For Friendship or...?

20 70
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

I had opened the tab to write and was staring at it for about 10 minutes, thoughts about what to write and how to write it kept flowing in and out of my mind, but, none could stay long enough to take form. I had spent most of the afternoon staring at the computer screen, and that often have its effect on my eyes. Well, I had to help my cousin register for admission into a university. Found it weird that the school needed so many information, some of which I would term irrelevant. I guess different schools have their own policies, Because I remember when I registered for mine, they didn't need so much information and documents too.

Today, I caught myself thinking about my childhood when I saw one of the neighbour's children refuse from from his mother. I couldn't help but laugh, because i remembered a time I used to be that way too. I remember whenever I was angry, I would go on a hunger strike just to prove a point to my parents. In retrospect, I don't think the hunger strikes were necessary, because I can't say it had the effect I had wanted on my parents. They would act as though I had not embarked on a strike, and even give out my food to my siblings sometimes.

Time is a strange thing, or do I say that change is. I have recently lost the willingness or ability to argue or drag anything. Believe me, there was a time I care enough to make my point known, and I would go to any lengths I could do that that. I was having a conversation with a friend recently, and during the course of our conversation, she made an attempt to lure me into a debate severally, which I shrugged of by saying "Oh, alright" every time she did. The third time I did so compelled her to ask: "Are you alright?". I paused for a moment to think about why she would ask the question before answering "I am alright".

A person's willingness to indulge you or just let it be depends on a lot of factors. Oftentimes, it is one's mood that determines whether or not they are in the mood for your jibby-jabber. But the question I'd ask is: how far are you willing to go to prove a point? Let me share a story from my secondary school days;

When I was in my SS3 (The last class in secondary school) some of the prefects in the school were my classmates. I remember this event because it happened between the two people who sat in front of me. One of them was a a prefect, while the other wasn't. Apparently, the conversation between them had been whether the one who was a prefect would punish him if he ever came late. This was quite funny when I heard him say it, and couldn't hold my laughter.

Well, the prefect didn't find it funny, and took offence. He blatantly told his seatmate he won't be spared if he came late, and that like every other student of the school, he wasn't exempted from the school rules and regulations. Barely a week after that, something had ensued between the two of them, and that is actually the main story I want to tell. For the sake of easy reference, let's call the prefect Brian and his seatmate who isn't a prefect Zion.

Barely a week after that conversation between Brian and Zion, Zion was late to school this particular day, and Brian happened to be the one who was on duty at the gate, punishing latecomers. From the story I heard of the event that transpired that morning, as Zion was walking into the school, Brian had asked him to stop and join the group of student who had been asked to stay back to serve their punishment for being late. Zion refused to wait behind and walked past Brian with a smile on his face, as if to say "I told you so". Well, he was a senior student, and not only was he Brian's classmate, he was also his seatmate and friend.

To Zion, he was above any rules Brian was out enforcing, especially something as 'ordinary' as punishment for late coming. Brian in the end let it go because he didn't want to escalate the matter by bringing it to the attention of the school management. I asked him later why he didn't, and he said it was because Zion was his friend, and he wouldn't want him punished because of him. Surely, there are many ways to look at this situation, all things considered. So, I'd like to ask my readers, if you were Brian, will you take up the matter or just let it go like he did?

I would really like to hear your view on this.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤


12
$ 1.97
$ 1.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I think I would do the same thing as to wat Brian did, because to me it's just a minor issue so I can't let it be the end of our friendship because if I should report the matter to the school authority they would take it as a serious one which may make Zion not wanting to talk to me again and it will affect our friendship. Since we are in our final year in the school then wat's the need to fight or argue over little things instead we should just live the moment to the fullest and enjoy our life's.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I suppose you are the type that doesn't like stress or quarrels too. It is good to know, thanks for coming by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah It's my pleasure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think when we are growing older, we also grow wiser hehe and that is why we don't give time to arguments or things like that. We rather "enjoy" life than spend moments of it on unnecessary things.

As to your question, Brian should have been fair to the others and imposed the same to Zion even if he is his friend ;) Just my thought hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I suppose you are right about that, he should have been fair.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I were Brian, of course, I will still give some punishment to Zion, because it's for fairness for all the students from the school.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I suppose you are right about that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The funny thing with this story is that I was once Brian, I was one of the punctuality prefect back in secondary (but I still dey go school late sometimes sha 😂). Most of the time when I am on duty, my classmates come late and I let them pass and that's because I feel all of us in ss3 back then in school all have a free pass when it comes to some certain school rules 🌚 This one don already answer your question

$ 0.01
1 year ago

LMAO. I honestly felt that way too though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Las las, I feel Zion is like everyone of us, especially in Nigeria. Bending the rules to suit someone you know happens everywhere, it could be as little as giving your friend an extra plate of rice at a party or using your position of power to admit your friend's son into the University you work despite not meeting the cut off.

Humans only complain when it doesn't favor them, I'm pretty sure that the other punished students would have been furious

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well, he was a senior student and maybe only the junior ones will not complain. The question is that can we ever not be sentimental?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can eventually but we all have so many rules to play that makes it almost impossible. It's deeply rooted on our society

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you on that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are getting older and we save ourselves from the stress of unnecessary drama. I always say that when someone comes with drama, I don't have to attend the show. I save my energy for something worthwhile. I don't stress myself anymore in trying to prove people wrong because it won't change whatever they hold true to themselves. I will make my point and let them figure out without dragging. It's a new territory that's why that person asked you if you were alright hahaha.

To be candid, I would warn Zion but I won't still punish him or escalate the matter. Some things are just not worth it. I know it's bad, bending the rules to suit some while others get punished but then, I would still tell him the truth but I won't escalate.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Sentiments, even though we don't like to admit it, is part of being human. More often than not, we do succumb to that part of it, especially when it comes to people we love.

I would say too, that I have chosen the path of less stress and whatever it is that would stress me more than it should, I don't have time for it. Thank you sir.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's so true. It naturally kicks in and we won't think we are sentimental until the situation calls for it.

That's a smart thing to do. No time for anything that would stress me...life is stressful enough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It would be one sided when someone try to protect the non punishable individual than those who really made a mistake

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess that is what it is, sentiment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If i was Brian I would also punish Zion, for fairness and for the school rules. It wouldn't be fair for other students if I would except one person from punishment just because he/she was my friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is right, for fairness and equality for all. I understand your take on the matter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago