" Working on Board"

5 28
Avatar for Annthony18
3 years ago

Working on board is one of my biggest dreams even when I was still young and still going to school, but before I able to achieve this dream job of mine I have been through a lot of hardship experience and that experience makes me stronger on where I'am right now at this point of my life.

I pursue my working career on board way back 2013 when I applied on Magsaysay Maritime Corporation my current Manning Agency as of now. As for I rember I passed the interview that time on May 2013 as a Galley Utility that even though mostly my working experience is a Waiter still I was not hired in the restaurant department instead I started my working career as a Galley Utility which is one of the lowest position on board and one of the lowest salary that received. I worked as a Galley Utility for 3 contracts. Before I started to working on board I get first a lot of training and certificates to be able to work on a cruise ship that requires a lot of money on getting those certifates and training. And aside of that I waited for almost a year before I can finally started to work on board so when the time my first contract working on board I got a lot of credit money left in my country, so that time I make an side job to earn some extra money like washing clothes of other crew members, cleaning cabins, taking care some equipment of waiters, helping cabin steward on making beds, crew show which I sing in front of passengers and doing body massage. What side job on board you name I already do it all instead of cutting hairs for crew members as I really don't know to cut hair as I'am afraid also that I could cut their ears 😂 😂 😂.

As after I finish my 3rd contract working on board I got an opportunity to transfer to another department as my boss asked me what position I want to be on my next contract as a gratitude for my hard work and nice cooperation working with her. So I decided to choose to work as Laundryman as it has a better salary and the working is good also for me to be able to do some my side jobs like massage and crew show singing.

And now that I already embarked again last October 17, I had an opportunity again to earn money as because of this pandemic really gives a hard time to all the people as the last time I was not able to finish my contract due to the Corona virus and had a 6 months vacation in my country. As now I was embarked my ship still don't have a sailing date and don't have any passenger as we are crew only here to maintain the ship, that we are getting only 50 percent of our normal salary but still better than nothing I just hope that everything will comeback to normal in GOD'S Will.

7
$ 1.36
$ 1.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Avatar for Annthony18
3 years ago

Comments

Congratulations for achieving your dreams.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats and stay safe on your journey.. It is hard to work on board and be away from your family.. But well paid off if your boss recognize your hard work..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You said the truth brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations for achieving your childhood dream, I wish you good luck in your job and endeavors. Stay safe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago