Is it a good idea for children to drink coffee? 2

2 22
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Venezuela, Stories, Family, Friend, Foods, ...

Hello dear people of read.cash, I hope you are feeling very well today and that you enjoy it to the fullest.

Tuesday, February 8th

As I told you in the previous article, I currently have no children, no nephews, no nieces, no younger siblings, so why do I care so much about them, because I do, because I think it is important to me the health and the health of others, if something is not right and I can try to fix it, I will try to do it in the best way.

This topic has been going around in my head for many years, but a few days ago it bothered me again

It turns out that years ago I moved to Puerto la Cruz, as many of you may know, I am from Cumana. At that time I started to be in college I was living with an aunt, everything fine until there, my aunt is a really great person.

But my aunt had grandchildren... And the most normal thing is that grandparents spoil grandchildren without knowing if what they do is really right or wrong. Many times I talked to my aunt about not giving coffee to her granddaughters, but she ignored me, she told me that the girls' parents still gave her coffee.....

My aunt makes a really pure coffee and just as she drank her coffee pure, she also gave her granddaughters that coffee like that, what we normally know as espresso coffee. One of her granddaughters at that time was 8 years old and the other was just starting to talk, she would be about 2 years old.

It has now been many years since I stopped living with my aunt, but I have talked to her granddaughters and seen them grow up in person. The older girl has liver problems, I found out during a party, the girl told me about it. The youngest girl in spite of being 8 years old now, has not grown much and her bones are really fragile, not only her bones, but also a big part of her body, I do not affirm that this is a product of drinking coffee, I am not a doctor, but I do believe that it is a part of the problem and in spite of everything, the girls continue drinking coffee, I really do not know what other diseases they may have because of this... Maybe she also suffers often from acidity, since so much caffeine in our body can cause that.

We do not know the future, we do not know what will happen tomorrow. There are infinite diseases inside and outside our family, we don't know if we will suffer from heart disease or have a child with heart problems. Imagine that you have a child who will have heart problems in the future, but we are in the present and you will not know that until a few years from now. Your child is 5 or 6 years old, but at the age of 10 he may have a complication because he is addicted to caffeine, that would be wrong, right?

Okay, let's not put such an extreme example, but as I said before caffeine makes the bones not absorb enough calcium, and it would be wrong for our children, nephews, grandchildren, cousins, to have fragile bones, the easiest and least expensive thing is to prevent them from consuming coffee at an early age, so their bones will develop better...

This problem has returned to my head because I have seen how Luis' niece drinks espresso coffee every day being only 6 years old and as I have spent many years with Luis and living with his family, they rarely buy milk, because of its high cost and what they do is only coffee with milk, which the girl also drinks, but the most normal thing is to drink espresso coffee. They don't use the milk for anything else, the girl doesn't drink natural juices because she simply prefers to drink sodas, currently because of her mother's work, she drinks sodas every night around 10pm... Why does she do it? Well, her mom gets soda at work, but she prefers to save it for her daughter, to give her "a snack", but a soda every day at 10pm besides drinking coffee?

There are many foods that contain caffeine, among these are some sodas, chocolates, energy drinks, ice cream, cakes, tea, medicines, cosmetics, etc, etc, etc. Giving coffee to a child is only increasing the consumption of caffeine, because apparently we only know that coffee has caffeine, but no, there are many foods that contain caffeine.

What are we doing with our children?

This is just an example, I know there are no books for parents, I know there is no exact guide to take care of our children, but I think we should be a little more conscious about what they eat and what we feed them just because it is something normal for us.

Many people are so used to drinking coffee that they can drink up to 3 times coffee a day and that's fine, you are an adult responsible for your body and what happens to your body, the daily intake for an adult, according to what I found on the web is approximately 300 milligrams of caffeine a day, but it will also depend on how pure you prepare the coffee.

Going back to children... No, children should not drink coffee and even less in their development stage, caffeine consumption is not recommended for children, besides everything I told you before, its consumption can cause nervousness, insomnia, tachycardia or disorders, I know it sounds really bad and very negative but it is the truth, coffee is as harmful as alcohol or cigarettes....

Tell me, would you give a glass of alcohol or a cigarette to your 6 year old?

Now remember it's just as similar to giving him coffee

I really don't want to do another article on this, but I've gone on so long... I'm trying to summarize everything as best as I can.

My parents never agreed that I should consume coffee as a child, because the most acceptable age to consume coffee is from the age of 12, as long as the child's weight is taken into account, besides the 12 year old can only consume less than 80 milligrams of coffee a day.

My parents forbade me to drink coffee, but the "coffee drinking problem" started when my parents were not around. While my parents worked my grandmother took care of me, and giving coffee to a child comes from the customs of the past, because it was normal, just as it was normal for a child to smoke tobacco, if you don't believe me, watch Pinocchio again, at the time of Pinocchio it was totally legal for a child to smoke cigarettes.

When I was in my grandmother's care, she would share with me, we would play, but she would also give me coffee. This started I think when I was 11 or 12 years old, I was still too young to start drinking coffee, but my parents couldn't help it, so I became a coffee addict. The good thing is that I can go many days without drinking coffee and nothing happens, I don't have headaches, I feel good, I hope I can go on like this forever, so from time to time I stop drinking coffee to eliminate the caffeine from my body for many days, I only consume coffee because I love its taste. There are many people who can't stop drinking coffee for even one day, because they start to feel bad, they get headaches, they feel dizzy, etc, etc... And I think it's a little bit wrong, but each person and each body works in a different way. If we want to avoid getting a headache from not drinking coffee one day, we should be the ones to decide and investigate how to minimize coffee consumption without being affected....

Going back to children and the large consumption of caffeine. Imagine your child drinking a soda and a cup of coffee. A cup of coffee has approximately 90 milligrams of caffeine and a can of soda has 50 milligrams of caffeine, which would be 140 grams of caffeine and we talk that a 12 year old child should consume less than 80 milligrams of coffee a day.

I found the following table on the web

200 ml cup of brewed coffee --------------------- 90 mg

250 ml can of energy drink ---------------------- 80 mg

60 ml cup of black coffee (espresso) -------------- 80 mg

220 ml cup of black tea ------------------------- 50 mg

355 ml can of soft drink ------------------------- 50 mg

50 g milk chocolate bar ------------------------- 10 mg

I also found that the most advisable is to ingest less than 3mg of caffeine per kilo, that is, if I weigh 40 kilos, the most advisable is that I take less than 120 mg of caffeine per day. Now, what happens if I suffer from overweight... If you, your child, or any person suffers from overweight, this weight would not count, but you would have to know what is the ideal weight of the person according to his size. Maybe you think that I have a problem with my weight or that I am underweight, but no, I am fine with my weight in relation to my height. I also don't want to say that you must lose weight to drink coffee, this I have found on the web.

In the previous article I felt that I was misunderstood... Excuse me, I am not doing this to tell you what you should consume or what you should not consume, I only want to inform you of the damage that coffee can cause when taken when you are young.

Each person is responsible for their life and their family, I am not here to criticize your way of seeing life, I am just sharing my experience and my opinion, I don't want you to think that my decision is the right one. We all see the world differently, we all think differently, I only write what has happened to me and the damage it can cause, if what I say you think is true, lie, good or bad, it will depend on each person, I'm not here to offend anyone.

According to my way of seeing life, I think we should let children be children, let them not consume substances that are for adults, worry a little more about what we consume and what it can cause in our body or in the body of our children. Yes, we should enjoy life and one of the ways I enjoy life the most is eating hahaha, but we should be aware of our health, let's remember that life is only one, we can enjoy it to the fullest by avoiding things that harm us.

Thank you for reaching the end of my article, I hope you liked it and learned something, if you want you can search about the information I have written, if I have any mistake or you think I'm wrong you can leave me a comment with your opinion, have a great day :)

Remember to go through the articles of my sponsors

Sponsors of ArteFM
empty
empty
empty

See you in the next article! ❤️ 

All content is original

All images were downloaded from the web

The links from where I got the information are shown below

https://medlineplus.gov/spanish/caffeine.html

 

https://www.bbc.com/mundo/noticias/2015/05/150528_salud_consumo_cafeina_diario_recomendado_kv

 

https://qualitycoffee.cl/blog/2019/10/01/edad-se-puede-empezar-tomar-cafe/#:~:text=Una%20taza%20de%20caf%C3%A9%20tiene,no%20m%C3%A1s%20de%2085%20mg

 

https://www.fundacionmapfre.org/educacion-divulgacion/salud-bienestar/habitos-saludables/alimentacion/edad-tomar-cafe-ninos/#:~:text=Los%20ni%C3%B1os%20no%20deben%20tomar,en%20las%20bebidas%20de%20cola.

 

https://www.guiainfantil.com/articulos/alimentacion/beneficios-del-cafe-para-los-ninos/

 

https://www.massgeneral.org/es/noticias/salud-digestiva/cafe-te-y-los-refrescos-aumentan-el-riesgo-de-reflujo-gastroesofagico

 

https://cuidateplus.marca.com/alimentacion/nutricion/2021/01/21/cafe-efectos-salud-sabias-176442.html

 

https://kidshealth.org/es/teens/caffeine.html

 

https://cnnespanol.cnn.com/2021/02/09/el-cafe-negro-puede-ser-bueno-para-el-corazon-muestran-estudios/

 

https://www.elmundo.es/ciencia-y-salud/salud/2017/11/27/5a1c4af3268e3e92578b456e.html

 

https://www.mayoclinic.org/es-es/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/expert-answers/coffee-and-health/faq-20058339

 

http://www.forumdelcafe.com/sites/default/files/biblioteca/f-44_cafe_y_salud.pdf

 

https://elcomidista.elpais.com/elcomidista/2017/09/27/articulo/1506522721_155894.html

Greetings from Venezuela😊❤️

2
$ 0.89
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Frankmart
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Venezuela, Stories, Family, Friend, Foods, ...

Comments

Very good information, I am addicted to coffee, I have had problems of acidity thanks to its consumption, but I leave a few days without taking it and everything returns to normal. The good thing is that I can stop taking it for several days without feeling side effects. I totally agree with you, you should not give coffee to children, neither should you drink coffee after lunch, coffee decreases the absorption of iron, it is preferable to drink it after digestion.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Excellent comment and advice. I have the good fortune that I can go days without drinking coffee and it doesn't give me a headache, nor has it caused me heartburn. For me, it is best to drink coffee in the morning or afternoon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago