Day 4 - Places I Want to Visit

40 75
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Travelling the world has been a dream I have been harbouring for as long as I can remember. I have always felt the world is there for me to explore, and witness its immaculate beauty. But, in my head, I have it all systematically planned. I believe charity begins at home, and if I ever want to travel the world, I must first start by travelling to all the amazing places here in my country. So today, I will be talking about all the places I want to visit here in my country.

Although, some people who are not Nigerians may not know, that the country is made up of 36 states and a Federal Capital Territory. All of the states have their peculiarities as well as their similarities too. So, sit back and watch me take you on a ride through places I'd live to visit in Nigeria.

UNESCO Heritage Sites

This is a category of UNESCO heritage sites I want to visit in the country. There are only 6 of such sites in Nigeria, but I am being particular and keeping this article strictly to places I really want to visit. Without further ado, let's get on shall we?

Oke Idanre Hills

Image Source

Located in Ondo state, south-west of the country, this has to be the first in this category. The strange thing is that I only learnt about this place this year, and had no idea it even existed. I remember seeing a video showing the aerial view of this place and was mesmerized. Even as I look at the photo above, I am in awe and really want to visit this historical town and climb the 682 stairs to the top of the hill, I really look forward to visiting this place. I remember asking @Danika whether he has been there because he lives in the state and he said that he has. I was Jealous. Oh well, some day, I will too.

Ogbunike Caves

Image source

Located in Anambra state, south-eastern part of Nigeria, and has been dubbed one of the seven wonders in Nigeria, I remember learning about this cave from an advert many years ago as a child. It is an historical site and holds a great value to Igbo tribes who are indigenous to eastern Nigeria. It is no news that I am a lover of history and historical places. This is a place I want to visit, although I have been in the state before, I wasn't there for tourism or vacation, but strictly for business at that time and didn't have the luxury to explore.

Ancient Kano City Walls

Image Source

This is an ancient wall built many years ago to protect the ancient city of Kano and the Emir's palace too. Within the walls is the famous Dala Hills said to be the first area the people of Kano settled. Located in the northern part of the country, I wonder if either of @DocLayla or @Bilqees have ever visited this historical place. Perhaps if I find myself in the state one day perhaps I will do that.

Resorts and Reserves

These is another category of natural reserves and resort centres I want to visit in the country. They include:

Obudu Mountain Resort

Image source

This has to be the one place I think everyone wants to visit at least once. I grew up dreaming this mountain resort in the Calabar, Cross River state. Located on the highlands of the state, I reckon I will enjoy the cold weather plus the aesthetically calming view if green mountains.

Gashaka Gumti National Park

Image source

This is the biggest game reserve in the country, I relish visiting this place after visitingย Okomu National Park in 2019. The park is located between two states from which it got its names from Gashaka (Taraba state) and Gumti (Adamawa state). The park have a peculiar terrain, in fact, it is a combination of Savannah grassland in the north and the mountainous highland plateaus to the south. I would like to visit this place and catch a view of the terrain as well as wildlife being protected there.

Ikogosi Warm Springs

Image source

Pheww, what can I say about this place it will definitely make my list of natural wonder of the world. You see, this resort located in Ekiti state the western part of Nigeria is famous for two springs (cold and warm) meeting each other and still maintaining their temperature. this goes against the law of cooling and defies tyhe basics of science. I mean, how can two water of different temperature flow side by side and not lose or gain temperature? Oh well, I will like to go and have the experience for myself and marvel at this impossibility.

Thus, comes the end of the places I want to visit here in my country. That is mot to say that this is all the places I want to visit, but for this sake of this article, I want had to make it short and concise. Though, there are a lot of many other places I would like to visit, and if I were to talk about all of them, this article would probably have a part 10. So, this will have to do.

Thank You For Reading ๐Ÿ–ค๐Ÿ–ค

17
$ 1.71
$ 1.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Trifecta
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Oh my, all of these! I want to be able to see all of these. Would you believe it's a huge dream of mine to see West Africa one day, to walk on her soil at least once in my life? And since I guess I wouldn't know exactly where to begin, this is the perfect list to shamelessly copy. lol! Thank you, my friend! But honestly though, I really, really, really want to be able to make a trip like this one day.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Even though I have only been within the shores of my country in West Africa, it would be great to have you in West Africa, and Nigeria particularly. Would be great to be your guide in this journey, and I would very much love it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm just awed as to how much you know about beautiful places like this.

I don't know any of these places. Ikogosi warm spring looks lovely and Obudu mountain resorts... Omo!! You know places ooh, abeg,if you're going, comman carry me along, but I'm not following you to any place in the north. ๐Ÿšถโ€โ™€๏ธ

$ 0.02
1 year ago

LMAO. Don't worry, I am also looking for a tour partner. Experiences like this are better when shared, so I will carry you along. There is something about everything on the internet, and I usually stumble on things like this when surfing the internet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, see as that Ogbunike cave just fine. It's a shame I haven't visited that cave even though it's right there in my State of origin ๐Ÿ˜† I will visit it one day sha, that one and obudu mountain resort

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Remember to carry me when you dey go o.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As far say you pack money come, no wahala

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Where are stickers when I need themmmmmm!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We gat write to the admin make dem add sticker features ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

TBH, Let me get my Sheld-ON

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can see you're finally tired of this platform ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow.. I no know say my Naina get places like this o.. anyways I don visit idanre hills before I guess because I stay in Akure cause if not, I no sure say I go ever visit am๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

LOL. Why can you never visit the place? Is it bad?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. Sabuwar kofa is even the newest wall in kano state which was rebuilt in 2014 whoh is just opposite the centre I wrote jamb thet year. Whenever you come visiting in kano, I would take you to see kofar na'isa and kofar dan agundi that were built in 1499 amd 1501 respectively, ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Interesting. Well, hopefully I get to visit Kano soon and explore these places. Our very own WALL. Also, I will hold you up to being my guide o.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No problems, just bring plenty money come

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahn ahn. Why? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Shey them say things cheap for north?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of oz things are very cheap here.. I'mm talking about money for my "guidance"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LMAO. You and money. My company is not enough?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure.. It would be cool to listen to you speak with such impeccable grammar. We shall see

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. My grammar is far from impeccable. I make a lot of grammatical blunders.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah, then what would you say about me and other Nigerian writers here? You would definitely make plenty money as a proofreader In those platforms I talked to you about. I know two guys like you there and they are from same state of origin...... Edo people dey get brain sha. ๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LoL. You will just be making me smile like mumu. If you be guy, you go sabi woo girl o. Don't worry, When everything is in place, I will let you know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard about the beauty of obudo resort. You have great choice. I wish you get visit your favorite places soon

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so tooo, thanks so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I never knew obudu resort can be this beautiful. I will definitely visit that place too. I'm ashamed to say as near as Ekiti is to my base, I haven't visited Ikogosi warm spring before even though I have been to the state on several occasions. ๐Ÿ˜”

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha. I am sure you will some day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course I will.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So there actually beautiful spots there ๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, there are. Even many more I didn't mention.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All places are looking beautiful. But special one is the Cave. I just love to see and enjoy the time there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As do I, hope to do that someday. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The cave is really beautiful, I hope you fulfill your travel wishes..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks ma'am. I hope so too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think the best place for me is the Ogbunike Cave. That was splendidly beautiful. Are people allowed to swim and drink there?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is what I do not know, but I like to think people are allowed to swim or drink on special requests I guess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's nice to see the wonders of Nigeria, maybe someday I can travel abroad and visit those places. In each country there are lots of spots to offer even here on Philippines that there are thousands of tourist spot can visit. Those wonders have great history that we should preserve, we should not let people ruined those wonders.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Spot on CC. agree with what you have said, it is our duty to preserve the historical significance of these places. I also hope to visit places abroad too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The Ogbunike Cave are stunning and the view looks so interesting. I think if I was also in your country I would also like to visit this place.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe. Thanks GG.

$ 0.00
1 year ago