They say I'm lazy. Am I?

5 53
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago

What is Laziness?

According to the English dictionary (Wiktionary), Laziness is the act of being Unwilling to do work or make an effort.

Here is my entry on @JonicaBradley 's prompt of the week Laziness

Lead image from unsplash

Some of my act of laziness

  • I won't wash my clothes, until they pile up and become a burden

  • We have a virtual class by 9:00am, I'm still on bed by 8:59am.

  • I cook noodles most times, when there are other foods to cook. This sounds funny, but I know I'm lazy in that aspect.

A lot of people have misinterpreted the word laziness. They regard easily done works to be an act of laziness. To them If you don't work hard and sweat you are lazy.

The definition says the act of being Unwilling to do work, not the act of not having power. Some don't even want to see you relax on Saturday's, the next thing that comes out of their mouth is that you are lazy.

Image edited by myself

They say I'm lazy- Am I?

  • As a Lady, I use washing machine, they say I'm lazy. am I?

    No I'm not! Like I said earlier, if one does a work that Is supposed to be done by hard work in a easier way, they regard you as lazy person. The Washing machine is a great invention. Now they expect ladies to wash clothes with their hands when there in this technology age. When there is washing machine, why will one stress herself to wash with hands. If you see any wife using washing machine in my country, just know they've labelled such woman as a lazy wife.

  • As a , I do ten 10 push Ups while other boys do 20 they say I'm lazy- am I?

    No I'm not! This sounds funny but it is the truth that must be told. They call boys that can't carry heavy loads lazy. Wait, are we meant to lift heavy loads? Everyone has their own strength capacity, and we can't expect everyone to have the same power. We need to take this misconception away from our mind.

  • I sleep at 10:00 pm and wake up by 7:00 am, they say I'm lazy. am I?

    No, I'm not! This is very common in my country. Our parents, especially those both in the 80s downwards, believe as a hardworking child you should be up from bed before 7:00 am. I can't blame them though, they were brought up that way, because my father does tell me the story of how his dad would wake him up at 5:00 am to follow him to the farm while other children are still sleeping. Someone waking up late doesn't mean he/she is lazy. You don't know how hard the person worked overnight, there don't be quick to judge someone as being lazy.

Listed above are some misconceptions about laziness

The Holy Bible detest laziness

Even the bible is against laziness. The book of proverbs talked a lot about laziness and its consequences in humans life.

A lazy person is never get filled Proverbs 13:4 

"A sluggard's appetite is never filled, but the desires of the diligent are fully satisfied."

A lazy man's appetite will not get filled according to this Bible verse. A lazy man who doesn't work will definitely be in hunger. Your mates are at work hustling to get money, but all you do is to sleep at night, wake upon the morning, eat, sleep again, wake up, eat, and on and on without doing any work. Only the diligent will be filled.

Laziness leads to poverty Proverbs 14:23 -

"All hard work brings a profit, but mere talk leads only to poverty."

The above bible verse is true. All hard work brings in profit no matter how little the profit is, it is worth it. But the Lazy type has no profit to earn. According to this bible verse, it says "Mere talk only leads to poverty", which is right. A person whose job is only to talk from morning till night has no way of gaining any profit, which means poverty is such a person's reward.

Laziness leads to destruction Proverbs 18:9 -

"Whoever is lazy regarding his work is also a brother to the master of destruction."

This bible verse tells us that a Lazy man is prone to destruction. I like the interpretation of this bible version. "Brother to the master of destruction" in this verse is a proverb that means, a person who is lazy regarding his work is an agent of destruction. For example, Mr. Lazy is working in a production company, the times Mr. Lazy was supposed to be making products, Mr. Lazy was busy sleeping. Do you think the company will grow? Mr lazy is leading the company to destruction. And if you want to grow, you need to help others grow as well. Mr lazy is gradually moving close to his destruction.

Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Check them out. Check them out

Laziness is laziness, you have no excuse of being lazy. Lot of people turned beggars today due to laziness. The day I saw a crippled man doing shoe maker work, I realized those beggars with their two legs and eyes functioning are lazy.

All I'm trying to say is that, laziness is not a good act. But we also need to fully understand when to use the word lazy on someone.

Thanks for reading 🙏❤

10
$ 3.50
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Amazing-grace
+ 3
Sponsors of Abhay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Abhay
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I like this article a lot. We know ourselves better than no one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hearing someone tells you that you're lazy is quite hurtful. But as long as we know on ourselves that we're not then it's not our problem it's their problem. Don't let them bllsht your day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We shouldn't be lazy;rather we should be hardworking,those who are in those higher positions aren't lazy that's why they got there,being lazy limits us to some certain opportunities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This life I can't kill myself, that's what you're doing jare

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't count all these as laziness but I count them as making life easier for yourself

$ 0.02
2 years ago