Emotion - The Father of All Errors

7 41
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Emotions have always eluded me. I remember growing up and being as stubborn as a mule, and when I do get angry, I go out of my way to do what I feel is the best revenge. It made me unforgiving. I remember something had happened (can’t remember what exactly) many years ago. But, what I vividly remember from this memory was the words of a family friend whom my mom had called to speak to me about my anger and stubbornness. I like to think that was the moment I started training my mind to control my emotions.

(Image Source)

Fun Tip: TAKING DEEP BREATHS WORK WONDERS.

You see, I have come to realise over the years that emotion is indeed the father of all error. Since the day the family friend had spoken to me about emotions – anger in particular, I had been quite conscious about my emotions or if I might say, try to master how to control them.

This has shaped me into the kind of person that process as much as he can before reacting to things. Because of this, people have termed me a Computer and a robot . That is not to say I am always wearing an indifferent countenance or expression. I do have my ways of expressing what I feel, I have only learnt to not exactly show it or let it control or cloud my decisions like how computers work.

When angry, I am probably the most quiet person ever. I don’t like to speak in this state so I do not say something I’ll end up regretting because I never meant it. There are times I am indifferent too, and I just stay quiet irrespective of what is going on around me and it could be mistaken for me being angry. In times like this, I like to listen to music, especially the melodious poems of Passenger – one of my favourite artiste.

Looking back, I remember how reclusive I was prior to my admission into the university about 5 years ago. I’d practically sit down amidst a casual family conversation and not utter a word. Since I gained admission into the university, I have read books and met people and experiences that have reconditioned me to being more social. I suppose we could say there has been a major improvement in that aspect of my life as I was the least social in my family. But when I go home now for holidays, I could almost see on the faces of members of my family being surprised and happy at the same time when I engage in casual conversations with them.

It’s strange how one’s reaction to emotions can be unpredictable sometimes. You could react a certain way to a situation now, and still react differently to the same situation another time. And as we age and grow, experiences condition us to feel differently. To cite an example with pain, what could probably make you cry say 10 years ago, will probably only make us sad now, or indifferent.

CONCLUSION

If we could manage our emotions and not let them control us (I speak mainly of negative emotions), then we might see that we have attained a certain level of growth, ergo, becoming better persons. I can blatantly tell you that learning to control your emotions is no easy feat, and you might never master it in fact. But trying to is a step in the right direction.

Efforts to master controlling my emotions has made me less vindictive, and I find myself more forgiving than I have ever been. Holding on to anger and pain have no gain, and you’ll find that once you let go of them, you feel renewed with lighter heart and shoulders.

Lastly, emotion is a polygamist, and fathers many errors with many mothers

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

6
$ 2.55
$ 2.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 3
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

if one could wait a little longer and hang on there for a while, what ever the cause of the turmoil would gradually seepn away as you breathe. Minutes later, you d be glad that you exercise restraint ams never reacted the way you had initially intended to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! Restraint is good, and we must employ them when emotional about something

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taking deep breaths doesn't do anything for me o, except giving me hunger pangs 😆 I also tend to become quiet when I am angry and sometimes I tend to use humour to diffuse the situation, make I no go mistankly break person head 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you, grudge, hatred or revenge only bring weight to your soul. The hated person won't even feel affected while you carry all the weight of frustration inside you. I congratulate you for learning the best.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right ma'am Gertu, and thank you very much 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why people call someone Emotional Fool!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right Luci. And we don't want to be emotional fools right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago