Perks of Pandemic working on board

4 62
Avatar for Annthony18
3 years ago

Hi to all of you read.cash friends here it's been a long time since my last article that I wrote was published here in this very legit platform, I think it's almost more than 2 months already. I'd been so very busy on those past days that I'm working here on board and my ship which is now I'm on board is now preparing for the back operation of the ship. We'll on my last article that I published is about the perks and very liitle good things that we seafarers could get on this new normal situation working on board pandemic style. So this is the continuation of that article and I hope you like it.

As I said on my last article that being a seafarer is one of the most secured job in the world as once you have finished a contract you knew already on what ship you will be working for on your next contract. That is before but now it suddenly changed as lots of seafarers all over the world have no scheduled of working on board and still waiting at home for their next schedule and that is because of this corona virus global pandemic that we have experienced last 2019.

Luckily and thanks to GOD that I'm on board now working and on my 6th months already. It is been really different this contract compare to the usual one that I have since I started to became a seafarer. And the one thing that really different is the salary that we are receiving right now in my side as a part of the hotel department I'm only receiving half of my salary because to the reason our ship doesn't have any passengers. But to the fact that is much better than i stay at home and wait for the time that everything will be okay and back to normal and received the normal salary, it's better than nothing.

So I go to my point here in my article the perks and some good things in this pandemic contract. First is that when you embarked we will be going to swab test first and after that stay for the hotel for some couple of days and wait for the results and then of everything is okay we will be picked up by the company and be directed to the airport for our flight outside of the country. I can say that is very unusual because you don't have any hassle on going to your flight because we have a service and the people who are from far places or provinces are the one who benefited here the most.

Before when we are about to embarked on board we usually stay in the hotel for one day and on the next day we will be directed to the ship and on that same we are started to be working right away after some trainings and signing of papers. But now when we embarked we will be also directed to a hotel but because of this pandemic we are gonna have a swab test again and instead of 1 day we are gonna stay in the hotel for 3 days. And after that all are okay we are send in the ship but not to work direct instead we are all gonna be send on our room for quarantine for 1 week. Only inside the room and their will be service of our foods and drinks in the cabin and on that 6th day we are gonna have also take a swab test and if it is negative that is the time we are gonna start to work not like before that we direct go to war. So this contract have lots of swab test and a lot of rest before we start to work but all of these rest is paid since day one that we arrived in the country of our working place.

The most good thing that I really like and enjoy in this contract of our in this pandemic is our resting place. Normally every ships have designated crew cabins for all of us crew on board that is usually down part of the ship. But since the ship have no passengers all of us crew are put in the passenger cabins to maintain the condition of some rooms. Imagine having stayed in the rooms of the passengers in higher decks for example my cabin which is located in deck 9 which have a balcony to see out side the view in the ocean. And staying alone in one room not just like in the normal operations that we have a cabin mate so this is really the thing that I like and loved in this contract.

And aside from staying in the passengers cabin we are also entitled in use of free wifi on board, in normal operation it costs us to buy for 0.07 euro per minutes of internet on board. About the food is still the same still buffet and unlimited. And this last thing is i could not say good or what. It is the working hours on board usually in normal operations our working time is 12hrs per day and no days off but in this pandemic contract that I have now we are only only working 8 hours per day and every Sunday we are only working half day. It is good because we are not tired in this situation and in my own point of view we are just like on a vacation in a cruise ship but we never go to other places because the ship is only staying in one place. But the catch here is of course you work less you are going to be paid also less.

So that is all the things that for me is a perks or some good thing in this pandemic contract working on board. But I still wish that everything will be back

4
$ 0.11
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @mooontivated
Avatar for Annthony18
3 years ago

Comments

God is good, numerous of seafarers around the world had no job because of Pandemic. Be thankful as you are one of the blessed seafarers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take care Bro. God bless

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Still, keep safe! Welcome back to writing as I was inactive too. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for the tip and the motivation you gave to me it boost me a lot to write more. GOD bless us all!

$ 0.00
3 years ago