Thought Continuum

14 103
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

For Dennis, reality has always been stranger than fiction. As he sat at the bar sipping red wine, thoughts about his childhood, bittersweet like the wine he is drinking. He remember how growing up was all jolly with everyone until a ghastly car accident had stripped his father of the ability to walk, if that was the only case, perhaps, it would have been an easier blow to bear. Unfortunately, his dad hadn't just lost only his ability to walk, he also lost the ability to talk or move.

His father was what some would call a vegetable, confined to a wheelchair for when he was to move from point A to point B. The accident had made him to lose his job, and that had made their family decline into a financial crisis. The catalyst of this financial trouble had been the extravagance of his stepmother which his father was oblivious of until the bank had come to the house to seize it as collateral for a loan his stepmother had collected and couldn't pay back. That was how they became homeless.

These chain of tragic events had shaped him into the person he is today, and his step mom had been the reason he had vowed never to marry an extravagant woman. Now, he is at the point where he had to make a decision, one would think it should be an easy one: choosing between two women who were similar but different in how they spend money. One is frugal, and another was a reckless spender. A simple choice many would say, but there was one problem.

Dennis had feelings for the reckless woman much more than he does for the austere. You see, this was one of the classic battle between logic and emotions. His past experience seems to have become the enemy of his future happiness, at least, that was how it seemed at the moment. What would his choice be?


I had started this article as a fictional story that was supposed to have been only fiction and nothing more, but, I couldn't stay long in the world of fiction, as reality was calling out to me, with its sweet yet scary voice.

Growing up, I have had to learn and unlearn the meaning of love and my perception of it, I have always believed that it is a feeling that goes against logic, and the two does not mix at all. I have also nurtured within me the notion that both can go hand in hand and complement each other. Loving someone is not being blind to their flaws, it is seeing their flaws and still choosing to love them regardless.

Many familiar with me may find it strange that I am here, writing about love, it is not something I have been - to paraphrase a friend - "somewhat open to or expressive about". But I have also said to someone earlier today:

"Sometimes, do what you don't want to when you don't want to. It is good for growth."

I had just said this as a response to what she said to me, but it wasn't until later I really thought about it and I realised that there have been many times I have been spontaneous and do something out of character just for unpredictability sake. This may sound strange, but let me open your mind by requesting you take a pause, go back to the beginning of this article and read the first two paragraphs.

Now, I ask you, could you have predicted that this would be the turn the article would take and that you'd be reading about how spontaneous one can be at any time?

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

I want to use this opportunity to thank to @Tomi-Ajax for the sponsorship renewal, I appreciate the support sir.

16
$ 3.29
$ 2.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 13
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I really love what have said: Sometimes, do what you don't want to when you don't want to. It is good for your growth. Sometimes we have to go out of our box to explore new things that help us to discover new things even if we don't want to do it. And that's what's more exciting about life when you tend to do the things that you don't want, but in the end, you choose to do it and see yourself growing. Nice to meet you!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, it is nice to meet you too. TeacherLynlyn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True talk guy, sometimes we do things we don't want to do, I guess that's how life is, it's so unpredictable.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True, and unpredictability can be fun too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was really enjoying the frictional story, wanted to even see the kind of choice Dennis was going to make as life presented before him two things. As to the love vs logic aspect, you've spoken well Boss.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks sir, I am glad that you enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was so ready to read fictional story until someone changed it to something else. Thats just a clear nature of humans, this moment they are all over you then the next moment, they are gone.. People really do change.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think that was one of the underlying message in the article and I am glad you got it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See as I shock say you write fictional story, but alas you couldn't hold the fictional front until the end 🌚 these are indeed strange times 😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

LMAO. You no just serious at all. I have written fiction here before na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Abi I don forget 🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most time we might make a a decision on whom we want to marry, it's May be about the tribe, the race or another characteristics but at the end we might end up falling in love with someone who have something in common with those things you said you'll never do... that's love for .

love doesn't care about the flaws , the background, the race etc, it is what we feel within and sometimes we might not have control over it but to fall in. Interesting article from you 👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought and thought really hard this intelligent article of yours just like others. And honestly I don't know what to say, u have said it all. No vex 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago