Disappointed but not disappointed

Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I want to write this while it's still fresh in my mind.

This is a new place to be. If you want to experience Korean like cafe without having to go to Korea (South of course but no harm if you can go to the North), then come to Seollem Cafe.

I have not been to Korea, north or south, so I have nothing to compare to. Reportedly, the cafe was patterned from cafes in Korea. The food and drinks were as served in Korea.

The only thing lacking are Koreans.

There were minimal indicators of Korean here. The name of the cafe on the windows and Korean welcome on one of the window and the menu are the only things I saw.

I haven't watched a lot of Korean movies and series to refer the cafe to.

The yard and walkway to the cafe gives you a nice welcome. I like the bamboo trees and other plants for they give a refreshing contrast to the stark white building. The open yard doesn't give you protection from rain just like when we went there. Good thing we had an umbrella.

The interior has minimal decor to it too. Although the walls are bare and gray, the warm lights give a relaxing mood. Plus the almost floor to ceiling windows give natural light to the place. Thus, the bamboo trees that you can view outside is more appreciated.

I find the seats to be a surprisingly comfy.

When we arrived, we were led to our designated seats. You have to make a reservation before coming to Seollem. You can find them in facebook and Instagram. We didn't know that you need to make a reservation the first time we came here and we were informed about it when we got there. So this time we made sure to make a reservation first. You were allotted 2 hours of stay there. They have limited seating and to practice safety, they require reservation.

They were trying to follow the physical distancing so as much as possible, tables and seats are placed as is and you are not allowed to rearrange them.

It's a self-service cafe so one must go to the counter to order. Once you ordered and paid, wait for your name to be called then get your order at the pick-up counter. Sometimes the staff would be kind enough to serve them to you just like what they did to us.

These were the drinks that we ordered. I forgot the names of the other drinks. Those were ordered by my friends. Me and my partner ordered beers - Butter Beer and Vanilla Hazelnut Beer. The first few sips were fine and there was a kick right away but then it tasted sweeter and sweeter as you finish it. If you don't like the taste of beer, then this is for you for you can taste sweetness in these drinks instead.

We ordered Bulgogi Pasta to go with the beers. We originally decided chickens but the staff said it will take 30-40 minutes. We can't wait that long so we settled for pasta and spicy chicken kimbap (sushi roll). Only to find out that our friends ordered chicken and their order were served with a few minutes wait. It's okay though for we may not be able to finish it for the serving is plenty. That's a plus point.

The pasta was sweet which my partner didn't enjoy that much. For someone who loves sweet, that might work for you and the noodles were firm. Some may not like the way the noodles were cooked for they prefer tender. The kimbap on the other hand is really spicy and you get taste it right away on your first bite but it doesn't linger that long. This is for those who love spicy food.

We then decided to order for their Bingsu or shaved ice desserts matcha flavor that is topped with two scoops of vanilla and matcha ice cream. This is the only flavor available that time.

So far, this is the best order we have had. The ice cream is not that sweet and you can taste matcha in every spoonful. We finished that quicker than expected. If I am go to back to this place, this is the one thing I will keep ordering. There are other flavors that should be tried.

I have a mixed feeling about this place. I do like how secluded the place is but nothing jumps right at you right away. The food and drinks were not that great though. There's nothing that makes me feel it is that unique or something that makes me want to order again. The meals are affordable. The drinks are a bit pricey. Of course, we have different tastes and preferences so don't take this as is. One must still go and experience for themselves. I have to say the shaved ice dessert is highly recommended. The staff are accommodating and welcoming. That's good customer service. I am under the impression though that one of the customers is observing them maybe one of the owners or co-owners. Nevertheless, it was overall all an okay experience.

There is a second floor of this cafe but I forgot to check it out. Maybe next time.

How is your weekend so far?

I'm productive but not productive.

While I am writing articles daily, I feel demotivated to go about checking out your articles. I think Ernesto is eating me up somewhat as what fantagira calls it. That's why I can't visit a lot these days. I hope tomorrow will bring a better day.

37
$ 9.95
$ 8.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.20 from @Eylz2021
+ 22
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Ang ganda po ng place at pati ung mga decorations at platings ng food, so you can give a remark na pede na din, if ndi mo bet ung ibang foods, kasi we have different taste naman po.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Un bingsu at drinks ang something new para sa akin hehe. May ibang place naman for bingsu pero iba un sa kanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This one has a simple interior design but the lights gives off the best of it..and especially the bamboos outside when ypu look by the window as you said... I want to try that Ice cream..from your description it looks like it's their sigature food there.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right. There's a relaxing vibe to it because of those bamboos and it's away from the city. The Bingsu and drinks are a must try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The place looks great. The lighting and the ambiance. Everything about it is cozy. The food tho looks delicious too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I like the ice cream the most :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I ask, is that korean food cost a lot?? Mujha pong mamahalin mga pagkain ehh. Ung isang order palang mapapahawak na ko sa wallet ko.ganda po nung seats tingnan mo palang sa picture sarap ng umupo tapos ang refreshing ng mga bamboo. BTW I'm gonna mention you on my next Article tomorrow po, just saying pooo. If you don't want okay lang namann poo

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Surprisingly, the food is competitive especially the Bingsu. Some are pricey some are not especially the drinks. I am reading this comment late so I hope you still mentioned me in your article :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahal ba mga food dyan? Kasi sabi nila mahal daw mga Korean food eh

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sakto lang naman. Same din sa ibang Korean restos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fairness sa interior nila di halatang bare ang wall kasi nadala ng lights. Maganda ang ambiance. Sa mga food na pinakita mo yung sa bingsu din ako pinaka natakam hehe. Sya may pinaka magandang presentation eh. Gusto ko din yung matcha at vanilla nya sure ako ang creamy ng lasa nun.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Bingsu talaga ang babalikan ko dun. May mga ibang drinks din naman at food. May mga cakes din kaso ubos na nung nandun kami. Agahan na lang namin next time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think the room inside is normal. but the seats are very nice

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's not the usual interior that I know. It was somewhat bare but still decorated enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyday nakong nakakapunta sa ibat ibang lugar, at everyday na din akong naiinggit. I love places like this. Especially with friends. Just talking for two hours. I love the lightning of the place too. Thanks for bringing us here virtually, Lee.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Places like this are best shared with friends :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. And just do talking and picture taking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Bingsu! Man, don't know when I can have one next. Can't wait to have travel restrictions listed. I'll be out with a vengeance then.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol! I can't stand cold food and drinks that long now unlike before. I would love to go back for their bingsu but not the soonest.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sabi ko na eh, maiinggit lang taalga ako sa mga blogs mo sir huhu. sanaol talag. Kung hindi pa travel2, pa foods2 naman 🤗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ganun talaga haha! Dami pa yan. Abang lang :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the decoration, very nice everything, here we hardly get a similar place. It's hard for me to create content, so I have a little time to read, I also enjoy it. That ice cream looks delicious, I have not tasted anything like that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe the ice cream has something similar in your place? We have halo-halo but the ice is not as smooth as this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the place, parang nakakawala ng stress. Sana pwede kaming lumabas like you do there.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Di ko na check un second floor neto. Parang okay din un.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's fine :) Ang maganda nagenjoy kayo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabi ko na nga, mga pagkaing masasarap eh. At maganda po yung lugar sir. Para sa kin, the word "disappointed" do not exist pag ganyan. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ingat lang sa mga spicy nila although tolerable naman kaso may kick talaga pag first bite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

looks like a good place to me... i'd love to have that icecream..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm sure you'll present this better than me :D Masyado lang siguro ako nag expect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kasi madami din magandang cafe jan sa baguio

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!! I'll love to dine there if its just reachable. I want to eat what I imagine in the Korean series I watched.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You'll never know. Maybe you'll be here sooner :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The place looks Korean ambiance <3 Me right now reading the hangeul character Seollem hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Does it? That sounds nice. Now I have an idea how Korean cafes are :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like sushi, I accompany you to eat this delicious dish and then that appetizing ice cream cup. Then in another oprtunity I will also accompany you to that second floor. Although in a virtual way.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is spicy. The first bite really gets to you but after a while it passes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The important thing to get out of the routine is to experience other places with your partner. With the pandemic, it is rare to go out, but it was interesting how you described that Korean cafe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess I was too excited at that time but I can't think straight how to present the place and the food and drinks better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your photography enhances everything's beauty 😍 though the cafe itself is amazing too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm pretty sure that cafe has much more to offer :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the place it's really good specially the food parang kumalam agad Yung sikmura ko dun sa makita kong mga pakain, Ang galing Ng mga anggulo mo dun sa pag kakakuha Ng mga picture Gratz friend 👍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maraming salamat sa pag appreciate :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pong anuman, magaling ka Naman talaga walang duda yun.👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weekend is going well. It is more productive than the last weekend

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's great! It's awesome to have better days and productive days like that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The place seems cool. I haven't tried Korean food. About not feeling motivated to read, don't push you and take some days. But not too long and then come back, hehe. ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I just do what I can as I always have :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The quality of the photos Kuya Lee is the BEST! Daebak! ( means amazing in Korean) Naglaway po ako sa foods haha. Isama mo'ko dyan next time haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha! Sure ba. Dami na natin pupuntahan :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks quaint yet elegant. The foods also look really delicious too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's sure a nice place to hang out :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng place. Nakakatakam yung foods lalo na yung shaved ice dessert. Pang instagram talaga yung place.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo din. Maganda din siguro sa 2nd floor. Di ko lang napuntahan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks good and classy.. Sana may ganyan dito.. But kahit meron man, hindi naman pwede lumabas.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Pag okay na siguro lahat baka magkaroon din jan :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! 😲 The foods you make me hungry ARTicLEE.☺️ It looks like you're in Korea. I love sushi and the ice cream.🤤 The cafe is so amazing! The design is really perfect!❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope soon I can go to South Korea and experience their cafes there :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the design of the cafe and I think if such treat is around here in my town, I would also want to taste Korean meal someday to see how it taste.

Everyone is always busy offline that we can't get to visit all articles that much. Just take care of yourself.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I like the simplicity of the it all too. Here in our city there are more than a dozen places that serves Korean food. Korean culture has invaded our country :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why this title "Disappointed but not disappointed"

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess I just expected too much that's why :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh...ok now I understood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all, nakakagala. Hahaha, ako kasi 1 year and half na dito sa bahay. Nakakabagot na, tapos mECQ pa lang ngayon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lapit na yan. Kapit lang hehe. Dito gcq pero dami pa rin cases.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana lang talaga matapos na tong pandemya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good location and the interior design inside is so elegant.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I like the interior too. It's sort of minimalistic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always wanted to experience dining in a korean restaurants. The place looks nice and sosyal haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's not that sosyal but it's a good place to spend time with friends :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try tayo book j 2nd floor nu next. Tas j drinks lang subliak itry j daduma ta so far isu lang t sabsabali nga awan t daduma cafe. Try kun 2 met ta bingso hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Agbook kan a garud hehe. Try ko dadduma drinks da.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I trust your taste when it comes to food 🍲 🍰🍝.. Magmayat dayta place a.. D bale nu next jejehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wen ta agbook tayo manen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed this is amazing. Hehehehe. I wonder if there could be some place like this in my country. I doubt

Hehehehe. But taking a look at the environment in the video I can’t say no to your description Practically similar.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That would be nice if you similar or probably even something better :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the pictures of the places looks nice hihihihi

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks so much for appreciating :) Indeed it's a nice place for photo ops.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makapaapal manen en hehe. Wah nagbeer kau isu? Maya hehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wen ngen nasam it ta beer da hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago