misamigaslaspalomas.com/2011/10/huevos-incubacion-y-la-retencion-de.html

http://www.misamigaslaspalomas.com/2011/08/ciclo-de-vida-de-las-palomas.html

https://www.heraldo.es/noticias/aragon/2016/07/09/cuantos-huevos-ponen-las-palomas-950955-300.html

I find it funny how pigeons move their heads and I find it fascinating how pigeons keep their balance for a long time on one foot.

Thank you very much for reaching the end of my article about my new neighbors, I hope you found it interesting.

I am very fond of animals and this is the first time I have been around a family of pigeons.

 

I enjoyed witnessing the life of the pigeons. I learned a little more about the birds and enjoyed writing this article.

 

Do you know of any other difficulties a pigeon or any bird goes through when laying eggs? If so, feel free to comment, I'll be waiting for your response!

 

See you in the next article!

 

Greetings from Venezuela

Sponsors of ArteFM
empty
empty
empty

All content is original

Information obtained from the web is indicated

The photos were taken by me

The drawings were made by me

5
$ 0.21
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 1
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I love your post about the development of your neighbors. At first came feelings of solidarity with these people working in the full rain and sun. But then you talked about eggs and the thought that they were human was cut off at once. Very good post. Welcome to the community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your comment and your welcome. I'm very glad you liked my post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was so good!

At first I thought you were talking about people, then the pigeons emerged and I was :o.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha that was the idea, I hope you liked it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the first part of the article I was thinking of human neighbors, lol! They're adorable and I hope they will live longer in the neighborhood, This is fun to read!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope my neighbors are happy there. Thanks for commenting on my article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i love birds! and your neighbors look so sweet and adorable. i like a neighbors like that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like neighbors like that too hahaha. I'm glad you like my article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I could see your animations, they are very good. Very good article, keep it up. The laying of eggs depending on the species hens are every 24 hours, quails every 14 hours approximately, so the time it takes to form the eggshell will be approximately 20 to 22 hours (hens) between 11 and 12 hours in quail, in pigeons I could not tell you. At the moment of being expelled, it is covered by a protein film (cuticle) that protects the egg from moisture loss and bacterial attack.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you know a lot about birds. Well, even if they lay eggs every 12 to 24 hours, it must be very difficult for them to lay eggs. I think the same complications that pigeons have in laying eggs can be experienced by any other bird.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, all birds go through the same process, calcium is one of the minerals they need most. When they are deficient in Ca, the eggs are usually lost, when they are laid they are soft and easily contaminated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your new neighbors are interesting and beautiful. At the beginning of the article, I thought they were human. Then everything became clear. It was fun watching them grow, I guess for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where I live human neighbors don't get out much, most of my neighbors are pigeons or cats. I have shared many breakfasts next to pigeon neighbors, so it was easy to see them out the window.

$ 0.00
2 years ago