Flavor memory

2 16
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Memory, Story, Life, Experience, Food, ...

I don't think I'm the only person in the world that this happens to, but it's still something a little weird, I haven't met anyone who feels the same way I feel. There are days when this happens for no reason, I mean, I am not thinking about eating it and suddenly that taste comes to me. Luis has told me that this is a little weird, that he can only remember something he ate in the past but he doesn't always remember the taste, but do you know what I feel?

Saturday, March 19

There are days when I remember some food from the past like the honey bread I mentioned in the article a few days ago, you can read it here. While I was talking and researching about honey and bees, there has come the taste in my mouth of a toasted bread with honey, it is not like a "visual" memory that I remember how the bread was or anything like that, it is a memory in my mouth, on my tongue, it is as if I could taste that food, better said, as if I was eating it at that moment, it is quite weird, because when I was writing about honey and bees I was eating absolutely nothing hahaha and since many years ago I have not eaten honey, because it is expensive. Speaking of honey, some time ago a person was talking about his breakfast commenting that honey in his country is expensive because a bottle costs $2 or $3, he was very surprised when I told him that I had recently gone to the supermarket and realized that a bottle of honey cost between $5 to $11.

Back on topic, I don't know if that will happen to anyone else, I don't really know anyone who has told me that, but it's just that it's a bit of a strange feeling because I feel like I'm eating what I remember.

Usually the memories are of food that I have time without buying like ice cream, honey, chicken broaster.

The memory as I said, is as if I am eating that and this happens randomly, that is, I can be calmly drawing and the taste of that food comes to me, but it is a specific food, when I talk about ice cream, I have tasted many ice creams and I remember what they are like, so if it is a memory of that type I can know where I ate it and I start telling that to Luis, I tell him "You know, I have a flavor memory, I'm eating a chocolate and strawberry ice cream, but not just any ice cream, it's the ice cream they sold in front of the park when I was a kid, the ice cream shop is closed it's called La Rosita, I always ordered those flavors of ice cream, they are my favorites" and so I go.....

Now, it is very rare that I am thinking about a certain food and I have the taste in my mouth, I just remember it and that's it, as if the part of tasting it was not included in that memory, it is rare the occasions that I have thought about an old food and I have the taste in my mouth.

Luis jokes that maybe there is a weird connection between my food memories in my brain that goes directly to my tongue and only works when I move certain wires in my mind unintentionally hahaha It's a bit of a crazy theory, but it always makes me laugh.

And you my friend, do you have this weird ability to remember the taste of something unintentionally?

Thanks friend for making it to the end of my article, I hope you liked it. Have a nice day, be happy! Remember you can follow and read the articles of my sponsors who have supported me so much.

Sponsors of ArteFM
empty
empty
empty

See you in the next article!

All content is original

Greetings from Venezuela!

4
$ 0.75
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
$ 0.02 from @Kendy42
+ 1
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Memory, Story, Life, Experience, Food, ...

Comments

Hahaha, it was very interesting my friend. Sometimes when I think of some foods, I remember the taste of them, especially the things I like. Even when I think of sour things, my mouth suddenly fills with water to remind me of that sour taste...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's something like that what happens to me haha I think it's a little crazy, but well, so we remember some food that we have time without eating haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago