Does Alcohol Push Someone to Say the Truth?

9 44
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
1 year ago

We sometimes hear the words "drunk people don't lie" or "truth comes out when someone's drunk."

Even without further research whether it's true or not, based on observation, we can say that people who are drunk suddenly change their behavior, from a shy type of person to overly confident one.

According to those who experienced this, alcohol makes them confident enough to voice out there hidden thoughts, and they initially don't think before talking or they don't care that much with the possible consequences of their actions. They just do what they want while they're drunk, and maybe, regrets follow when they're sober.

Anyway, I got interested with this topic since my best friend told me about her encounter with our former classmate who happened to be one of those who kept bullying her before. I am not expecting it to happened since that former classmate of ours was so annoying and was fond of bullying us especially my best friend.

So this is what happened. My best friend received a love confession from that guy via Facebook Messenger. They were both in Manila that time, and they're living in the same street. The guy messaged my best friend asking if it's okay to court her. The guy confessed that he really like my best friend and that he is willing to change his negative behavior just to win my her heart. My best friend then asked me (love adviser yarn? LOL) about my thoughts towards that guy. If the guy is just playing around or not since he's drunk. That time, she knows that the guy was drinking alcohol since she saw him through the window of their house (they're neighbors, yeah).

However, as a best friend, of course I teased her first before giving her my thoughts about the guy. To be honest, at first I laughed hard and I can't help but to cringe upon reading the screenshots of their conversation. The guy who was once fond of bullying my best friend became a romantic guy who used flowery words to express his love.

My best friend is not an easy to get type of person (just like me. lol) that's why she's never been in a romantic relationship with anyone since all of the guys who courted her before are all rushing to win her and none of them waited to get her sweet "yes" (those undeserving guys πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ).

Afterwards, I asked her about what's her feeling with the guy. I can't also say if it's okay to give that guy a chance to express his love because I don't know what my best friend feels about him. My best friend is so indenial in a sense that she eventually told me to forget about that confession since the guy was drunk and possibly just playing around or telling lies. I then told her that maybe the guy was actually saying the truth and that he just confessed that time because he finally had the confidence to say what he feels with the influence of alcohol.

But, I also told her about the other possibilities including what she thinks of.

I also did further research about it which made me come up the following information.

Screenshot from https://rehabs.com/blog/drunk-talk-isnt-just-nonsense-says-study/
Screenshot from https://abcnews.go.com/GMA/Health/story?id=2260065&page=1
Screenshot from https://www.gatewayfoundation.org/addiction-blog/alcohol-truth-serum/

Day had passed, my best friend told me that the guy stopped messaging her anymore and he can't look at her in the eye when they met on the same street where they live. The guy is so shy about what he did in a sense that he always avoid my best friend's gaze and always find a way to not cross their paths again. I don't know if the confession was true or not, but I'm sure that the guy did it out of inhibitions (shot pa more. LOL).


CLOSING THOUGHTS

Sometimes, people can't express what they really feel when sober. Maybe, they are scared or shy to voice out their thoughts because they are not prepared with the possible consequences of their words. However, some find alcohol as a serum for them to have the confidence to say the truth. With the influence of alcohol, it makes them do something without worries.

But, it's not actually proven that alcohol pushes someone to say only the truth. Some are just overflowed with emotions which make them act or say something that isn't necessarily true to cope up with a particular situation (for instance, during an argument).

On that note, it's always better to drink alcohol in moderation to avoid spilling secrets and lies to everyone that might ruined the relationship you have with them. And as for those who used alcohol to confess, better do it when you're sobber to get clear responses and to avoid making a bad impression to the one who you want to express something with.


Author's Note:

First of all, I want to say thank you for leaning your time to read this article. I hope, you gained valuable knowledge from it that may help you in whatever aspect you have there.

Second, thank you for those who are supporting me in my journey here. From my readers, sponsors, and friends, thank you for always being there.

Lastly, I hope we will all have a prosperous day everyday, and a life full of blessings from above. Godbless us all. ❀️


DATE PUBLISHED: June 4, 2022
LEAD IMAGE: Unsplash
OUTRO BANNER: Created in Canva

5
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @Expelliarmus30
$ 0.01 from @Micontingsabit
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Yung nang asar po muna bago nagbigay ng advice. Hahahha ganyan din po ako minsan eh. Sana po malaman ng best friend nyo kung totoo yung confession ng guy para magkaalaman na po. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sana nga. πŸ˜‚ Feel ko totoo yun, tapos nahihiya na siya ngayon sa best friend ko kasi hindi siya sure if bibigyan ba siya ng chance or tatawanan lang kasi sobra yun mangbully sa bff ko before. HAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga po feeling ko din totoo po kasi bakit nya naman po maiisipan na sabihin yun kung hindi nya po nararamdaman. Sayang lang po at sinabi nya yun nung lasing sya medyo mahirap paniwalaan dahil may impluwensya po ng alak ang isip nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Surething it's one of a kind feeling when you have the total guts to tell the truth, then after all the drama and confession, you'll wake up feeling embarassed and awkward. Lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what drunk people always end up regretting. Drinking in moderation is a must, indeed. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My lover before I cheated on me with my girlfriend or when he had already cheated on me (I did not specify when it started with them), called me one night drunk and was explaining himself like never before, saying that he had never met me better and that there is no such thing. So the author, never believe your words, only your deeds. A man can even sincerely believe in what he says, and at the same time immediately hurt you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Being cheated on is one of the most heartbreaking things I never want to experience. Your lover should explain in a proper state not when he/she is drunk.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alcohol lets out suppressed feelings, positive or not. It's like a 60% truth serum hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I somehow agree with you. Truths and lies mixed in drunk people's words. haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago